George Gregan's halfback Masterclass

Top Three Try Saving Tackles ever!

Awkward interview with 'Honey Bear'

Sky Sport NZ's Super Rugby Player Awards

New Zealand hold onto Bledisloe Cup

RWC Players to Watch: Anthony Watson

Springboks bounce back to beat Argentina

Inside the Pride, in Africa, Part 3

Super Rugby Hits of the Season 2015

Thursday, February 23, 2012

O2 Inside Line - Six Nations 2012, episode 3

One of the most anticipated Six Nations games of the season takes place this weekend as England host Wales at Twickenham with both sides currently unbeaten. We catch up with O2 Inside Line this week to see what's been going on.

England have made four changes for this game, with Manu Tuilagi coming into the midfield to join Brad Barritt, and Owen Farrell shifting over to flyhalf in the absence of injured Charlie Hodgson.

Barrit and Tuilagi, both known for the physically, may well prove the key to England halting the fire power the Welsh backs have out wide and in their centers. On today's O2 Inside Line we see Tuilagi cooking up a pancake storm with Toby Flood, who moves onto the bench.

Ben Youngs shifts to the bench after an apparent drop in form, with Lee Dickson taking up the number nine role, while Geoff Parling gets a start in front of him, with Tom Palmer being dropped.

During the week the forwards did some intensive cardio that replicated match day situations, where they were required to get up off the floor rapidly, working on their speed and agility. We can see how that went in the video, as well as the usual team banter among the players, specifically directed at new captain Chris Robshaw, who seems to be a lot busier these days. 

England team:
15 Ben Foden, 14 Chris Ashton, 13 Manu Tuilagi, 12 Brad Barritt, 11 David Strettle; 10 Owen Farrell, 9 Lee Dickson, 1 Alex Corbisiero, 2 Dylan Hartley, 3 Dan Cole, 4 Mouritz Botha, 5 Geoff Parling, 6 Tom Croft, 7 Chris Robshaw, 8 Ben Morgan
Replacements: 16 Rob Webber, 17 Matt Stevens, 18 Courtney Lawes, 19 Phil Dowson, 20 Ben Youngs, 21 Toby Flood, 22 Mike Brown

Wales team:
15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Alex Cuthbert, 13 Jonathan Davies, Jamie Roberts, 11 George North, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 1, Gethin Jenkins, 2 Ken Owens, 3 Adam Jones, 4 Alun-Wyn Jones, 5 Ian Evans, 6 Dan Lydiate, 7 Sam Warburton, 8 Toby Faletau
Replacements: 16 Richard Hibbard, 17 Paul James, 18 Ryan Jones, 19 Justin Tipuric, 20 Lloyd Williams, 21 Stephen Jones, 22 Scott Williams

To get the inside scoop on the squad, as well as fun features, match analysis and up to the minute player interviews with presenters Austin Healey and Abi Griffiths, sign up for alerts and watch O2 Inside Line on RFU TV at / #O2InsideLine

Posted by Rugbydump at 5:28 pm | View Comments (10)

Viewing 10 comments

coostov February 23, 2012 8:41 pm

My God, Manu Tuilagi is massive! He absolutely enveloped that chef when he put him in the head lock!

· Reply · Report

jumping04 February 23, 2012 8:51 pm

Austin Healy said this morning on twitter that he has never wanted England to win a match so badly since his playing days.

· Reply · Report

The Green Mafia February 24, 2012 1:20 am

This seems like a new England, rebuilding, but I'm afraid there's no stoping this Wales side, appart from France on a very good day (as things are right now).

There isn't much of a weak link from 1 to 15, is it? Deadly and huge back three, incredible centre pairing, halfbacks who can turn things around, a killer bunch of loosies and a more than respectable tight five, even with the absence of davies.

England's time will come, thing seem positive for the future, but in-three-years-time future. Can't wait for the Lions

Ps - I know this is unrelated, but Im practicly about to pee in my pants with excitement. Super XV is coming! Catch the fever!

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui February 24, 2012 3:12 am

England name Spinal Tap's David St. Hubbins to play lock?

· Reply · Report

coops February 24, 2012 11:34 am

Some good laughs in this episode. Particularly rated Cole's bemused look and answer to 'what are you doing Coley?' - "I'm putting on a sock". Also Manu strikes me as a gentle giant off the pitch, as is the case with so many Samoan players - that said, I still wouldn't suggest that he likes the Spice Girls within swinging distance!

Although (as an Englishman) I have massive respect for this Welsh team, they've only won 7 of their last 22 matches. They've played some great rugby but been the brave loser in too many matches - and now they're favourites, that's a hell of a lot of pressure to be under.

Without doubt, if the Welsh hit their stride early on, they could dominate.

But if England can at least keep within striking distance of them with 25 minutes left to play, then a bit of doubt might start to creep in to Welsh mindset. That coupled with bringing on a pumped up Lawes, a fired-up Youngs (who I think/hope will make a huge impact of the bench, to make a statement) and the attack-minded Flood, could see a suprise victory.

Welsh favourites for sure, and derservedly so, but they'll need to be on their guard.

PS - Just seen that the Welsh have more caps in their numbers 1, 3 and 4 than England do in their entire starting team. Wow.

PS x 2 Also can't wait for Super XV - Saturday mornings are going to be AWESOME again!

· Reply · Report

coops February 24, 2012 11:54 am

Oh for an edit button. Please everyone ignore my 'won 7 out of 22' claim, it's a load of rubbish. Got the stat from a normally reliable source only to double check and find out it's not true!

· Reply · Report

stroudos February 24, 2012 2:36 pm

I suspect that 7/22 stat was probably out of games against higher-ranked teams or something - along similar lines Brian Moore quotes this stat in his Telegraph column:

"For all their undoubted talent and panache, if Wales do not win at Twickenham on Saturday it will be an unpalatable fact that in their last nine games they have not beaten a single team with a higher International Rugby Board ranking.",/i>

Of course, that really ought not to be the case tomorrow....

· Reply · Report

Aiden February 24, 2012 11:08 pm

Amazing how much more relaxed the team comes across in these videos than with "the Hask" in the squad. Always got the impression in the world cup series he got on everyones tits a bit.

· Reply · Report

Pretzel February 26, 2012 7:17 pm

Considering Haskell was in New Zealand (far away from my location!), coupled with fact I avoided ANY England Cam videos (I think!).. yet still found Haskell got on my "tits" I'd imagine those anywhere near his proximity probably feel nothing short of homicidal towards his blatant faggotry!

I personally get the feeling he is a bully and would happily put down other members of the team at any opportunity to feed his own ego...

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.