Mat Luamanu cracking hit on Matt Banahan


Flanker Liam Gill slots 41m drop goal


Farrell yellow carded for Robson hit


Brazilian players create awesome try


Manu Tuilagi makes another two huge hits against Exeter Chiefs


Manu Tuilagi's big hit on Blair Cowan


Joe Marler fine & ban for Gypsy comment


Tim Bond suspended for 4 weeks for hit


Mat Luamanu huge hit on Tom Heathcote

Monday, December 20, 2010

Xavier Rush sees red for dangerous tackle on Courtney Lawes

Xavier Rush sees red for dangerous tackle on Courtney Lawes

Xavier Rush was red carded for a dangerous tackle on Courtney Lawes as Cardiff Blues went down 23-19 to the Northampton Saints at the Cardiff City Stadium this weekend. The result of the fierce contest effectively eliminated the Blues from the Heineken Cup.

Rush, a former All Black number eight, saw red after he flew out the line to make a crucial momentum stopping tackle on lock Lawes as Saints were threatening after a move from deep. The hit virtually decapitated the England second rower though, who took it well considering the impact.

He got up, played on, but left the field after less than ten minutes. Its since been reported that hes fine and suffered no ill effects. Rush on the other hand, could be in line for a citing following the red card that was shown to him by referee Jerome Garces.

Lawes did dip into the tackle, but the Blues number eight - not known as a dirty player - was responsible for the point of contact, so unfortunately even if he would have hit chest high with Lawes standing upright, the result was ultimately dangerous.

"It was a physically intimidating game but we didn't take a backward step," said Saints coach Jim Mallinder. He said Lawes was okay after the controversial tackle.

"It was a big hit and anyone who takes Courtney around the head needs to be fairly high! Rushie is an experienced player and he has gone into the tackle and taken Lawes's head off. He was probably committed to it," he added.

Despite losing Rush, the Blues could have hung on for the win but errors and a late try cost them as they went down for their first home loss in 13 matches in the tournament.

Do you think it was a harsh call to give a straight red, or did the officials get it right?


Time: 2:22

Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 8:08 am | View Comments (171)

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh

Loading...

{[{c.num_likes}]}b· Reply · Report

Commenting as

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

[Cancel]

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
Characters: {[{ submit.char_count }]}/2000

Commenting as

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
Characters: {[{ submit.char_count }]}/2000