Arnold walks after dangerous high shot

James Lowe dominates Simon Zebo for try

Dan Norton burns Carlin Isles in London

Try of the Year candidates for Test year

Harlequins mic up Team Manager

4 much talked about Super Rugby bans

Three sensational tries in U20 champs

5 hits biggest of Super Rugby 2018

Vainikolo stars in MLR's Try of the Week

Thursday, February 15, 2018

New and improved Super Rugby format explained ahead of opening weekend

The much anticipated new look Super Rugby season kicks off in Cape Town on Saturday, as 2018 sees a reduction in the tournament from 18 teams back down to 15. In round one, the Stormers host the Jaguares and the Lions host the Sharks. 

The new format of the tournament is likely to cause some confusion, so the video below explains exactly how the competition is laid out, giving fans a better understanding of what to expect.

While the tournament features the best domestic teams from South Africa, New Zealand, Australia, Argentina and Japan, matches will be hosted in seven different countries this year, and 19 different cities.

Suva in Fiji will host a New Zealand derby match when the Highlanders play the Chiefs in June, while in Asia the Sunwolves will play matches at Prince Chichibu Memorial Stadium in Tokyo plus the Singapore National Stadium.

"It is great to actually kick-off and have Super Rugby action back on the rugby field following the re-structure of the tournament last year," said SANZAAR CEO Andy Marinos.

"The focus is very much on South Africa this weekend with two matches in the South African Conference. Then in week two of Super Rugby we will see some further great action with two New Zealand derbies and an Australian derby as the Australian and New Zealand Conferences begin their campaigns."

At the completion of the 120-match regular season eight teams will qualify for the finals series and will be given a seeding of 1 to 8 for the quarter-finals. The three conference winners will be seeded 1 to 3 based on final tournament points and will host quarter-finals.

Seeds 4 to 8 will be the five non-Conference winning teams with the next best number of Super Rugby competition points regardless of Conference. Seed 4 will host the remaining quarter-final.


Sat 17 February: Stormers v Jaguares - DHL Newlands, Cape Town (15:05 local)
Sat 17 February: Lions v Sharks - Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg (17:15 local)

The New Zealand and Australian Conferences start their campaigns in Week 2.


Don't miss out on rugby's biggest stories and most
popular videos with the new Rugbydump Daily

Posted by Rugbydump at 1:01 pm | View Comments (6)

No Comments

Viewing {[{ comments.length }]} Comments Refresh


{[{c.num_likes}]}👍· Reply · Report

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment

Register or Login to share your thoughts as a comment