Tonga experience too much for Namibia

Wallabies beat Fiji with Pocock brace

Japan edge South Africa at the death

Georgia upset Tonga with famous win

Marcos Ayerza plays for both teams

George Gregan's halfback Masterclass

All Blacks fined for waterboy Messam

HUGE hit between giant Polish forwards

Richie McCaw reveals breakdown secrets

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Mike Tindall clears out Tom May after Jimmy Cowan injury

Gloucester moved ahead of Northampton Saints on the Aviva Premiership table with a 27-11 win at Franklin's Gardens on Saturday afternoon. The win came at a cost though as the visitors lost Kiwi Jimmy Cowan to injury in the second half.

Since the game there have been quite a few requests via our Twitter and email for RD to show a clip of what happened. The requests come not so much because of the Cowan injury, but more so the manner in which Mike Tindall took care of Tom May.

As you can see below, Tindall wasn't going to leave his man alone on the floor and despite May stealing the ball, the former England captain cleared him out in no uncertain terms.

"Didn't hurt, it was definitely a big hit though ha," said May on Twitter after the game.

Cowan wasn't as spirited though and picked up a knee injury as he slipped changing direction. He hobbled off and it has since been confirmed that he will likely be out for the rest of the season.

According to a BBC report today, Cowan damaged ligaments in his knee resulting in him being out of the game for at least six months.  

"He's very positive and just wants to play. He'll do whatever he can to get back sooner than that," said Gloucester director of rugby Nigel Davies.

View a Highlights wrap from all the games in Round 14 of the Aviva Premiership

Posted by Rugbydump at 12:26 pm | View Comments (10)

Posted in See it to Believe it

Viewing 10 comments

cheyanqui February 13, 2013 5:19 pm

Tindall made as earnest an attempt to bind as Bakkies Botha would have.

Difference is that Bakkies usually comes in from the side and/or after the whistle and/or on an outside back

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Tiggsy February 13, 2013 5:27 pm

first man in, who was there to bind onto!

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

jeppy89 February 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Wow Tinds, god damn i love you

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

stroudos February 13, 2013 5:58 pm

Would not like to be on the receiving end of that! I'd say May did pretty bloody well to keep hold of the ball there!!

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

Fin February 13, 2013 8:36 pm

Tindall did not have to bind here. There was no ruck until he arrived, and therefore he formed the ruck himself. He did not join a ruck; only when a player joins a ruck do they have to bind onto a team- mate. It's common sense - no team-mate there to bind onto means no bind is required! The only technical offence he may have committed was the lack of a proper wrap, but he used his arms sufficiently to give a good impression of attempting to wrap, and so no referee would really be justified in pinging him.
Great hit.

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

Reality February 13, 2013 9:41 pm

I'd say that Tindall could be forgiven since May had just smashed into a player who had clearly injured himself, which seems like very bad sportsmanship, but the idea that he couldn't be justifiably penalised is just not the case. I actually can't believe he wasn't penalised. The only way he could have wrapped less would have been if he had kept his arms behind his back.

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

donkeyballs4000 February 14, 2013 3:13 am

He was rucking. I see nothing wrong with it. He cleared the guy out.

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

matty February 17, 2013 6:03 am

he saw his team-mate was in trouble and he produced a huge clean out, if there's one thing you can say about mike tindall is that he still is a loyal man (forgetting the new zealand antics which was nothing) great servant to the game!

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Moseley269 February 17, 2013 9:56 pm

The Flying T!!!! Beautiful clearing out of a ruck!

I feel Cowans pain having done similar myself.

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

browner February 20, 2013 2:49 am

Where was the referee's whistle ??

14.2 Players on their feet
(a) Falling over the player on the ground with the ball. A player must not intentionally fall on or over a player with the ball who is lying on the ground.

Tom May, clearly infringed, and should already have been penalised b4 Tin arrived !

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.