Viewing comments for Gonzoman« back to profile

Referee decisions in spotlight as New Zealand prove too good for England

Vagrant, there was no "double-movement" for Cruden's try. Law 15.5 (c) specifically states that "a tackled player may release the ball by putting it on the ground in any direction, provided this is done immediately."

While the definition of "immediately" can be debated, in this case it is pretty clear that Cruden's first action after landing and stopping is to reach out and ground the ball on the line. That, in combination with the fact that there was no English player attempting to compete with the ball means that his actions have not contravened the law quoted above, nor have they prevented an opposing player from attempting to play the ball. The decision was correct: try awarded, and no need to check with the TMO.

1 Week, 5 Days ago

Otago score unbelievable set piece try in opening round of ITM Cup

I had to watch that a half dozen times to figure out what the heck happened! Great set piece.

3 Months, 3 Days ago

Chris Ashton shouts 'push it' as Nick Evans attempts conversion kick

He's a thug. Nothing clever about him!

6 Months, 3 Days ago

Chris Ashton shouts 'push it' as Nick Evans attempts conversion kick

I think the big difference between a charge and a shout is that one requires some effort and athletic ability, and the other requires nothing but a pair of lungs and a set of vocal chords.

6 Months, 4 Days ago

Chris Ashton shouts 'push it' as Nick Evans attempts conversion kick

Dear guest: before attempting what you described in the above post, please allow me to save you from looking a proper twat next time you attempt a conversion.

Once the kicker starts his run up, players may charge; the players may continue to charge even if the kicker stops. The charging players can actually pick up the ball to prevent the kick, so while you're out there congratulating yourself on how clever you are some cheeky kick-charger will pinch the pill right off the tee (follow link for example).
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gk8oC__AkpE

View Video

6 Months, 4 Days ago

Niko Matawalu beats Stuart Hogg in footrace to deny him a hat-trick

Nah, if I were chasing a ball and one of my mates tried to wave me off because he wanted a hat trick I'd score, then tell him he should have been faster. By the same token, if I was running in untouched and a mate was beside me calling for the ball so he could complete his hat trick you can bet your britches I'd hold on to the ball and score myself.

6 Months, 1 Week ago

Outcry as Florian Fritz returns to play after severe knock to head

I might be making this up, but can a team not take the 10 minutes for a blood sub, then ask for an additional 5 for the concussion protocols? I know that in cases were there is a suspected concussion teams/referees can have the player temporarily replaces for 5 minutes to assess their condition. I don't recall anything in the rules that you can't take both a blood sub and a head check...

6 Months, 1 Week ago

Outcry as Florian Fritz returns to play after severe knock to head

To be fair, Ricardo said the pressure "could" be great enough that Fritz might die if he took another similar shot to the head.

In this he is correct - Second Impact Syndrome (SIS) has been documented in numerous research papers, and occurs when the brain is concussed while still suffering symptoms from a prior concussion. It is fatal nearly 50% of the time. Even more shocking is that it has a morbidity rate of almost 100%, meaning that nearly all people who suffer from SIS become disabled or die. Treatment for SIS requires immediate intervention including the hyperventilation of the victim, and the use of osmotic agents to reduce the pressure within the skull but recovery is unlikely.

6 Months, 1 Week ago

Midweek Madness - Marland Yarde recovers from cramp to score a try

Except if Marlon Yarde had been put onside by a team-mate, which is the case in this instance.

Admittedly, he was loitering; however, this only means that he cannot be put onside through the actions of an opposing player (run 5m, pass/kick, intentionally touch the ball). Yarde can still be put onside by teammates, in this case by having the ball carrier run ahead of him.

It can be a little confusing, because he WAS off-side at the ruck and he WAS loitering. Once the ball leaves the ruck he is still off-side and still loitering, but he can be put onside by the action of a teammate.

Apart from the laws, you could argue that it isn't fair because he's already in a prime position to support the ball carrier. Of course, you could also argue that if he wasn't receiving treatment he would be running in support anyways.

Fair play to Yarde for identifying an opportunity and sucking it up enough to get up and continue.

1 Year, 1 Month ago

Midweek Madness - Marland Yarde recovers from cramp to score a try

Actually, a player is NOT put onside by the kick going out. The laws list specific ways for a player to be put onside: by the opposition (oppo runs 5m with ball, oppo passes or kicks; oppo deliberately touches the ball) and by a team-mate (ball carrier runs ahead of offside player; kicker or other onside player runs ahead of offside player, offside player retreats to onside position). The ball going out does not make anyone onside.

Now assuming that none of the above actions has occurred, the off-side player must be mindful of Law 11.9 (Loitering); essentially he or she can't hang about in an offside position. Any player who loiters cannot be put onside by the action of an opposing player.

In the case of a kick to touch presented above, the injured player is off-side and loitering in a technical sense. If he or she then gets up and prevents a quick throw-in, or participates in play following a quick throw-in without being put onside by a team-mate, he or she is liable to be penalized. If a team-mate has run ahead of the injured player, then the point is moot since the injured player is then onside.

1 Year, 1 Month ago

 
Site Meter