Wednesday, January 04, 2017
Today on our social channels we shared a classic photo of a referee being accidentally tackled by Scotland scrumhalf Mike Blair, way back in 2006. With that in mind, here is a more recent clip from a few weeks back, with a referee being on the other side of it, as he comically tripped a goalkicker.
We usually see referees on the wrong side of a physical contest, rarely deliberately, but it's not very often that you'll see an official knock over a player.
It happened to flyhalf Laurence May during the Doncaster vs Cornish Pirates match though, as he stepped back to prepare for a kick at goal, but caught the heel of the official and swiftly ended up on his rear end, much to the amusement of the crowd.
As Dewi Morris said in commentary, good thing there was no injury from it!
The aforementioned classic photo from ten years ago is below, plus Blair's comment today:
Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily
Posted in See it to Believe it