Clerc OR Michalak to hang up boots

Lopez helps France to edge Scotland

Nigel Hunt delivers huge hit!

USA's thrilling Las Vegas 7s Cup Final

Romania's dangerous high tackle

Monstrous hits: Grenoble and Oyonnax!

World Series Rugby: Force vs Fiji launch

Emotional as Aurélien Rougerie retires

Scotland's Tim Visser retires from Tests

Monday, November 02, 2009

Blue Bulls win the Currie Cup final 2009

Blue Bulls win the Currie Cup final 2009

The Blue Bulls did the double on Saturday as they capped off a superb season, following on from their Super 14 win as they beat the Cheetahs 36-24 in the final of the 2009 Currie Cup.

Loftus Versfeld was awash with blue as a capacity crowd witnessed one of the most action packed, intense finals we've seen in recent times. Morne Steyn continued his fine run of form, scoring 21 points in total, but it was Fourie Du Preez who once again showed why he's considered the best number nine in the world.

The Cheetahs game out firing but it was the Bulls who soaked up the pressure in the first few minutes before getting into a position for Du Preez to take a quick tap penalty, then crosskick for the waiting Francois Hougaard.

A turnover after more Cheetahs pressure allowed the Bulls to move it wide with Zane Kirchner, Fourie Du Preez, and Bryan Habana combining beautifully to score a great counter attacking try.

Du Preez and Habana combined again a few minutes later, as a perfectly placed kick allowed the flying Habana to chase and gather for his second try in his last match for the Bulls.

At 24-0 to the home side, it looked as though we had a repeat of the Super 14 final on our hands, but the Cheetahs come back through a try by Frans Viljoen, and later Corne Uys and Nico Breedt.

Jaques Louis Potgieter kept them in the game with a dropgoal, but Morne Steyn punished whenever possible, slotting 8 out of his 9 kicks on the day.

A yellow card to Richardt Strauss signalled the end of the Cheetahs comeback as the Bulls went on to celebrate in front of the 55 000 strong Loftus faithful.

The Springbok touring squad was named after the final. There were a few surprises, but the side contains the core of the Tri Nations players, along with nine new caps, all listed below.

Time: 07:43
Forum: You can discuss the Currie Cup final and the Bok squad at further length here .

Springbok Squad to tour Britain, Ireland, and Europe

Forwards: John Smit, Victor Matfield, Andries Bekker, Bakkies Botha, Heinrich Brssow, Schalk Burger, Bismarck du Plessis, Jannie du Plessis, Alistair Hargreaves, Ashley Johnson, Ryan Kankowski, Bandise Maku , Tendai Mtawarira, Dewald Potgieter, Chiliboy Ralepelle, Davon Raubenheimer, Danie Rossouw, Pierre Spies, Gurthr Steenkamp, Heinke van der Merwe.

Backs: Heini Adams, Meyer Bosman, Juan de Jongh, Fourie du Preez, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Francois Hougaard, Adi Jacobs, Zane Kirchner, Odwa Ndungane, Jongi Nokwe, Wynand Olivier, Ruan Pienaar , JP Pietersen, Earl Rose, Morn Steyn, Riaan Viljoen.

Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 11:12 am | View Comments (57)

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh


{[{c.num_likes}]}👍· Reply · Report

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment