Courtney Lawes crunches Charlie Hodgson


Carlos Spencer & Stephen Larkham fight


Ma'afu banned for punch on Tom Youngs


England beat Baby Boks in JWC2014 final


Eddie Butler on Jonny Wilkinson career


Tameifuna's huge hit on Michael Hooper


Tony Brown takes big hit from Pakalani


George Pisi hit makes Shane Geraghty ill


Jebb Sinclair red card for leading elbow

Monday, December 23, 2013

Strong wind blows London Irish restart kick backwards

Sale Sharks beat London Irish 15-3 in the Aviva Premiership on Friday night, and this moment pretty much summed up the evening for the Exiles. Danny Cipriani starred for Sale as he set up a try and kicked a conversion and penalty in poor conditions.

The weather played it's part with this London Irish restart, as the ball was kicked off but went straight up and backwards by a few meters. A few months back we saw a similar thing in New Zealand as wind blew a kick back way over the dead ball line.

This wasn't quite that bad, but was an amusing example of how not to play the conditions.

It was Sale's fifth league win of the season, and London Irish's eighth defeat. Things got worse for the Exiles today as news spread that James O'Connor will be moving to Toulon next season. If reports are indeed correct, he will link up with other former Wallabies Drew Mitchell and Matt Giteau.

View more strange kicks where wind played their part in the Related Posts below

Posted at 10:12 am | 9 comments

Strong winds blow ball back over the dead ball line

Referee Romain Poite caught in front of the kicker

Rotherham win with dramatic extra time wonder kick

Midweek Madness - The Dan Carter freak conversion

Felipe Contepomi Penalty blown back over!

Posted in See it to Believe it

Viewing 9 comments

Canadian content December 23, 2013 9:47 pm

What if it did go ten?

I don't it did, but what if it had?

· Reply · Report

Citing Commissioner December 24, 2013 12:14 am

Other than it being a good one to chat about in the bar afterwards, nothing happens - play on!

· Reply · Report

DrG December 25, 2013 10:45 pm

So to clarify, if it goes 10 and then blows back into your own half it's play on as normal?

· Reply · Report

suntzu December 26, 2013 8:58 am

Yes if it goes ten and then is blown back and lands before the ten meter line then the game carries on. Same thing for a kick at goal, if it goes between the posts and above the crossbar but then gets blown back the goal is valid. There is no mention of needing to touch the ground or something beyond these two lines in the law book.

· Reply · Report

DrG December 26, 2013 10:24 am

Same with a kick to touch as well I think then...

· Reply · Report

browner December 27, 2013 6:42 pm

No, if a kick crosses the plane of the Line of Touch but is blown back in-field then it's NOT in touch.....

law 19 says..... "The ball is in touch when it is not being carried by a player and it touches the touchline or anything or anyone on or beyond the touchline.

· Reply · Report

matt December 24, 2013 1:53 pm

It did look close though

· Reply · Report

4LC4TR4Z December 26, 2013 8:05 am

It reminds me one the 1st France tour to New Zealand, in the 50's or early 60's.
I think that was the poor Pierre Albaladejo who tried to kick off and penalties face to a hurricane, blowing the ball 50 - 60 meters on his back.

It's a shame Waynes Barnes was not born then.

· Reply · Report

Guest December 26, 2013 7:04 pm

It's a shame Wayne Barnes was born at all!

· Reply · Report

Commenting as Guest | Register or Login

All comments are moderated and will be removed immediately if offensive.
 
Site Meter