Lee Jones makes huge trysaving tackle


IRB Rankings Update 17 Nov 2014


Rugby's first ever OWN TRY in NRC


Emotive Guinness ads with rugby legends


Toulon DVD - En Route Vers Le Doublé


WIN the rugby tour of a lifetime with IG


Juan De Jongh vs Terry Crews dance off


Willem Alberts dancing alone in the gym


In camp with Nick Cummins & the BaaBaas

Friday, September 20, 2013

Friday Funnies - Charged down ball hits referee Andrew Small in the face

It's been a tough week for referees, and although Andrew Small didn't make any horrific decisions in the Harlequins vs Northampton Saints Aviva Premiership game, he did receive a smack in the face for getting too close to the action.

In a soaking wet game at the Stoop, Saints claimed a 13-6 victory after a try to James Wilson in the second half, and two penalties and a conversion by Stephen Myler sealed the win.

The conditions were difficult to contend with and at one stage Lee Dickson had a box-kick charged down by Tom Guest, with the ball ricocheting off his hands directly into the face of referee Small.

We've seen some great Falcons in recent times, with Wayne Barnes also taking a shot in the face not too long ago, but this was one of the more awkward ones, providing some light relief for the 11498 fans that turned out to brave the miserable conditions.

Refree Small took it well, eventually managing a wry smile despite being initially quite shaken.

Extra: View the Top 5 Falcons of All Time

Posted at 6:36 pm | 5 comments

The Top 5 Crazy Cards of All Time

Rugby HQ's Top 5 'Falcons' of All Time

The Matt Toomua Falcon against the All Blacks

Ian Keatley clearance kick hits Wayne Barnes in the face

Three refs take a tumble as they get in on the action

Posted in Funnies

Viewing 5 comments

DrG September 21, 2013 8:47 am

Looked painful, but at least it wasn't a full on ball to the conk! (and it was charged down to reduce the ouchiness...)

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui September 21, 2013 1:47 pm

What's the Law here?
Saints last possessed it (box kick)
Quins last touched / played it (charge-down)

· Reply · Report

cheyanqui September 21, 2013 1:53 pm

Under Law 6.A.9(a), it seems the scrum should have gone to the Quins, as the Quins player was the last one to "Play" the ball.


Definitions
Played: The ball is played when it is touched by a player.

6.A.9 THE BALL TOUCHING THE REFEREE
(a) If the ball or the ball carrier touches the referee and neither team gains an advantage, play continues. If either team gains an advantage in the field of play, the referee orders a scrum and the team that last played the ball has the throw-in.
(b) If either team gains an advantage in in-goal, if the ball is in possession of an attacking player the referee awards a try where the contact took place.
(c) If either team gains an advantage in in-goal, if the ball is in possession of a defending player, the referee awards a touch down where the contact took place.

· Reply · Report

WelshWizardry September 21, 2013 6:11 pm

So if, having crossed the try line, I turn around and throw the ball in the refs face, I will still be awarded a try as long as the ref was also standing in the in-goal area?

· · Reply · Report

cheyanqui September 22, 2013 1:56 pm

First, why would you do it?
Second, if a referee thought it were intentional, he could probably penalize you for "acts contrary to good sportsmanship".

· · Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter