Tony Brown takes big hit from Pakalani


Closing montage from Heineken Cup final


Huge hit by Tonga in Pacific Nations Cup


Learn more about incomparable Brad Thorn


George Pisi hit makes Shane Geraghty ill


Toulon do the double with Top 14 win


Brock James amazing reverse flick pass


Ma'afu banned for punch on Tom Youngs


Johan Goosen huge drop goal on debut

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Richie Gray ruins Stephen Donald debut with match winning try

It was a weekend of amazing finishes as Glasgow Warriors weren't be be outdone by Munster's herois at Thomond Park, as they came from behind to claim a dramatic 26-21 win over Bath at Firhill Stadium in Glasgow. 

Bath's Kiwi import Stephen Donald, fresh from winning the World Cup with the All Blacks, came on as a replacement and looked to have won the match with just over a minute left. His penalty kick took Bath into a two point lead, but Glasgow hadn't had their say just yet.

Outstanding Scotland second rower Richie Gray, who announced earlier in the week that he will be moving to Sale Sharks, took full advantage of a charge down on an attempted drop goal and charged over thanks to a favourable bounce that left Bath's Nick Abendanon with no chance.

"I'm delighted for Richie, a great try," said Warriors head coach Sean Lineen. "The drop goal was quite far away and it was a fortuitous bounce but I think Bath had been offside about four phases in a row and they got away with murder there. The guys never gave up."

Duncan Weir's attempted match winning drop kick resulted in a winning try for Gray, who was onside despite being in front of the kicker, thanks to the touch from a Bath hand.

"Duncan went for the drop goal, I saw there was a touch on it and it was the bounce of a rugby ball. Right place at the right time. The main focus was to give everything in a Warriors shirt while I'm still here. That is the focus for me and that's the way I'll always be," said Gray.

Below is video that includes Donald's kick, then the drama of the final few minutes.

Posted at 3:52 pm | 27 comments

Posted in See it to Believe it

Viewing 27 comments

goodNumber10 November 17, 2011 7:11 pm

How is Gray who is 10 metres in front of the kicker, at the breakdown, not deemed offside?

No attempt to retreat, no one puts him on side, encroaches 10 of the catcher.

Awful reffing........

· Reply · Report

WelshOsprey November 17, 2011 7:19 pm

Somebody charged the kick down so the offside rule apply.
If he didn't charge it down/touched it in flight then gray would of been a mile offside.

· Reply · Report

Rugbydump November 17, 2011 8:48 pm

Duncan Weir's attempted match winning drop kick resulted in a winning try for Gray, who was onside despite being in front of the kicker, thanks to the touch from a Bath hand.

· Reply · Report

i love bacon November 18, 2011 8:20 am

I'm sorry, could you repeat that again? I didn't quite catch it the first couple times ;)

Despite the gratification in seeing Donald do well elsewhere (when he was pretty much dismissed back in NZ), this was a satisfying try. Friggin' Heineken Cup. The only time of the year NH rugby really shines. It's games like this that make it such a great tournament. Plus, it's always good to see a Scottish side come up on top. Doesn't happen often enough.

· Reply · Report

iamaj8 November 17, 2011 7:13 pm

Grow up? ^
Talk about the rugby, that's what this site is for.

Unlucky Bath who perhaps you could argue deserved to win, but ultimately Gray was in the right place at the right time to grab the win and did well to take advantage of the half charge down. Well done Glasgow

· Reply · Report

iamaj8 November 17, 2011 7:17 pm

Just to confirm, this was not directed at you goodNumber10, it was to the anonymous above you.
But to answer you question, the ball was touched in a half charge down so therefore played him onside

· Reply · Report

Centre November 17, 2011 7:24 pm

Well iamaj8 I know what you're getting at (moaning about decisions can be boring), however reffing and the rules etc are a rather important part of rugby, and do lend themselves to discussion on a site like this to be fair!

However, in this case, doesn't the fact that the kick hits a Bath player render anyone in front of the kick onside as play enters a new phase as it were. In that case there is nothing wrong with the refereeing decision. Correct me if I'm wrong!

· Reply · Report

Centre November 17, 2011 7:27 pm

Haha, well it seems that we have all been a victim of the timing of posts ! My apologies iamj8 ... AND for my answer re offside having been answered about 6 times by the time I had written it ...

· Reply · Report

iamaj8 November 17, 2011 9:40 pm

No worries Centre, it seems as though Mr Anonymous' comments have been removed now anyway. Loving life

· Reply · Report

This comment has been removed

This comment has been removed

This comment has been removed

This comment has been removed

Huk123 November 17, 2011 11:58 pm

i only though those bounce happen to my team!

· Reply · Report

BuzzKillington November 18, 2011 7:14 am

I think Ehtch's psychiatric home have just started a new internet program

· Reply · Report

katman November 18, 2011 7:51 am

Richie Gray seemed to enjoy that a bit. Good on him.

· Reply · Report

IanM November 18, 2011 2:47 pm

Terrible (assistant) refereeing for the first penalty there. It was for collapsing/not binding by the Glasgow tighthead, but there was only one reason that that happened - the Bath loosehead bound onto the Gasgow TH's arm and there was no chance of the Glasgow player getting a bind after that. Once again referees have no idea how to ref the scrum.

· Reply · Report

Pretzel November 18, 2011 6:04 pm

Sigh, Amen to that, I am not a front row player so I can't begin to get it, but I wish there was more teaching going on to the referee's.... maybe referees should have to do a training session in each position and be subjected to each difficulty/event/task to pass as a referee...

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui November 19, 2011 5:32 pm

agreed -- funny how when players publicly sledge referees, they sometimes get sentenced to doing a referee's course (Samoan F-Sapolu comes to recent mind).

How about the next time a referee ruins a front row contest, they get sentenced to attending a front row clinic ;)

· Reply · Report

Pretzel November 19, 2011 6:39 pm

LOL, that would be amusing!

· Reply · Report

Stubby November 18, 2011 4:37 pm

Now beginning to suspect who some of the more annoying Anonymous' were on the previous version of this site.

Heads up play by number 4. Never give up, never surrender.

· Reply · Report

DW November 18, 2011 5:20 pm

Does Donald's kick not look dodgy. As the commentator stated when he kicked it: "he's hooked it", though the flags were up immediately. Which is strange as they took their time with other kicks that were clearly between the posts.

Officials eh, who would be one?

· Reply · Report

ScrumGuru November 18, 2011 6:02 pm

I freely admit I am a Bath fan, and props must go to Glasgow and Gray, but not sure that Abendanon couldn't have done something about that, or at least made more of an effort to secure the ball. Difficult bounce yes, but I would have expected more from him.

Also, you heard it here first- Tom Heathcote, the 10 Donald replaced, is a future international. Played very well for a 19 year old throughout the season thus far, but saw him on his debut earlier in the season; he played 40 mins against Leicester, and never put a foot wrong.

· Reply · Report

Grayman November 18, 2011 7:30 pm

Brilliant finish!

· Reply · Report

Mole5000 November 21, 2011 5:24 pm

The kick was fine, it's the TV cameras giving a totally false impression of the angle. If you see where the ball lands that advertising hoarding is plumb between the posts so the ball actually went right through the middle.

· Reply · Report

Will2574 April 18, 2012 9:21 am

I can't believe you have "goodNumber10" as a user name, and then ask such a stupid question. hahahahahah

Quite funny.

As WelshOsprey has added

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter