Arizona Wildcat's Haka angers fans

Ireland ease to big win over Romania

Highlights from Japan's famous win

Japan edge South Africa at the death

England finish strongly to beat Fiji

Perpignan in Mass Brawl in Pro D2

Pass Around The World with Allianz

All Blacks fined for waterboy Messam

Richie McCaw reveals breakdown secrets

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Midweek Madness - David 'Superman' Marty flying over the ruck

Perpignan captain David Marty was shown a yellow card for a bizarre bit of play during their Top 14 Round 12 clash with Toulon at the weekend. The European Champions won the game 15-9, with Jonny Wilkinson kicking all of their points.

A number of first choice players were on international duty and the match itself didn't feature too much to write home about, with Toulon only managing to score a solitary penalty when the Catalan home side were reduced to 13 men in the first half.

Centre David Marty tracked back as Toulon attacked midway through the first half, but a bit of a possible brain explosion resulted in him landing headfirst after leapfrogging a ruck.

He was told the error of his ways by Juan Smith, then penalised and yellow carded by the referee.

Perpignan picked up a losing bonus point and with Toulon unable to get an attacking bonus point, they are fortunate to top the table after that performance. They are joint top with Clermont, but take the lead due to having a superior points difference. Toulouse are one point behind.

There is a another funny version of this floating about too, featuring R Kelly... View it here

Page: 12View All

Posted by Rugbydump at 8:29 pm | View Comments (19)

Posted in See it to Believe it

Viewing 19 comments

Citing Commissioner Top Comment | November 27, 2013 9:46 pm

Pffft, I knew backs couldn't ruck but this is taking the biscuit

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

confused November 27, 2013 10:31 pm

surely the ball is out??

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

matt November 28, 2013 5:58 pm

I find it very irritating the way some refs play the ball as being out when the scrum half touches it, some when the scrum half has his hands on it, some when he has his hands on it and it is moving, and some only once the ball has passed the back feet. I don't know what the actual rule is, but with several of the interpretations I have played under in recent months this ball was out and he did nothing wrong.

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

browner December 04, 2013 1:10 am

All laws say "ball has left" the ruck maul or lineout or scrum. Hands on doesn't exist in Law, only in the interpretation of elite referees , which then feeds down to below that level eventually...... unless anyone can evidence a "hands on law"?

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

stroudos November 28, 2013 12:41 am

I just don't get it. I just cannot see what he thought he might be able to achieve with this?!? Absolutely crackers.

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

4LC4TR4Z November 29, 2013 8:03 am

Marty was just on tilt. :-D

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

stroudos November 28, 2013 1:02 am

May I draw attention to the exploits of Delon Armitage here.

Right at the beginning of the clip, we see him apparently being shot by a sniper - don't know who he is trying to kid with that comedy footballer's dive

At 0:13, just after Marty's superman, Armitage jogs in from about 10m away, seemingly just to get involved in any potential handbags.

Still rate him as a player, but so often I just get the impression he'd be more comfortable on a football pitch.

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

cheyanqui November 28, 2013 2:43 am

From my POV, Delon was shot by friendly fire (#13), his own teammate crossing his line.
But yeah, the only thing missing is Delon getting into the face of the referee.

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

DrG November 28, 2013 3:13 am

Lol as the other reply says, he was tripped by his own player lol!

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

matt November 28, 2013 10:01 am

I'm far from a fan of Armitage, but in the interest of fairness I feel I must say that at 0:20 it looks like he is actually trying to calm the situation rather than escalate it. A rare moment of maturity from him.

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Jimothy November 28, 2013 9:25 pm

Have to agree with Matt! Think he's being harshly done by here! No handbags and a few friendly pats on the back!

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

cheyanqui November 28, 2013 2:44 am

This clip is almost as ridiculous as that minor league hockey goalie, Neal Little, who went flying over the top of an all-in line fight (i.e. the "bagarre generale" of hockey).

View Video

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Rucker November 28, 2013 9:51 am

Surely he was declaring himself "onside" and then as the ball was out he dove for the tackle but midway through he decided that the ball was apparently no longer out.

In all honesty, the modern interpretation of the rules allows for the offense to aggressively dive over the ruck but harshly punishes the defense for doing so. Dead to rights, several members of the offense ought to have at least rolled away but didn't and weren't penalized.

Great clip regardless

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

matt November 28, 2013 10:01 am

I think he was very lucky not to get penalised for his tackle at 0:03

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Canadian content November 28, 2013 10:24 pm

All he needed was a tip tackle and a punch and he would have hit for the cycle!

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

AJ_Capote November 28, 2013 1:12 pm

Superman that...ball?

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Cicca November 28, 2013 1:55 pm

If ref just awardad a penalty against 6 red for entering the ruck from the side, and this would have never happened...

·   ·  Reply  ·  Report

nzbougnat November 30, 2013 3:50 am

This suggests, yet another time, that Marty was never the brightest spark around...

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

HugUBB November 30, 2013 7:37 pm

This guy is a dush, i'm french and hopefully we will not see this guy in the national team anymore. But still, with Saint André we have to be careful he could surprise us as he did many time before...

 ·  Reply  ·  Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.