Southland sensational try after big bump


Female Streaker has no regrets


Tameifuna's huge hit on Michael Hooper


Samu Manoa Huge Hit on Billy Twelvetrees


Tana Umaga smashes into brother Mike


Brian O'Driscoll Breakdown Masterclass


Biggest Hits in World Rugby in August


Joe Marler and his unsual pets


The Top 5 Schoolboy Prodigies

Wednesday, February 17, 2010

Saia Faingaa's rough night - Dean Mumm suspended

Saia Faingaa's rough night - Dean Mumm suspended

As mentioned in the Reds vs Waratahs highlights earlier in the week, 'Tahs lock Dean Mumm was yellow carded for an off the ball shoulder on Saia Faingaa. Mumm has since been suspended for two weeks.

The Waratahs pulled off a dramatic final play of the match win as they came from behind to crush the Reds' hopes of starting the season on a high. They finished with 14 men, as Mumm was sitting on the sidelines after being sent to the sin-bin by ref Craig Joubert.

Joubert had originally ruled that a penalty and a talking to was sufficient punishment for the charge on replacement hooker Faingaa, but upon chatting to his assistant, ruled that it would be yellow for the big Wallaby, who played on the flank on the night.

Mumm ended up facing a hearing to answer a charge of barging into a ruck and maul under Law 10.4 (h). "There was a directive issued by the IRB in 2007 in relation to cleaning out and the intent of the IRB was to rid the game of this sort of activity," said judicial officer Paul Tully said.

He was subsequently suspended until the 28 February, ruling him out of the Waratahs' tour of South Africa where they will face the Stormers and the Bulls.

Faingaa took a big knock earlier in the match too, that time from Will Caldwell, who himself was in hot water as he was accused of eye-gouging at another point in the match. He was found to be innocent of that though.

A rough night all in all for Mr Faingaa, and the first suspension of this season's Super 14. I'm sure there will be more to come, and if you spot something you'd like to be featured, please post it in the Requests section and we'll have a look.


Time: 01:25

Posted at 6:06 pm | 14 comments

Viewing 14 comments

Anonymous February 17, 2010 6:20 pm

first comment , oh my god, momentus occassion for me

· Reply · Report

Alexander February 17, 2010 6:23 pm

Damn, beaten to first!!!!! Awful rucking, coulda done some serious damage!!

· Reply · Report

Pitseleh February 17, 2010 6:38 pm

Card deserved I think. The sumo one was offside but you can't charge someone in the back (and the ref just stopped the game too).

· Reply · Report

HM February 17, 2010 9:54 pm

What rule does this come under? He came through the gate, and Faingaa was involved in the ruck. Do you have to use arms like in a tackle?

Because the end result would have been exactly what I would look for - dumping an opposition player on top of the ball to slow it down even more. However, charging someone in the back is a bit of a BS move - does it just come under 'dangerous play'?

· Reply · Report

Anonymous February 17, 2010 10:37 pm

ref already blow the whistle idiots thats mean the ball is dead

· Reply · Report

Charles O'Carroll-Ke February 17, 2010 11:35 pm

typical of a ref...picking on the french....typical...another french player banned...typical french being picked on eh?

oh wait....

· Reply · Report

Anonymous February 18, 2010 1:48 am

HM that falls under a law called sharp shoulder. It's a rucking law that's been in effect for a couple years now. Mixed with going into a defenseless player, easily a yellow card. Like the announcer said, gutless

· Reply · Report

sebastian February 18, 2010 10:13 am

not good

· Reply · Report

Ur mom February 18, 2010 2:12 pm

cheap c*nt

· Reply · Report

Anonymous February 18, 2010 2:21 pm

good on the guy put a little violence back in our beautiful game

· Reply · Report

Philip Blows February 18, 2010 2:34 pm

Idiotic

· Reply · Report

HM February 18, 2010 3:57 pm

So does it basically come down to the referee's interpretation of whether the intent was to hurt or to clear out?

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui February 18, 2010 5:42 pm

tackles -- you must attempt to wrap

cleanouts at breakdowns -- you must attempt to bind (be it to the players you are cleaning out, or someone else involved in the breakdown)

Clearly dropping a shoulder means you are making no attempt to bind onto the ruck.

Thus it is liable for penalty in live play (or after the whistle).

Just like a spear tackle after the whistle is still a spear.

· Reply · Report

M February 19, 2010 9:54 am

1. Shoulder charge, not allowed in rucking

2. The ref had clearly blown his whistle, as shown by all the players in the replay looking towards the ref

Conclusion: Cheap Shot

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter