B&I Lions bounce back vs Maoris


Schalk Brits brilliance for Saracens


Steven Luatua receives straight red card


Ardie Savea massive hit vs Brumbies


Anthony Tuitavake RED: reckless spear


David Halaifonua destroys Cory Allen!


Residency laws changed by 2020


Beauden Barrett Tribute Montage


Lopez helps France to edge Scotland

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Tomas Lavanini off the hook after grass cutter tackle and deliberate slap down

Giant Argentina lock Tomas Lavanini will be free to play in the next round of the Rugby Championship after a SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee accepted his guilty plea after he received two yellow cards against South Africa on Saturday. 

The 2.01m second-rower has a growing reputation as being a physical presence, as seen again in Salta. This time he was first yellow carded for what is often called a grass cutter tackle, when no arms are used and a player dives into the ball carrier's shins.

Despite Lavanini appearing to make a slight effort with his left arm, the referee and TMO eventually decided that yellow was correct. A deliberate slap down later in the game meant that a second yellow card resulted in a sending off.

The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee of Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Stefan Terblanche and John Langford assessed the case. In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following:

"With respect to sanction the Foul Play Review Committee ruled, after considering a number of factors, including the fact that the second Yellow Card was not for a foul play offence, the effect of the Red Card both on the match and on the Player's team, and the Player being off the field for a total of some 35 minutes, that the Player’s ordering off was sufficient in itself and that no further sanction was appropriate in these particular circumstances. The player is therefore free to play and will serve no additional suspension"

The dangerous tackle can be seen here.

With South Africa almost certain to score a try with an overlap out wide, this deliberate slapdown was seen as a professional foul, giving the referee little option but to show yellow, and then red.

credit: sanzaar

Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 3:26 pm | View Comments (5)

Posted in Big Hits & Dirty Play

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh

Loading...

{[{c.num_likes}]}b· Reply · Report

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment