Tameifuna's huge hit on Michael Hooper


Closing montage from Heineken Cup final


5 Biggest Hits of the Premiership season


Tony Brown takes big hit from Pakalani


Dafydd Howells scores quickest try ever?


Johan Goosen huge drop goal on debut


Biggest punches & worst fights in France


Maxime Machenaud carries Heini Adams!


Toulon do the double with Top 14 win

Monday, January 10, 2011

Dan Biggar hits the crossbar from point-blank range

Dan Biggar hits the crossbar from point-blank range

In what was a scrappy Magners League game, Leinster beat Ospreys 15-10 at the RDS on Friday night. Jonny Sexton kicked all Leinster's points, while Dan Biggar had a shocker with the boot, including a kick that he'd rather forget about.

Ospreys fielded a weakened side that weren't expected to test Leinster much, but a losing bonus point left the Welsh region feeling as though they'd done okay, considering the difference in the lineups. Neither side will have been overly pleased with how they performed though.

Jonny Sexton did well for Leinster however, kicking all their points with five penalties, while Justin Tipuric scored a try for Ospreys. Biggar didn't have a great night, as he missed a few vital kicks late in the game, and was seemingly inspired by goings on at Wembley recently as he smashed one of his penalties directly into the crossbar.

The ball moved on the tee as he was about to strike it, which seemed to cause the blooper. It was amusing, but coach Scott Johnson downplayed the poor kicking performance, which included just two successful shots out of seven attempts at goal.

"I thought Dan played very well; we dont do blame for missing kicks, especially when one of them was as a result of the ball falling off a kicking tee on his run up. I was proud of the way he played and proud of the way the guys played generally," he said.

While it's good for a laugh, goal kickers will inevitably have bad nights occasionally, but young Biggar kept his chin up and will no doubt bounce back.. in much the same way as the ball did.


Time: 01:14

Posted at 10:47 am | 33 comments

Viewing 33 comments

Anonymous January 10, 2011 11:04 am

Hmmm definately unfortunate..... I felt like laughing from the title but watching the video made me feel for the guy!

Must have been highly embarrassing even though it was not entirely his fault...

On a side note, no one uses sand anymore, remember the old bucket used to come out and they make a little sand castle and boot the ball off it, haven't seen that in a long long time...

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 11:10 am

why was that match refereed by nigel owens, who in my opinion favoured the welsh side quite a bit in the game.

· Reply · Report

Citing Commissioner January 10, 2011 11:12 am

Amusing although it was justice as there should never have been a penalty in the first place.

· Reply · Report

Ross January 10, 2011 11:27 am

you can see that the ball falls forward at the last second. thats what caused it.

· Reply · Report

cardiffblue- January 10, 2011 11:30 am

yeah the ball falls off the tee just before he kicked it

and ceri sweeney of the blues still uses sand.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 11:53 am

Justice done - Healey couldn't possibly roll away as he looked pretty much unconscious - crazy penalty, even crazier kick! I'd say Biggar felt a lot Smaller after that..boom boom!

· Reply · Report

Colombes January 10, 2011 12:29 pm

bad luck!

it happened to Franois Gelez during a november test match in 2002 between france and all blacks
on the last minute. france had a last-minute penalty and the ball felt from the tee.

the match ended in a draw i think
if anyone have the highlights

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 1:05 pm

Bad luck, the ball felt from the tee.

· Reply · Report

t0m0 January 10, 2011 1:13 pm

Unlucky! Reminiscent of Kenny Logan's appauling effort a while back, think it was vs Stade? No ball slipping excuses there though, just a genuinely terrible player.

Regarding Biggar's kick - why did he place the ball at such a steep angle? Not sure that is necesary for a kick so close.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 1:33 pm

the penalty there was an absolute disgrace.
Referees really need to get ontop of the new laws at the breakdown....that was an excellent piece of counter-rucking by the tight-head...the skill is beign killed out of the game by referees who are too quick to jump to the whistle any time an opposition player wins the ball.
I understand the law is attempting to create quicker ball and a more exciting attacking game but this is an essential skill in the game and a beautiful thing when doen correctly!

· Reply · Report

Lucius January 10, 2011 2:46 pm

He placed the ball at a very steep angle for the distance. That one is a good angle for greater distances...

· Reply · Report

Resident Troll January 10, 2011 3:01 pm

'He placed the ball at a very steep angle for the distance. That one is a good angle for greater distances...'

yeup, pointing it as it was is good for long distances...however considering peter stringer could probably trip where the ball was placed, fall flat on his face and still be over the try line it begs the question of why he put it that way....

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 4:44 pm

definite penalty. All those who argue have no idea what the law says.

· Reply · Report

Leeners93 January 10, 2011 5:06 pm

Lucius said...
He placed the ball at a very steep angle for the distance. That one is a good angle for greater distances...

Resident Troll said...
it begs the question of why he put it that way....

he places it that way because he wants to keep the same routine for all of his kicks.why bother changing the angle of the ball everytime?he's most comfortable kicking the ball at that angle.what happened was just an unfortunate incident that will probably never happen to him again in his career

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 5:18 pm

Please, sharpen up there Troll:

http://begthequestion.info/

· Reply · Report

WelshOsprey January 10, 2011 5:24 pm

Unlucky but he had a shocker with the boot and cost us the game.

· Reply · Report

Citing Commissioner January 10, 2011 5:43 pm

Penalty against the Ospreys for diving into the ruck. Good job by Leinster for stealing the ball.
Good thing he missed. Even a better thing he missed that way since it is more entertaining!

· Reply · Report

fry January 10, 2011 6:08 pm

Who does he think he is with that line-drive kick, Stephen Jones?

· Reply · Report

The Cheese January 10, 2011 6:08 pm

does anyone agree that referees seem to look for an infringement and sometime make it up, for an example, a ball has been slow coming out of the ruck and then suddenly a penalty is given for a suspect offside from a centre? I don't see how this affects anything and to give a penalty is harsh.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 6:25 pm

The angle isn't the problem, it is because the ball move... Otherwise you see he would have get it... Really bad day for him :( But he still being a GREAT player, hope he will do much better against London Irish this Weekend...

· Reply · Report

Resident Troll January 10, 2011 6:55 pm

Apologies it's been a long day....

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 7:53 pm

If you look at the last second before he makes contact with the ball it starts to roll....

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 10, 2011 8:15 pm

Tipuric is class

· Reply · Report

ieu January 10, 2011 8:37 pm

How can you say Nigel Owens favoured the Ospreys when one of the penalties Leinester scored was for throwing the ball away? I agree that this should always be given as a penalty, but it is so rarely given you'd think it was no longer a law! Nigel Owens would never have given that penalty to a Welsh side because he wouldn't want to be accussed of being biased, and he can't not give it for the same reason. I.e. Magners League can not let refs ref games where their country is involved.

Anyway, Biggar may be slightly unlucky here but this penalty illustrates his arrogance and I really hope he is not in the 6N squad.

· Reply · Report

fatpig January 10, 2011 8:59 pm

bad luck
not more
not less

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 11, 2011 2:01 am

Im sorry, I just dont see how this is a penalty. The prop has his hands on the ball before the ruck is formed, never leaves his feet, head and shoulders (mostly) level with hips...I just dont see it! I reviewed laws 15 and 16 and just dont see a reason for the penalty. Can someone who knows more than me point out the reason for the penalty, please?

· Reply · Report

Believer January 11, 2011 2:59 am

@ Ieu

Totally agree about the need for neutral refs (and touch judges). Just see the Munster Glasgow debacle for a perfect example of biased officials deliberatly deciding the game!

· Reply · Report

The Cheese January 11, 2011 8:05 am

the ref signals thats the tackler didn't roll away, its got nothing to do with the prop.

· Reply · Report

crl January 11, 2011 4:14 pm

haha biggar, lets hope you and all the ospreys felt as embarassed as you did the morning after you smashed up taibachs rugby club,something which should have been publicised and not swept under!!! bloody disgraceful outfit

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 11, 2011 7:08 pm

"when one of the penalties Leinester scored was for throwing the ball away? I agree that this should always be given as a penalty, but it is so rarely given you'd think it was no longer a law!"

You'd think a Welsh Troll would have a better memory than this? In last years 6N a Welsh player was not only penalised but carded for throwing ball away in similar circumstance.

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 12, 2011 12:49 am

i love men

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 12, 2011 7:48 am

and men love you

· Reply · Report

Anonymous January 14, 2011 5:11 am

One too many training sessions with Giteau?

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter