Learn more about incomparable Brad Thorn


Brian O'Driscoll Breakdown Masterclass


Horwill & Bismarck Du Plessis slaps


Cheslin Kolbe dazzling run, no look pass


Eddie Butler on Jonny Wilkinson career


Tameifuna's huge hit on Michael Hooper


Ben Tameifuna banned for pushing referee


Female Streaker has no regrets


Joe Marler and his unsual pets

Saturday, September 01, 2007

Francisco Bosch header try for Manawatu

Francisco Bosch header try for Manawatu

Manawatu replacement fullback Francisco Bosch took off from a standing start for this 65 metre try vs Waikato. Scorching past the defenders, he chipped, chased, and headed the ball at the top of its bounce to then regather and dash over for the try.

The stadium went mad and so did Argentinian Bosch and his team-mates.

"It was just chip and chase," chuckled Bosch. "I saw the ball so I headed it."

When he was young local soccer side River Plate asked him to play for them.

"When I was younger I wanted to be a football player, but my mother wouldn't let me because I would have had to leave school," he said.

"My father used to take me to play rugby on Sundays. I still play soccer with my friends."

Posted at 11:21 am | 28 comments

Viewing 28 comments

Anonymous September 01, 2007 3:33 pm

isnt it a knock on?

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 01, 2007 4:26 pm

not a knock on if it comes of the head mate

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 02, 2007 2:01 am

thats the argentinian stylecome on 'cubano' bosch

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 03, 2007 6:51 pm

had no idea it was legal!

· Reply · Report

Cheyanqu September 04, 2007 12:32 am

Oddly enough, the IRB issued a laws ruling headers a few years back. Everyone knows you can kick the ball or run it out of play. However, you cannot intentionally throw it out of play (penalty kick).The IRB ruling allowed for a player to intentionally head the ball out of play.The Union that asked for the ruling on headers? The UAR.. who else?Credit to the referees who allowed play to keep going. If you don't SEE the knock-on, don't assume it, and don't call it.

· Reply · Report

fishboy September 04, 2007 1:18 am

Cheyanqu: agreed, the refs should only rule on what they see (which, by and large, they do). Which of course won't stop arguments & complaints - especially since many of the movie clips here show refs totally missing things that happen in front of them.Headers happen more often than you'd think too. Like in the last Bledisloe Cup the ref called an AB try scoring chance back for a knock on when it came off Ritchie McCaw's head.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 04, 2007 4:52 pm

I thought head counted as knock-on

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 04, 2007 4:52 pm

I thought head counted as knock-on

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 09, 2007 4:22 am

that's a friggin knock on. we're not footballers and shouldn't inspire to be. the only way to advance the ball is by running it or kicking it. off the head counts as neither. if this was an international it would have been ruled a knock for sure.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 09, 2007 4:22 am

*aspire to be, that is.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 17, 2007 4:00 pm

You're an idiot. It's called rugby football.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous September 17, 2007 5:33 pm

Agreed. He's an idiot.

· Reply · Report

Nick tuckett September 24, 2007 9:03 pm

dosent new legislation state anything above the knee is a knock on? pure brilliance if im wrong though

· Reply · Report

Anonymous October 16, 2007 3:54 am

you are quite right.. anything above the knee is a knock forward... therefore a knock in according to regular IRB ruleing!thats what SA scrum half was called for when he attempted the 'worlds longest drop goal'!!! think about it!

· Reply · Report

JonnyLaw October 17, 2007 3:23 am

Aint a knock-on kids - only off the hand or arm. See Law 17 below and weepLAW 17. KNOCK-ON OR THROW-FORWARDA knock-on occurs when the ball travels forward towards the direction of the opponents' dead-ball line after:- a player loses possession of it, ora player propels or strikes it with his hand or arm, orit strikes a player's hand or arm and touches the ground or another player before it is recovered by the player.A throw-forward occurs when a player carrying the ball throws or passes it in the direction of his opponents' dead-ball line. A throw-in from touch is not a throw-forward. If the ball is not thrown or passed forward but it bounces forward after hitting a player or the ground, it is not a throw-forward.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous November 18, 2007 10:01 pm

i did this in a game once, the opposition were passing the ball through their back line, the ball came past me and i headed it, without really thinking, the game went on

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 03, 2008 7:45 am

es argentino es el mejorAGUANTE ARGENTINA CARAJOOO!!!LOS PUMAS IN THE TRI NATIONSS!!!!!!3th in world cup New Zeland? Australia? France? Ireland?

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 17, 2008 4:15 pm

that guy whos ranting about it being a knock on and how we shouldnt aspire to be footballers is a bit daft in my opinion its the little moments where players use their head (literally in this case) to score against the odds are the ones we remember

· Reply · Report

Anonymous February 03, 2008 12:12 am

It is a knock on. While the ball touches him, he is in possesion, and loses posession of the ball forwards. Thus, it is irrelevant that the ball didn't come off his hand or arm.

· Reply · Report

Oisin March 21, 2008 12:55 am

I think its brilliant whether a knock-on or not.....I saw Barry Everitt (london Irish 10) do something similar in an Irish club game years ago. He headed the ball between the 10 and 12 from a 5m scrum and touched down. (Like a chip but with his head!) Was called a knock-on - it was against my club but we thought it should count. It would make for some more moments of magic.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous March 25, 2008 1:59 pm

great awerness by the player, simply not a knock on

· Reply · Report

Anonymous March 25, 2008 2:00 pm

great awerness by the player, simply not a knock on

· Reply · Report

Bill March 31, 2008 9:17 am

"It is a knock on. While the ball touches him, he is in possesion, and loses posession of the ball forwards. Thus, it is irrelevant that the ball didn't come off his hand or arm."Read Law 17 "anonymous", besides, if you were right then kicking it would be a knock on as well...

· Reply · Report

josh April 10, 2008 5:51 pm

Stop being such dumb arses!!Not a knock on!!!Graet Try!!!

· Reply · Report

Ben TV May 02, 2008 3:26 pm

Francisco Bosch is a star in world rugby.If you do not think so please look at his fabulous 65m try.If you're speechless about this, please comment as well.My favourite part of this 65m try is when he headed the ball.As you can hear the commentator says ''he would'nt mind betting that Francisco planned to use his head''. Francisco used his head in 2 different ways 1:to head the ball and 2:he used his head to think about what he was going to do:to chip it on or head it.Class by Francisco Bosch.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous May 13, 2008 4:31 am

Whatever!! It's fun to watch, so...MARADOOO,MARADOOO!!

· Reply · Report

Cheyanqu July 25, 2008 4:27 pm

although the header is not a knock-on...but offsides still applies. If you are ahead of your teammate and then pick the ball up, you played the ball from an offside position (for example, gathering a knock-on in front of the knock-on-er)

· Reply · Report

Dani_talyuli August 01, 2008 3:52 pm

JUST LOVED THAT!!!Actually im a center/wing and I'm known for this kind of play, I always play with the feet, or chest and try dribbling with football skills!Hope someday I can show this in a big team!

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter