USA's thrilling Las Vegas 7s Cup Final

Romania's dangerous high tackle

Lock Geoff Parling attempts grubber!?

Chiefs win entertaining Brisbane 10s

Dan Vickerman death shocks rugby world

England get win over innovative Italy

Maybe the craziest blooper you'll see

TEN reset scrums in ten minutes!

Unprovoked punch-tackle helps Perpignan

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Southern Hemisphere power in Barbarians squad to play Fiji

The Barbarians will be coached by New Zealand's Steve Hansen when they take on Fiji at Twickenham on the 30th November. The Killik Cup match between the two sides will have nine Springboks and eight All Blacks, as confirmed earlier this week.

Jean De Villiers and Schalk Burger, the latter not currently on tour with South Africa, will offer great experience while five Pumas and one Samoan also join the 23-man squad. Hurricanes scrumhalf TJ Perenara, who is yet to play a Test for the All Blacks, will be the squads traditional uncapped player.

The match is a rematch of the famous 1970 game between the two sides, when Fiji beat the Barbarians 29-9. It also celebrates the Centenery season for the Fiji Rugby Union.

"The year 2013 marks the centenary of the game in our country and we are honoured to be invited to celebrate this landmark with another game against the famous Barbarians," said Fiji Rugby Union chief executive officer Manasa Baravilala.

"Our great victory 40-odd years ago was a major stepping stone in enhancing Fiji's profile. Now we can again showcase the best of Fijian rugby and there can be no better stage than a fixture against the Barbarians at Twickenham."

Tickets are priced at £25 to £40 for adults and £10 for kids at

Barbarians squad:
Backs – Willie le Roux (South Africa), Santiago Cordero (Argentina), Charles Piutau (New Zealand), Frank Halai (New Zealand), Jean de Villiers (South Africa), Gavin Williams (Samoa), Patrick Lambie (South Africa), Tom Taylor (New Zealand), T J Perenara (Hurricanes), Martin Landajo (Argentina)

Forwards – Keven Mealamu (New Zealand), Bismarck du Plessis (South Africa), Tendai Mtawarira (South Africa), Guillermo Roan (Argentina), Coenie Oosthuizen (South Africa), Matias Diaz (Argentina), Eben Etzebeth (South Africa), Dominic Bird (New Zealand), Manuel Carizza (Argentina), Steven Luatua (New Zealand), Luke Whitelock (New Zealand), Schalk Burger (South Africa), Duane Vermeulen (South Africa)

Coach – Steve Hansen
Assistant coach – Mark Bakewell

Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 6:36 pm | View Comments (1)

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh


{[{c.num_likes}]}👍· Reply · Report

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment