Jerry Collins appearance for club 2nd XV

France convincing winners over England

Levani Botia smashes Tonga to set up try

RWC Players to Watch: Anthony Watson

Awesome Argentina upset Springboks

Brilliant Richie McCaw lineout move try

New Zealand hold onto Bledisloe Cup

The Wraparound from Rugby HQ - Week 27

Sensational Stepper Nehe Milner-Skudder

Friday, February 03, 2012

O2 Inside Line - Six Nations 2012, episode 1

As we head into Six Nations weekend O2 Inside returns with previews for tomorrow's Calcutta Cup match between England and Scotland, and a look behind the scenes with the England camp at Pennyhill Park.

During the Rugby World Cup Haskell Cam was a popular feature that gave us all a look at what goes on while on tour with the England team. This year O2 Inside Line is back with it's usualy variety, and no doubt a few others controlling that infamous handycam.

Austin Healey and Abi Griffiths are joined by debutant Owen Farrell, who it seems will take control of the kicking duties, and fullback Mike Brown. Farrell will be joined in midfield by Brad Barritt, another debutant who has come a long way since making his debut for the Sharks in Super Rugby aged 19 many moons ago.

"It’s what you play rugby for, to enjoy those moments," said Farrell, himself still only 20. "It doesn’t change for me whether I’m playing in front of 80,000 or 6,000. Once you step over that whitewash it is the same as every other game. I've heard bagpipes before."

Interim coach Stuart Lancaster has selected a changed side, handing debuts to three players in total, with Phil Dowson another who, at the age of 30, will get his first taste of Test rugby. Just six players remain from the World Cup quarter final defeat by France.

Kick off at Murrayfield is at 17:00 GMT

England team:
Ben Foden, Chris Ashton, Brad Barritt, Owen Farrell, David Strettle, Charlie Hodgson, Ben Youngs, Alex Corbisiero, Dylan Hartley, Dan Cole, Mouritz Botha, Tom Palmer, Tom Croft, Chris Robshaw (captain), Phil Dowson.
Replacements: Rob Webber, Matt Stevens, Geoff Parling, Ben Morgan, Lee Dickson, Jordan Turner-Hall, Mike Brown.

Scotland team: Rory Lamont, Lee Jones, Nick De Luca, Sean Lamont, Max Evans, Dan Parks, Chris Cusiter, David Denton, Ross Rennie, Alasdair Strokosch, Jim Hamilton, Richie Gray, Euan Murray, Ross Ford (captain), Allan Jacobsen.
Replacements: Scott Lawson, Geoff Cross, Alastair Kellock, John Barclay, Mike Blair, Greig Laidlaw, Graeme Morrison.

Below is the first episode of this years O2 Inside Line, where you can see behind the scenes footage of England in the gym, coaching junior rugby, and some of the players have a chat.

To get the inside scoop on the squad, as well as fun features, match analysis and up to the minute player interviews with presenters Austin Healey and Abi Griffiths, sign up for alerts and watch O2 Inside Line on RFU TV at / #O2InsideLine

Posted by Rugbydump at 11:04 am | View Comments (5)

Viewing 5 comments

themull February 03, 2012 2:49 pm

I've got a feeling it's gonna be a rough year or two for England rugby..There's been such a large overhaul from the world cup and so much new young blood brought into the team I can't see them being overly successful in the beginning as the team learns to gel together...I really think the RFU messed up big time...They completely mishandled the world cup aftermath...

it could work out well in the long run however as Eng have four years to develop this new squad for the world cup, much like what Aus did for the last one, but if I were an Eng fan I'd fear the RFU won't have the time or patience to allow them to do so and if this 6 nations or summer tour goes badly then a whole new set up could be in place in one years time again

· Reply · Report

stroudos February 03, 2012 7:04 pm

The six nations O2 Inside Line's off to a good start - really enjoyed that. That Abi seems to have got fitter.

As an England fan, I am cautiously optimistic about this weekend and the tourny as a whole. I like Lancaster's approach, I like the team he's chosen and I like the attitude that he seems to be conveying onto the players.

One of the key things I've heard is the players being given a longer leash, flexibility to play the game as they see it. Heads up rugby, trusting their instincts a bit more and playing what's on at the time. That was a crucial failing of the last regime, where players often looked stifled and constrained. Now they have a clear game-plan but also have the licence to use their own brains. It remains to be seen if all that translates to the pitch but everything seems to be heading in the right direction.

If the worst comes to the worst, I really hope the RFU don't behave like twats and that they avoid any dopey knee-jerk reactions. Hopefully it won't come to that though.

· Reply · Report

rugby08 February 03, 2012 9:07 pm

Good to see they're doing inside line again seems a tad bit more reserved than last years though...

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.