Just how fast is Carlin Isles?


Ludovic Mercier crazy reverse pass


Springboks edge All Blacks in thriller


Sam Burgess breaks cheekbone, plays on


Samu Manoa Huge Hit on Billy Twelvetrees


Ben Flower red card for vicious punches


The Top 5 Schoolboy Prodigies


Southland sensational try after big bump


Streaker starts mass brawl after tackle

Friday, March 23, 2012

Friday Funnies - Touchdown!

Here is a bizarre passage of play from France's second division, Pro D2, and a game between Mont De Marsan and Pau. So much happens here that it's actually pretty difficult to explain, but as with the officials on the day, we'll give it a shot.

Mont De Marsan were on attack with just minutes left in the game, and the win secure. Pau had desperately been trying to get into the match but couldn't get their hands on the ball. 

That is until it was robbed from the opposition in what looked like an illegal fashion, so everybody stood still and waited for the referee to make a decision.

As you can see, Pau didn't wait around and the break down field occurs before someone chases back in cover, and quite possibly attempts to trip the ball carrier with his foot.

Eventually the ball gets to Samoan number eight Marlon Solofuti, who trots casually over the tryline to score what looks like the easiest of tries, but then decides that slamming the ball down Gridiron style is the best way to go.

What happens next is even more bizarre, as after consultation with an assistant referee, the try is awarded, and the game ends with boos from the crowd.

It's a true hero-to-zero, to hero, moment for Solofuti, and quite possibly one of the strangest tries ever scored, even if it actually wasn't.

Posted at 3:55 pm | 38 comments

Posted in Funnies, See it to Believe it

Viewing 38 comments

Joe March 23, 2012 9:25 pm

That's why they say play to the Whistle.

· Reply · Report

Gman March 23, 2012 9:34 pm

The number 8s 'touchdown' actually goes back, so the ball is still live anyway. His team mate strolling up actually scores the try in picking the ball up. So no arguements as to whether a try was scored or not. Should have been pulled back for various illegalities previous to that however....

· Reply · Report

TOC March 23, 2012 10:23 pm

sorry your wrong there the team mate picking the ball up wouldn't qualify a try as there must be downward pressure for a try and theres clearly no downward pressure involved in picking up a ball. Anyone whos ever played rugby would know that. Also it should not have been pulled back for any illegalities because the attacking team didnt commit any, the only foul was the last man back trying to trip with his foot and the ref would/should have played advantage anyway if he had seen it. So the only problem is the grounding of the ball

· Reply · Report

Gman March 23, 2012 10:48 pm

A player may ground the ball in one of two ways: (1) if the ball is held in the hand(s) or arm(s), merely touching the ball to the ground in-goal suffices and no downward pressure is required; (2) if the ball is on the ground in-goal, downward pressure from the hand(s), arm(s) or upper body (waist to neck) is required.

Think before posting.

· Reply · Report

TOC March 23, 2012 11:02 pm

but he did neither of these?
did you even read number 2 before posting?that is exactly this situation! the is on the ground ingoal right?so downward pressue is required. i didnt see any player do number 1 or 2?
Example: have you ever seen a fullback/last man back retrieve an opposition kick that lands inside the try area, if the the fullback wants to touch the ball down and opt for a 22 drop out he will pick the ball up just a little off the ground and touch it back down. i have never in my life seen a player just pick the ball up off the ground and the ref accept it as a grounding of the ball have you? you have to make it obvious that that is your intention. Also no need for the ignorant 'think before posting' comments i can do without the patronising.

· Reply · Report

Pretzel March 24, 2012 12:10 am

Downward pressure is no longer required.... I suppose you just need to have contact with the ball as it has contact with the ground over the try line... (with your hand/arm etc.)

· Reply · Report

Sankeor March 24, 2012 5:09 am

When did they modify the rule ??!! I didn't know that !

But for sure referees are not aware of this yet, as well as pretty much anybody in the rugby business (players, coaches, ...).
For instance few weeks ago for the 6N game England-Wales, an english try (Strettle) had been refused because there was no downward pressure....

Look at this (1:18 for the slow-mo)
http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xp2qfp_l-essai-refuse-a-strettle-contre-le-pays-de-galles_sport

· Reply · Report

Pretzel March 24, 2012 12:10 pm

No Sankeor, that try was disallowed because the TMO could not see the ball being placed OVER the try line. He ruled it as conclusive. I think if the referee had asked a different question the try might have been awarded.

I think it is possible to say that WAS a try using both camera angles and matching up where body parts were etc and different times. But I'm not sure if the TMO is allowed to do that, I think he has to see it actually happening. But then I'm not 100% on that.

The law has been like that for a little while I think, but you know the IRB laws are forever being chopped and changed, look at the tackle situations!!!

· Reply · Report

Johnny CK March 24, 2012 1:17 pm

If you are carrying the ball in your hand, like Strettle or the No8 in this clip, then you don't need downward pressure. You just need to touch the ball off the ground.

If the ball is on the ground, and you want to score a try, then you need downward pressure. So in this case, a player picking the ball up wouldn't result in a try. If the ball was already on the ground, then they would have to press down on it to score the try.

Gman has actually quoted the law perfectly above (I don't think he applied it property though)

· Reply · Report

Know it all March 31, 2012 7:44 pm

The try was allowed in the end watch the video

· Reply · Report

Knowitall April 17, 2012 2:01 pm

The try was awarded didn't you even watch it!!

· Reply · Report

Knowitall April 17, 2012 2:14 pm

The try was awarded to the number 8 gosh you people think you know it all don't you

· Reply · Report

Full Back March 24, 2012 2:37 pm

I think it just banged it to the ground, loads of downward pressure just for half a second but I don't think there's a time limit involved...unconventional, yes, illegal no. Good decision on giving the try as far as I'm concerned. Absolute idiot gesture in any case.

· Reply · Report

Knowitall April 17, 2012 2:03 pm

Ah I think your the idiot in this case mate

· Reply · Report

WillTenby March 23, 2012 9:54 pm

that is what you call "brief" downward pressure on the ball!

· Reply · Report

Fettsack March 23, 2012 10:03 pm

This is absolutely ridiculous! How can you be this stupid? Obviously not a try from the n8, maybe afterwards from a team mate but clearly not deserved.
Defence should always play to the whistle!

· Reply · Report

Tallinn April 17, 2012 2:16 pm

Stupid? I think you are because 'obviously' it was a try to the number 8 and yes we'll deserved don't hate because you wish you were a good player :(

· Reply · Report

keenbeen13 March 23, 2012 10:47 pm

Was this try/touchdown to win the game or not? I'm guessing not as no-one was chasing back.

· Reply · Report

Anarchangel March 24, 2012 3:31 am

I think this was the match: http://aquitaine.france3.fr/info/mont-de-marsan-surclasse-pau-27-16-72995139.html

So it ended 27-16 and that balls-up didn't change the result.

· Reply · Report

markymark March 23, 2012 11:14 pm

Would have been funnier if it hit him in the face!

· Reply · Report

Know it all March 31, 2012 7:49 pm

At least hes playing in France you probably just sit behind the computer scratching your ?!ss

· Reply · Report

Pretzel March 23, 2012 11:58 pm

I haven't really got any idea of what I just watched... Do we have any idea who the try was actually awarded to? I mean if it was his team mate then I can understand the reasoning.. but if it was the 8 then I have no idea why...

Also what was he thinking? Did he think the whistle went? Does he have a history of gridiron? :/

· Reply · Report

Knowitall April 17, 2012 2:05 pm

Yes he has a history of gridiron and he was awarded the try because he got the try you douche bag

· Reply · Report

Slumtown March 24, 2012 1:01 am

Shocking rugby, illegalities galore, shocking reffing and the biggest bs try ive seen in my life. Theres no place for stupid dramatics like the no 8 did in rugby. Veyr lame all round they should all be banned from rugby for life inlcuding all match officials lol. What a bunch of lamers.

· Reply · Report

Knowitall April 17, 2012 2:08 pm

Man you make me laugh obviously you have no idea what your on about go eat a burger and watch rugby on tv as that's probably all your good at lol you have no idea and you should be banned for life from commenting on things you have absolutely no idea about!!!!

· Reply · Report

breakaway2 March 24, 2012 2:11 am

From the IRB Laws website.
22.1 GROUNDING THE BALL
There are two ways a player can ground the ball:
(a) Player touches the ground with the ball. A player grounds the ball by holding the ball and touching the ground with it, in in-goal. ‘Holding’ means holding in the hand or hands, or in the arm or arms. No downward pressure is required.
(b) Player presses down on the ball. A player grounds the ball when it is on the ground in the in-goal and the player presses down on it with a hand or hands, arm or arms, or the front of the player’s body from waist to neck inclusive.

I understand (a) to mean that if the player is already holding the ball then he/she only needs to make some sort of contact between the ball and the ground, no pressure required.
But (b) says that if the ball is lying on the ground in-goal then there must be downward pressure ("the player presses down on it"). Otherwise a player would never be able to gather up a ball in-goal and run in closer to the posts.

RD alludes to the interference with the halfback right at the start of the play, which is sometimes penalised but I can't find the law relating to this. Maybe the fact that the player was still bound when he grabbed the halfback's arm, is the problem. Anybody know?
The gridiron-style "grounding" could only be sorted out by a clear slo-mo replay. I don't see how either the ref or assistant could be sure so I suppose they gave the benefit of the doubt to the attacking side.
The cover defender should also get a warning about the attempted trip but that's not a big deal.

· Reply · Report

jonnothegoat March 24, 2012 2:23 am

I think the law is to do with the offside line and interfering with the scrum half from an offside position.

· Reply · Report

jonnothegoat March 24, 2012 2:22 am

just to clarify the number 8 slams the ball forwards and it bounces backwards so is technically a knock-on anyways, so really there are no doubts on the illegitimacy of this try xx

· Reply · Report

breakaway2 March 24, 2012 4:38 am

If the ball leaves the hand just before hitting the ground then there is no "grounding". But if it leaves the hand and goes straight down then bounces back, there is no knock-on either. Pretty hard to tell from the video whether he slams it straight down or slightly forward .. if anything it looks to go sideways and then bounce backwards, which is no knock-on.

· Reply · Report

Sankeor March 24, 2012 4:55 am

I agree with you jonnothegoat, that was a knock-on.

What I don't understand is when the referee comes to speak with his assistant, he asks him if it's a try. I can't hear what the assistant says but he's saying "no" with his head... and the referee gives the try !!!

But seriously, this n°8 is not a genious... The staff in Pau is certainly wondering if they recruited a retard !

· Reply · Report

The Unit March 24, 2012 9:49 am

Sankeor, what drugs are you on? That no. 8 your talking about is easily one of the best in the league.

Whilst I agree with mostly all that was said except for the spastic above- I'm just glad it had no ill effect on the game.

· Reply · Report

Pretzel March 24, 2012 12:25 pm

I have never heard of him so I am not trying to judge or disprove your comment, BUT, if he is one of the best in the league then what was he doing here? This seems like a very amateur thing to do and looks like it is an ex-american footballer thing.. Can you shed any more light onto why he did it? or why you think? or his history...

RD did something similar to this happen in the past? I seem to recall a player slamming the ball down in similar fashion before suddenly realising what he did, I'm not sure if Nigel Owens was refereeing the match :/ if that might help narrow it down :/

· Reply · Report

kadova March 28, 2012 12:26 am

As far as i understand it, the referee asked the assistant what he saw, assistant referee said "there's downward pressure", then the referee asked "so is this a try ?", and the assistant referee said "yes", then the referee blows the whistle.
Both commentators were confused and eventually agreed to say it should be no try.
As said before, that didn't change the result.

· Reply · Report

Colombes March 26, 2012 10:23 am

ridiculous decison like many in the pro D2
the ref was too far, the assistant certainly didn't watch the action, thinking the player had grounded it..

we'renot far from amateurism here ;)

· Reply · Report

DaRabman April 03, 2012 5:51 pm

I thought that was bloody hilarious!

Such an absurd passage of play, and to no consequence. I don't think it needs reading into.

I laughed at how the ref consulted with the touch judge.
Ref: Was it a try?
TJ: No *shakes head*
Ref: *Walking backwards* A try?
*TJ Continues to shake his head*
*Ref turns around and awards a try!*

· Reply · Report

ollie April 11, 2012 9:46 am

Disgraceful rugby on all levels...

· Reply · Report

Knowitall April 17, 2012 2:11 pm

Lol your a disgrace Ollie were you at the game? Ah no I was and it was actually a great game to watch so go comment on something you know if that's possible lol

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter