RWC Players to Watch: Anthony Watson

Hawk-Eye to make World Cup debut at RWC

New Zealand hold onto Bledisloe Cup

James Schrader's sensational try saver

Tuilagi brothers cause chaos vs USA

Sensational Stepper Nehe Milner-Skudder

Horrell hit hard by Malakai Fekitoa

Sonny Bill Williams warned for big hit

Get 2 Months Free Professional Rugby S&C

Friday, October 07, 2011

Rugby World Cup Winners - Australia 1991

A month ago we brought you a fantastic documentary charting the success of the All Blacks at the 1987 Rugby World Cup. Today, on the eve of the 2011 Quarter Finals, we take a look at the Wallabies' campaign of 1991.

With superstar wing David Campese in the form of his life, Australia did what they couldn't do four years earlier and made it to the final. Campo scored six tries and set up many others, including the famous miracle pass to Tim Horan against New Zealand in the semi final.

The Man of the Tournament was in good company, as young John Eales was immense, particularly in the final, and Nick Far Jones, Tim Horan, and Michael Lynagh all played large roles in the first of Australia's two Rugby World Cup titles.

The tournament was jointly hosted by five countries, with France hosting the most matches, but the opening match and final were played at Twickenham in England.

The tournament actually has the unenviable stat of having the lowest average points per match of any other world cup. While in 1987 the average was 50.7, in 1991 it was 37.4, and since then it hasn't dropped below 50 again.

The final of the stayed true to the low scoring stats as Australia continued their fine defensive record and came away 12-6 winners. They conceded just three tries in the tournament.

The following documentary has brilliant footage from all the biggest matches, and includes excellent insight from the players themselves, making it a must watch for all rugby fans. Enjoy.

Read Will Greenwood's betting tips and get a free £20 bet, plus up to £1000 in cashback



Posted by Rugbydump at 11:09 am | View Comments (5)

Viewing 5 comments

LND October 07, 2011 2:19 pm

COME ON IRELAND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

· Reply · Report

RamRugby10 October 07, 2011 7:48 pm

They didn't nickname John Eales 'Nobody' for nothing!

· Reply · Report

The Claw October 07, 2011 7:54 pm

Interestingly, this Australian team went for a 1992 lap of honour around Europe, & ended up hitting a red brick wall of Munster men....again>

· Reply · Report

Pete November 30, 2011 2:41 pm

Wow, no one has any praise for a world cup winning team, just shows how the Irish think the sun shines out their own arses.

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.