Rayno Benjamin's sneaky trip gets yellow

Jerry Collins appearance for club 2nd XV

All Blacks fined for waterboy Messam

George Gregan's halfback Masterclass

James Schrader's sensational try saver

Touching Haka from Under 20's

Springboks bounce back to beat Argentina

Fight for ball results in WWE style slam

Top Three Try Saving Tackles ever!

Monday, May 12, 2008

'Freak' try from Rugby League Centenary Test

'Freak' try from Rugby League Centenary Test

Rugby League clips on Rugbydump are a thing of rarity, purely because we're Rugby Union based. But, when the hit or the skill is of the level as was seen on the weekend, we think it's only fair to share it with the rugby fraternity who expect, demand, and appreciate the type of raw brilliance that was shown by Greg Inglis for Australia.

In the Centenary Test between Australia and New Zealand in Sydney, Inglis fumbled a precise Johnathan Thurston cross kick, then leapt and hurled the ball back over his own head while in mid-air as he sailed over the dead ball line.

The ball landed in the waiting hands of Mark Gasnier, who touched down with centimetres to spare, leaving even the Melbourne Storm magician amazed with his feat.

"We didn't know if it was a try or not," Inglis recalled.

"I just thought 'how the hell did I do that.

"It's just one of those things you've got to have a crack at. I should have caught the ball in the first place."

The lucky recipient of the pass said he knew immediately that it was a try, even if the video referee was called to adjudicate.

"I just treated it like a slips catch," Gasnier said.

"I asked Greg if he'd landed and he said he didn't so I knew it was a try.

"It's probably the easiest try I've ever scored."

The conversion kick was pretty damn special too.

Australia, in their Centenary celebration kit, won 28-12 .

Posted by Rugbydump at 7:21 am | View Comments (48)

Viewing 48 comments

minstrel boy May 12, 2008 3:04 pm

NBA stuff :)btw why is australia playing in red and blue???

· Reply · Report

Kieran May 12, 2008 3:28 pm

Brilliant skill to keep that in (it was a great kick to reach him as well) and a fantastic conversion to put the icing on the cake. Wonderful try.

· Reply · Report

rancid May 12, 2008 3:33 pm

LOL at Anonymous having retarded arguments with himself

· Reply · Report

No.7 May 12, 2008 4:20 pm

That anonymous is not funny at all. just go away, you aren't like i take it you're the same guy that leaves comments insulting people etc. Anyway back to the video, Very good, awesome reactions!Thanks very much!

· Reply · Report

agus May 12, 2008 5:15 pm


· Reply · Report

Don May 12, 2008 5:23 pm

be gone anonymous cunts.Anywaythat try was one freak of nature...but that conversion...oh man, talk about defying the laws of physics.

· Reply · Report

bD May 12, 2008 5:33 pm

hey this isnt an argument page.........to the video: good god

· Reply · Report

elrolo May 12, 2008 5:53 pm

amazing skill, but seriously wtf^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

· Reply · Report

Rawling May 12, 2008 7:12 pm

That'd be a dead ball in Union :pBut awesome nonetheless.

· Reply · Report

ciano May 12, 2008 8:16 pm

No need for excuses of it being League, that is top class!!

· Reply · Report

ciano May 12, 2008 8:17 pm

P.S. I don't think that'd be dead in Union, you can do that when it's going to touch anyway!

· Reply · Report

Ben May 12, 2008 9:36 pm

" P.S. I don't think that'd be dead in Union, you can do that when it's going to touch anyway!"I think you have to have your feets on the field to make it legal in union, but I'm not sure.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous May 12, 2008 11:09 pm

To Ben, I'm pretty sure this would be ok, it's just the same as jumping into the air when in touch and tapping a kick back into play.Chris

· Reply · Report

Anonymous May 12, 2008 11:48 pm

Why No Rucks?

· Reply · Report

chris May 13, 2008 1:33 am

rawling, care to explain why you think that would be a dead ball in union?pitty we lost greg inglis to league, i reckon he would be a wallaby for sure

· Reply · Report

G-unit May 13, 2008 1:56 am

What can you say! Freakish!!! amazing try and kick! and conversion!

· Reply · Report

Chris May 13, 2008 2:00 am

saw this live, and was completely mesmorised by it. Great skill.

· Reply · Report

boomshanka May 13, 2008 3:06 am

Fantastic skill. Unfortunately.

· Reply · Report

casey May 13, 2008 3:45 am

someone help me out here.say im playing in union, im just about to receive a pass but i 'fumble' it forward, over the player defending in front of me, catch it and carry on. is that legal?basically, when does a fumble become a knock on?As for this video...awesome

· Reply · Report

kvt May 13, 2008 3:52 am

Finally got rid of those *#@%^& anonymous comments.Have to agree with chris...why should it be a dead ball when he's in the air?IRB Ruling? Law 19The ball is in touch when a player is carrying it and the ball carrier (or the ball) touches the touchline or the ground beyond the touchline.LOL...that ought to settle it.

· Reply · Report

kvt May 13, 2008 4:00 am

Sorry...forgot to mention that I was referring to Union and not League

· Reply · Report

Dario May 13, 2008 5:08 am

hahaha this is probably the best try ive seen so far in my life hahaha absolutely spectacular!

· Reply · Report

elliot May 13, 2008 6:32 am

Casey, I'm in the same boat as you...There's a lot of times when I've seen a ball fumbled forward, caught, and taken in for a try - there's quite a few clips here on RD like that. But then I wonder where the line is between passing it forward to yourself and fumbling it. Is it basically a subjective referee decision?I'll have to go looking through the lawbook, I guess.

· Reply · Report

elliot May 13, 2008 6:38 am

Oh, and this clip is fantastic. I wish I saw more cross kicks like that across the field for tries in Union. But I don't watch every game, so maybe it happens more than I realize...One more thing...what's all this about myxomatosis and rabbits (I know what the disease is)? Is that an Australian saying or something?

· Reply · Report

beefy May 13, 2008 7:13 am

elliot, i take it you arent from australia...rabbits is the nickname of the commentator with the husky voice, his real name is ray warren...and mixamatosis is a bit of an aussie slang word (even though we hardly even say it) for getting things mixed up IE when sterlo the other commentator said the conversion wouldnt come round and it did.and also, for anyone who doesnt watch league in australia..in all seriousness, if the wallabies had the backline of the league team, we would murder everyone...freaks like grasnier, slater, hodges, folau, inglis, lockyer, thurston...and thats not to mention who was left out of this team.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous May 13, 2008 8:33 am

Their playing in red and blue cos its their centenuary jersey and its rugby league 100th year :D

· Reply · Report

Sharky May 13, 2008 9:42 am

Brilliant, in either code of the game. To bring in a third sport, makes me think of when in cricket players jump over the boundary rope and fling it back in to save the six.. but none of your care about cricket so.. yeah. :)Regarding it being a dead ball, I think Rawling is meaning that it's crossed the 'plane' of the dead ball line. Same way that in rugby if it goes out when kicked, but the wing brings it back in field, it's still out. Or have they changed that law again? Not sure. And Casey, yes, you cannot pass or tap forward to yourself deliberately. It is entirely up to the referee to decide whether it was done accidentally (allowed) or deliberate (disallowed).

· Reply · Report

Anonymous May 13, 2008 11:07 am

mixamytosis is a fatal virus that was introduced deliberately to cull rabbits in certain parts of the world, including Australia. the commentators nickname is rabbit, perhaps due to his second name, Warren, which is a rabbit's "den" for want of a better word. Rabbit said that it seemed the penalty would sail wide of the posts when in fact it curled around and went between the uprights. this error on behalf of mr. Warren, A.K.A. Rabbit, caused his co-commentator to declare with jocular intent that he had contracted mixamytosis. It's what you might call a joke

· Reply · Report

James May 13, 2008 3:04 pm

Great try!Strip, he didn't catch the ball.So it'd still be a try in union.Casey, If you fumble and catch the ball before it hits the ground then you can play on.

· Reply · Report

Just a Fan May 13, 2008 3:37 pm

Great try - whatever code. Conversation brilliant too. Still, being from SA, League looks very strange and not at all like rugby union. Hey Don...did you run out of brain cells that you needed to resort to lanuguage out of the gutter!. Kids read this too.

· Reply · Report

Sharky May 13, 2008 3:49 pm

Strip, what on earth are you doing linking to a Larry Bird basketball video, and wanting us to compare the skill?? lol that's just plain stupid mate. Why not compare the conversion to a Beckham free kick then too, and say, 'Aah, the conversions not so good. Watch Beckham do it in this clip...'Daft. :)

· Reply · Report

jj May 13, 2008 4:59 pm

Great stuff. Everything from the cross kick to the try to the conversion. Just brilliant.Lol...true that Sharky.Strip...it's 2008. I think it's time to throw that 2002 union rule book away.

· Reply · Report

Rawling May 13, 2008 6:13 pm

(Talking Union here. I'm also no authority on the Law, I just happen to have a copy...)Someone has quoted the Law that, if you catch the ball, both feet have to land in play otherwise the ball is in touch. (This is IMO a rather ambiguous part of the touch Law.)If you watch carefully, you will see that the attacker did indeed catch the ball before passing it back.Had he not, it would have been a knock on - if a player knocks the ball forwards with hand or arm, he must catch it before it hits the ground or another player, or else it is a knock-on.Of course, this is ignoring the main issue: although Union has detailed touch Laws (and, by assumption, these apply to touch in goal), the only references to the ball being dead are if it is "on or over" the dead ball line - which could lead to a "dead ball plane" interpretation. Alternatively, we can apply the touch Laws to the dead ball line too.The SA rugby referees have a neat ask-the-ref-a-question form, and I've asked them about this - eagerly waiting a reply!

· Reply · Report

Cheyanqu May 13, 2008 7:12 pm

in Union, your feet must land in the field of play AFTER you made the last play on the ball. Thus the ball is dead. Since it was brought into in-goal by OZ kicker.. 22m dropout to NZL.as for knock-ons: Example: bad pass to you. you bobble it forward first. Rather than gather it to make the pass, you slap it backwards to a teammate. Since you never re-gathered the ball, it is a knock-on.If however, you re-gather it FIRST before playing it to your teammate, the knock-on is cancelled.If you knock forward initially, you are forced to gather.Then again, it is all about the level of play.

· Reply · Report

rogers8 May 13, 2008 11:28 pm

does eny of you now enything bout sonny bill williams coming over to union? ? ? coz he is world class p.s he played for nz in this game. and... this is a awsoemt try.

· Reply · Report

Roy May 14, 2008 5:11 am

Many different views so here'sLaw 19 - Touch and Lineout

· Reply · Report

sharky May 14, 2008 8:36 am

Rogers, Sonny Bill said in an interview that if that All Blacks want him to play for them, he'll consider moving to union. Stupid if you ask me, considering he hasn't proved himself on the union field yet. So no, I don't think it's going to happen. What ever happened to the attitude of, hey, I'll cross over, work hard, and then get picked? He thinks he'll just walk into the team. Crazy. Anyway... interesting to see the discussions about the laws here regarding if this would be allowed in union or not. "If the ball crosses the touchline or touch-in-goal line, and is caught by a player who has both feet in the playing area, the ball is not in touch or touch-in-goal. Such a player may knock the ball into the playingarea. If a player jumps and catches the ball, both feet must land in the playing area otherwise the ball is in touch or touch-in-goal."All that means is that he can't jump, catch it, then land outside the field... obviously. So I think this would be fine in union, based on that. :)

· Reply · Report

SANDI May 14, 2008 8:47 am

great try - in union that would be a dead ball

· Reply · Report

Rawling May 14, 2008 11:31 am

Response from Jaco Pepyer;apparently in Union the touch definitions also apply to the dead ball line.Unfortunately, this isn't much help since, as mentioned before, the touch laws are a little ambiguous when it comes to players in the air.

· Reply · Report

Gaz June 08, 2008 6:09 am

In union that would be atry as the rule about landing with the feet in play only applies if the ball is caught in flight.with regard to the questions about knocking on past an opposing player and regathering before the ball hits the ground this is legal as long as the reff doesn't deem it to be intentional however there is nothing to stop the opposing player nailing you before you can regather as you are technically still in possesion of the ball.

· Reply · Report

emilioz October 03, 2008 9:01 pm

superb try but one question how do you win the ball in league

· Reply · Report

robert November 12, 2008 5:04 am

emilioz .. fair question, so here's a short answer.The side with the ball has six tackles to try and score before the ball is handed over. The attacking side usually employs a tactical kick after the fifth tackle (but not always) and the ball usually changes hands then, one way or another. A tackler can also strip the ball from a player he tackles if it is a one-on-one situation, as soon as someone else joins the tackle he can't strip it. And of course mistakes, knock-ons, dropped balls and free kicks or ball in touch, etc, can also change possession.

· Reply · Report

Eoghan, Dublin February 25, 2009 11:38 am

Amazing try - In Union the ruling would depend on whether the ball had crossed the plane of the dead ball line prior to being flicked back into play - if it has, you can flick it into the field of play, but the player who does so must also land in play or the ball is dead.If the ball has not crossed the plane of touch then its just a pass with no consequences for the player landing in touch after playing it.

· Reply · Report

Crystal December 14, 2009 11:37 pm

I'm pretty sure those comments don't adhere to your commenting policy! ;-)
Lasik Columbus

· Reply · Report

Harry Garnock RFC January 22, 2010 2:53 pm

That was immense, could watch it all day!

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.