Tony Buckley's big handoff on Simon Shaw


Mourad Boudjellal on building Toulon


Rupeni Caucau try and nice assist


Sebastien Chabal knocks out Marc Giraud


Seru Rabeni crunching tackle on McFadden


Malakai Fekitoa smashes Conrad Smith


Isa Nacewa tackle on Gareth Owen


Buck Shelford tribute


Japanese swallow dive try blooper

Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Midweek Madness - Marland Yarde recovers from cramp to score a try

London Irish flyer Marland Yarde has been in great form so far this season, with many touting him to be an England regular in the not too distant future. He's scored some good tries in the past few weeks, and one that has to be seen to be believed.

Yarde, who hails from the Caribbean, is a genuine Test rugby prospect and has his eyes set on the 2015 Rugby World Cup. He hopes to become the first St Lucia born player to represent England.

Having moved to the UK aged nine with his family, he recently spoke of how the 2003 World Cup Final in Australia inspired him to take up rugby, despite not knowing much about it.

"To be honest I didn't even know who Jonny Wilkinson was, or any of the players. It was just the sport, enjoying the whole atmosphere and how the sport was played. I found it was really exciting. That really sparked my vision to want to be part of this sport and play," Yarde said.

Having made his international debut against Argentina earlier this year, the 21-year-old hopes to add to the two tries he scored in their 51-26 second Test win. "Having just tasted international rugby I'm really hungry for more," he says. "I know the World Cup is going to be massive and being in the squad is definitely something I'd love to achieve.

"In no way do I feel like the finished article but Stuart Lancaster has made a point that age doesn't really matter. I want to do whatever I can for London Irish to put myself in the best position towards that World Cup."

If that means running in tries when suffering from injury, so be it. We saw exactly that a few weeks ago in the Aviva Premiership, as Yarde was down getting treatment for cramp but spotted an opportunity, so promptly hopped up and got into a great position in support.

It's not the first time we've seen this type of thing happen. Both Brian O'Driscoll and Kurtley Beale have done similar, which naturally brings up the question of legality, as while it's funny to see, it probably a little unfair, especially when the doctor or physio is already on the field.

Do you have any thoughts on whether a law should be in place to prevent this type of thing from happening, or is it just a freak occurence that shouldn't really be taken very seriously? Also, do you think Yarde should be an England regular by the time the Six Nations rolls around?

Posted at 12:03 pm | 43 comments

Friday Funnies - Marland Yarde try saver on Marland Yarde

Kurtley Beale back from the dead, then commentator swears

Brian O'Driscoll back from the dead, then a neat flick pass

Posted in See it to Believe it

Viewing 43 comments

Muzz September 25, 2013 4:12 pm

He's clearly offside so the ref simply got it wrong no need for any rule change surely.

· · Reply · Report

VOS September 25, 2013 4:14 pm

I don't think a try like that should be allowed, as he wasn't in the original run of play. I'm not 100% sure of all the rules, but that doesn't seem fair at all!!

· · Reply · Report

Deanoe September 25, 2013 4:40 pm

No law against it, do you not remember years ago it happening the other way round when Brian o'driscall got up from receiving physio help to make a try saving tackle?

· · Reply · Report

DrG September 25, 2013 10:54 pm

shit, gave a thumbs up by accident. Difference was BOD was behind the ruck, so technically "onside"...

· · Reply · Report

AkaRed September 25, 2013 4:42 pm

Surely he's offside from the ruck???

· · Reply · Report

Ottawa Rugger September 25, 2013 4:44 pm

I thought something was amiss when I watched this live. Sure he's definitely offside originally, but just as with the kick rule, once his team-mates have passed him, isn't he onside? After all, he doesn't take part in play until have the play has moved beyond him. He isn't obstructing anyone (and the physio isn't really either) and then he gets the pass after the ball carrier has moved in front of him...

· · Reply · Report

Skid986 September 26, 2013 8:48 am

I was once given a piece of advice by a very experienced referee assessor: "If it looks right it's probably right, and if it looks wrong it's probably wrong." This looked wrong and, offside laws aside, should probably be pinged under 10.4(m).

· · Reply · Report

I_bleed_green_and_gold September 25, 2013 4:59 pm

If he is onside from the last breakdown then Ok. I think this goes both ways in instances where a player gets up to make a tackle while "receiving treatment" . I remember Johann Goosen doing it against the AB's a while back but he got injured. In that case he was well behind the line of scrummage so fair play.
I think it can become a problem when injuries are used as strategic moves to gain advantage (this happens to some extent to stop the clock or take a breather).
Hypothetical event:
One can imagine leaving a player injured in the opposition half (close to say the 10m mark) getting "treated". Both teams are scattered around the mid field mark since there is some back and forth kicking for territory and lets say the ball is kicked out around the 5m mark. If the one team wants to take a quick line out counter attack the injured player (who never retreated but is put onside by the ball going out) could theoretically get up, tackle the player and contest the ball. That would nullify the counter attack?

· Reply · Report

Gonzoman September 25, 2013 6:32 pm

Actually, a player is NOT put onside by the kick going out. The laws list specific ways for a player to be put onside: by the opposition (oppo runs 5m with ball, oppo passes or kicks; oppo deliberately touches the ball) and by a team-mate (ball carrier runs ahead of offside player; kicker or other onside player runs ahead of offside player, offside player retreats to onside position). The ball going out does not make anyone onside.

Now assuming that none of the above actions has occurred, the off-side player must be mindful of Law 11.9 (Loitering); essentially he or she can't hang about in an offside position. Any player who loiters cannot be put onside by the action of an opposing player.

In the case of a kick to touch presented above, the injured player is off-side and loitering in a technical sense. If he or she then gets up and prevents a quick throw-in, or participates in play following a quick throw-in without being put onside by a team-mate, he or she is liable to be penalized. If a team-mate has run ahead of the injured player, then the point is moot since the injured player is then onside.

· · Reply · Report

Russ September 25, 2013 5:12 pm

Doesn't matter if he's offside, there was a forward pass in the build up to it right in front of the TJ!!

· Reply · Report

Matheus September 25, 2013 5:25 pm

Life isn't fair. So why all this "it isn't fair talk"?

He received the ball after the ball carrier passed him. He was in legal position.
Nice try.

· · Reply · Report

paimoe September 25, 2013 5:51 pm

I think most people expect sports to be fair, though

· · Reply · Report

45678 September 25, 2013 5:33 pm

the only time you can be offside in possession of the ball is by being in front of a kick. otherwise you can only be offside as a defender

· Reply · Report

Reecey September 25, 2013 5:53 pm

No, you can be offside if a teammate knocks the ball on and you pick it up having been in front of them.

However, in this instance, Yarde does not interfere with play until the teammate has passed him, and there is therefore nothing wrong with it.

This isn't offside, and is similar to a 9 passing the ball out to his backs, then tracking across field (ahead of the ball) to take the most direct route to the next breakdown. If a break is then made - he is free to support even though he was ahead of play seconds before. The presence of the ruck doesn't make a difference - you can't be offside from a ruck when in possession (unless you interfere with play by crossing/obstructing).

· · Reply · Report

Full Back September 26, 2013 8:50 am

if a teammate knocks the ball on it's a knock on obviously, offside from knock-on doesn't exist.

· Reply · Report

DrG September 26, 2013 11:59 am

If a team mate knocks on, and you are in front and pick up the ball then it's a penalty for being offside...

· Reply · Report

Matt September 26, 2013 12:01 pm

You definitely can be penalised for being off-side when your team-mate knocks on.

Doesn't happen that often, but not all that rare either. Mostly it occurs when a team is receiving a kick: the catcher knocks on, and one of his team-mates, who was standing in front of him, picks the ball up. Seen it a few times in an international match.

Often seems like quite a harsh penalty, since it's very difficult to resist your instinct telling you to play the ball when it's right next to you.

· Reply · Report

Full Back September 27, 2013 1:03 pm

No, the penalty is given for hindering the opposing team from playing advantage

· Reply · Report

Matt September 27, 2013 1:59 pm

It's covered by law 11.7 - "Offside after a knock-on"

http://www.irblaws.com/index.php?law=11.7

What you say does have some relevance, in that, in order to be penalised under this law, the person playing the ball needs to have "prevented an opponent from gaining an advantage". But, it's still definitely a penalty for offside, and not some other offence.

· · Reply · Report

45678 September 26, 2013 7:12 pm

If you knocked on, then technically you are not in possession of the ball, but you are right. I forgot the knock on

· Reply · Report

Skid986 September 25, 2013 6:02 pm

You're referring to open play laws, 4567. Yarde was offside at the breakdown and made no attempt to retire. If he had remained on the deck receiving treatment during the subsequent play it would have been fine to ignore it as not being material. The moment he joined play it became material and should have been penalised.

· · Reply · Report

Gonzoman September 25, 2013 6:39 pm

Except if Marlon Yarde had been put onside by a team-mate, which is the case in this instance.

Admittedly, he was loitering; however, this only means that he cannot be put onside through the actions of an opposing player (run 5m, pass/kick, intentionally touch the ball). Yarde can still be put onside by teammates, in this case by having the ball carrier run ahead of him.

It can be a little confusing, because he WAS off-side at the ruck and he WAS loitering. Once the ball leaves the ruck he is still off-side and still loitering, but he can be put onside by the action of a teammate.

Apart from the laws, you could argue that it isn't fair because he's already in a prime position to support the ball carrier. Of course, you could also argue that if he wasn't receiving treatment he would be running in support anyways.

Fair play to Yarde for identifying an opportunity and sucking it up enough to get up and continue.

· Reply · Report

cliff September 25, 2013 5:42 pm

If I remember correctly BO'D wasn't offside in that instance.

· Reply · Report

Canadian content September 26, 2013 4:25 am

So lets get this straight.prop struggles down the field, courageously trying to get back into the defensive line with his mates after an opposition linebreak. Suddenly his team turns the ball over and start running in his direction. According to many of u, he cannot join the play because he was offside when the opposition had the ball previously. What are props to do then? Sit on the ground searching for truffles, staying out of the way until the next scrum! No I say! Allow them to conserve energy and strategically place themselves where they believe the play will be in 5 minutes! Well played Marlande, prop in a wingers body!

· Reply · Report

Full Back September 26, 2013 8:55 am

making an effort to get back and loitering to conserve energy are two very seperate things. One is fine the other is simple off-side. You try and play behind the ball, that's rugby, strategically placing yourself around the pitch has no place in the game, it would be an absolute mess....or maybe your whole post was written in sarcasm?

If a player needs treatment he should get off the pitch unless it's a serious injury in which case play should be stopped.

· · Reply · Report

JD September 26, 2013 10:14 am

There are several issues raised by the video. First was whether Yarde was offside when the play started, second was the obvious forward pass, and third was whether as an offside player Yarde could join in and participate in the play and score the try? First answer is yes he was offside when we look at the reply, at the start of the play that ended in a try. However the ref didn't see it so it didn't happen. Law 6. Sole judge of fact and law. The forward pass was missed by all match officials so it too didn't happen. Sorry but the facts do not outweigh the consequences. Finally Yarde got up in an onside position. And followed up by taking a pass and scoring. So nothing wrong with the outcome unless you judge the first two to be at fault. While we all see later on tv that there were errors in judgement we all agree that the result is correct and all about why we play rugby, and ref rugby, rather than football or football (soccer) and hockey. No controversy other than Yarde acting like a soccer player and taking advantage when the big girl should have stayed where he was like a true rugby player should have. Can't blame him for reacting but he should have known better. The ref should have called it and decided either the offside or forward pass was the correct call. But not the try. What Game are we really playing these days? Comments welcome. JD

· Reply · Report

db September 26, 2013 2:03 pm

You lot know much more about this than myself. But to me, it looks wrong. There's a frame at the start of 0:14 that shows he clearly stands up and starts running while the ball carrier is still some 5m behind him, ie. BEFORE he is put onside.

· Reply · Report

Moom September 26, 2013 2:04 pm

The ref didn't blow his whistle, end of argument. TRY.

· Reply · Report

mike September 26, 2013 5:31 pm

The player is NOT offsides. Could he have been called for loitering sure, but he was "injured" so that would be a tough call.

The player is officially onside once his teammate runs past him and puts him onside.

The player was not affecting play while in an offside position and only rejoined once he was onside.

As soon as the ruck is over (balls out) the offside line is a moving line.

· Reply · Report

DrG September 26, 2013 7:57 pm

So if this is not offside all a team needs to do is run a bunch of players in front of a ruck and have them hang around waiting for a team mate to run past them?.... I don't think so...

· Reply · Report

katman September 26, 2013 8:05 pm

Offside or not, this should not be allowed. The defense had the move covered, until there was suddenly an extra man in play. Allow this, and you'll start to see all sorts of strategically placed "treatments" to provide the attack with more surprise options. Everything about it feels wrong.

· Reply · Report

Adman September 26, 2013 9:07 pm

I'm going to state the obvious here guys...anyone who has experienced cramps will know that you do not just get up like that and run like a machine. For a while after your muscles tweak and any stress will cramp them up again.
I recon he was receiving some council from the coach through the team physio..."fake" cramp...info gets passed on...common place in professional rugby.

· Reply · Report

Juggernauter September 27, 2013 3:16 pm

Now that's some conspiracy theory haha

· Reply · Report

Canadian content September 27, 2013 12:05 am

Ok so what if the medic doesn't attend to him and he merely takes his time to recover? Surely he's not offside?

I really don't get this argument, as has been cited by many of u before, many phases start with support players in an "offside" position. Forwards are almost always ahead of the backs in set piece, aside from restarts. So are they offside? Yes if he they keep advancing forward to chase a kick or receive a pass or pick up a knockon. But no, not of they are passed by the ball carrier. Fellas this happens about a 100 times a game?

In regards to the medic, play didn't stop to attend to yarde, a la soccer, and require him to leave the pitch. It continued. There is no law currently precluding what yarde did and I do not see it as not in the spirit of the game. In fact I see the opposite. He saw an opportunity to score, which is rare, sucked it up and took it. What coach wouldn't want that?

Maybe we need a soccer like rule. But then we will require unlimited substitutions because surely a prop who is temporarily injured does not have to permanently leave the game because a medic tends to him?

If this becomes a trend, deal with it. Otherwise....

tRY TIme!

· Reply · Report

Canadian content September 27, 2013 12:05 am

Ok so what if the medic doesn't attend to him and he merely takes his time to recover? Surely he's not offside?

I really don't get this argument, as has been cited by many of u before, many phases start with support players in an "offside" position. Forwards are almost always ahead of the backs in set piece, aside from restarts. So are they offside? Yes if he they keep advancing forward to chase a kick or receive a pass or pick up a knockon. But no, not of they are passed by the ball carrier. Fellas this happens about a 100 times a game?

In regards to the medic, play didn't stop to attend to yarde, a la soccer, and require him to leave the pitch. It continued. There is no law currently precluding what yarde did and I do not see it as not in the spirit of the game. In fact I see the opposite. He saw an opportunity to score, which is rare, sucked it up and took it. What coach wouldn't want that?

Maybe we need a soccer like rule. But then we will require unlimited substitutions because surely a prop who is temporarily injured does not have to permanently leave the game because a medic tends to him?

If this becomes a trend, deal with it. Otherwise....

tRY TIme!

· Reply · Report

DrG September 27, 2013 4:07 pm

Yes in front of the backs but involved or behind the ruck...

· Reply · Report

Colombes September 27, 2013 10:04 am

can't really say he's offside as he isn't in front of a kick in an attacking action
maybe the physio presnece on the pitch shouldn't allow players involved to get up and play the following action
be assured u will see it again in the following weeks

· Reply · Report

mrjmmlc September 27, 2013 2:37 pm

nothing wrong here.. in fact the defence had the advantadge when he was down, but still got broken. so fair play here

· Reply · Report

Juggernauter September 27, 2013 3:21 pm

Side note: Yarde should be England's wing along with Wade and Foden at FB. Sharples as back up. Get rid of Ashton.

· · Reply · Report

cheyanqui September 27, 2013 3:37 pm

Juggernauter - put Manu T. at #13. Force defenders to take him on, and throw a slip pass to Yarde or Wade.

As much as I am not a fan of England, I'd love to see those guys getting the ball at pace and with just a little room -- too often, they get junk ball.

· Reply · Report

Bish Bash Bosh September 28, 2013 2:41 pm

"He hopes to become the first St Lucia born player to represent England."

This makes it sound like he's yet to represent England, when obviously he's capped and scored two tries on debut. But yeah, him & Wade should be the regular England wings by the time the Six Nations rolls around...

· Reply · Report

Chazzle September 30, 2013 12:46 pm

On the Day

Referee let it go, good try and a piece of flair play? However, physio and player were in the way as soon as play came towards them. Ref might, quite correctly, have stopped play at this point. It happens in a blur and refs at this level get used to not stopping for treatment if possible, with physio on playing area. We can understand then that once ref let play go on the rest is history.

As an offside player Marlon can rejoin play and in the circumstances looks like he did so correctly.

A brave ref to let it go and then bring play back because of the outcome!

· Reply · Report

browner October 09, 2013 1:18 pm

The correct Law to apply is 11.8 as he was OFFSIDE AT the preceding RUCK.

"When a ruck, maul, scrum or lineout forms, a player who is offside and is retiring as required by Law remains offside even when the opposing team wins possession and the ruck, maul, scrum or lineout has ended. The player is put onside by retiring behind the applicable offside line. No other action of the offside player and no action of that player's team mates can put the offside player onside.

So there it is chaps, he CAN become onside again, BUT ONLY once he's retired behind the previous ruck offside line, and the key words are in the final sentence NO OTHER ACTION. He didn't retire, so it's goes down as a Bad 'Critical' decision.

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter