Southland sensational try after big bump


Brian O'Driscoll Breakdown Masterclass


Sam Burgess breaks cheekbone, plays on


WIN Rugby Speaker of the Year tickets!


Just how fast is Carlin Isles?


Ben Flower red card for vicious punches


Female Streaker has no regrets


Ben Funnell slamming tackle on Hawkins


The Human Hurdle Attempt

Friday, October 23, 2009

Friday Funnies - Philippe Saint Andre gets back in the action

Friday Funnies - Philippe Saint Andre gets back in the action

One of the best wingers ever in French rugby, Philippe Saint Andre is now retired and earlier this year, took up the post of Director of Rugby at Toulon in the South of France, leaving Sale for a new challenge.

Hes widely regarded as one of the legends of the game, having captained his country 34 times, with 68 Test caps to his name. One of the highlights of his career was leading France to two Test wins over the All Blacks, in New Zealand in 1994.

He also scored one of the greatest tries in history, in 1991, against England at Twickenham. It was started by another legend, Serge Blanco, from underneath the posts and ended with Saint Andre flying in after collecting a kick from Didier Camberabero.

In France, the try is known as L'Essai du Sicle , which means The Try of the Century.

"Do you remember Camberabero's little chip, kicking the ball from close to the touchline into the middle of the pitch? You don't that see any more," Saint-Andre says upon reflection.

"Rugby has changed. In my time, the wings, like Campese and Lomu, were the stars, because they scored the tries. Now, everyone scores and props are quicker than wings used to be. Everything has changed."

The quick witted former Gloucester, Bourgoin, and Sale coach touches on rugby philosophy.

"I am a former wing, but if I scored tries it was because the forwards were good. There is a saying in France; you need guys to carry the piano and guys to play the piano."

We had a few people asking if they could see this moment from the recent Toulon vs Saracens Amlin Challenge Cup match, in which we see Saint-Andre attempt to get himself in on the action once again.

Jonny Wilkinson put in a booming touch finder, which Sarries Alex Goode tried to take a quick throw-in from. The experienced Saint-Andre was having none of it though, and showed that competitive edge that he always had, by holding Goode back ever so slightly.

It was nothing too serious, but it's been an entertaining couple of weeks, what with players pushing refs, and coaches holding back players. Saint-Andre was simply overeager though, and did it out of instinct no doubt. Check out the related post to watch that awesome try once again.


:: Related Posts ::
France full field team try vs England 1991
Time: 0:46

Posted at 11:31 am | 12 comments

Viewing 12 comments

Dave October 23, 2009 12:51 pm

lol couldnt help himself.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous October 23, 2009 1:49 pm

lol so funny. bad reflex

· Reply · Report

Chris October 23, 2009 2:14 pm

The commentary is what made this video for me. Great stuff

· Reply · Report

Phil October 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Ditto Chris. The commentators loved it!

· Reply · Report

etienne October 23, 2009 3:17 pm

Great vid !!
But concernig the Try Of The Cenuty, it was the one scored against New Zealand in 1994 in Auckland, not this one

· Reply · Report

4LC4TR4Z October 23, 2009 3:19 pm

Try of the Century, for us, in France, is the one of Saint Andre against England in 1991.

The one scored by Sadourny in 1994 against the ABs we call it : l'Essai du Bout Du Monde = "Try From The End Of The World"

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui October 23, 2009 4:35 pm

Saint-Andre should have gotten a ball in the face from the player.

What's the point of having quick throws if the referees won't police the delaying tactics -- like the ball carrier throwing / dropping the ball into the spectators.

· Reply · Report

Fred-D October 23, 2009 5:52 pm

cheyanqui, rule 19.2 (D)

"For a quick throw-in, the player must use the ball that went into touch. If, after it went to
touch and was made dead, another ball is used, or if another person has touched the ball
apart from the player throwing it in, then the quick throw-in is disallowed.
The same team
throws in at the lineout."

So it makes no difference what the ball carrier who went into touch did, it still cant be taken quickly.

· Reply · Report

J-Rod October 24, 2009 4:00 am

Should be fined

· Reply · Report

goodNumber10 October 24, 2009 9:03 am

Andre was wrong to do it, but it's still funny to see how competitive the flying pig still is.

· Reply · Report

ned2or3 October 26, 2009 2:52 am

I like the all the support staff giving the touchie the "what?? I don't understand" look after he did it

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui October 26, 2009 11:57 pm

Sideline scenes like this with Saint Andre make scare me.. and here is why (2:20+)
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ioyt2zzm530
[pardon the flute]


Fred D.,
My point is that you see players throw the ball into the stands in order to prevent the opposition from taking a quick throw, or they purposefully hand the ball to someone on the sidelines.

If you believe that it was an intentional ploy to avoid a quick throw, it should be considered an Act Contrary to Good Sportsmanship.

View Video

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter