Sam Simmonds' power source revealed

Josh van der Flier's record 34 tackles

Mike Brown opens up on his anger issues

Faf de Klerk petulance gets carded

Haskell facing ban after Roberts hit

Haskell gives his side of the story

Fijian nails ballsy no-look pass

Two Referees admit they made mistakes!

Sinoti Sinoti step from another planet

Friday, October 15, 2010

New Zealand take Gold yet again at the Commonwealth Games Sevens

New Zealand take Gold yet again at the Commonwealth Games Sevens

New Zealand came back from being 7-17 down to beat Australia 24-17 as they took gold at the Commonwealth Games Sevens tournament in Delhi, sealing the win with a later try to Kurt Baker.

Despite trailing, New Zealand captain DJ Forbes said they never panicked. "We were down but never out. In Sevens, it's not really tough to upturn such a slender margin. After having won this tournament three times in a row, there is always big pressure. Going through the way we did is great."

Its an impressive fourth consecutive Gold medal at the games. "We were under pressure but we saw through it. Well, it's fourth for the team but for me, it's the first. Makes it all the more exciting," said try scorer Baker.

They've now not lost a match since they first won the inaugural tournament in Kuala Lumpur in 1998. They went on to win in Manchester, then Melbourne, and now Delhi.

South Africa won bronze with a 17-14 victory over England. Fiji were unfortunately not in the tournament, as they had been suspended by the Commonwealth for political reasons.

The Australians didnt come out tops but a few of their players have impressed enough to be included in the Wallabies 36-man touring squad to play the All Blacks in Hong Kong and then tour Europe.

Lachie Turner, Luke Morahan, Pat McCutcheon, and Nick Phipps have been selected for the tour where after facing the All Blacks, they will go up against Wales, Leicester, Munster, England, France, and Italy. The squad will be reduced to 30 for the latter two games.

Wallaby squad: Ben Alexander, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Berrick Barnes, Kurtley Beale, Richard Brown, Luke Burgess, Mark Chisholm, Quade Cooper, Rod Davies, Ben Daley, Huia Edmonds, Rocky Elsom (captain), Anthony Faingaa, Saia Faingaa, Will Genia, Matt Giteau, Scott Higginbotham, Matt Hodgson, Peter Hynes, Van Humphries, Salesi Maafu, Pat McCabe, Ben McCalman, Pat McCutcheon, Drew Mitchell, Stephen Moore, Luke Morahan, Dean Mumm, James OConnor, Nick Phipps, David Pocock, Benn Robinson, Nathan Sharpe, Rob Simmons, James Slipper, Lachie Turner.

Time: 06:45

Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 12:04 am | View Comments (42)

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh


{[{c.num_likes}]}👍· Reply · Report

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment