Viewing comments for MattyP« back to profile

Huge hit on Samoa's Uale Mai at the Las Vegas Sevens

A spear tackle requires the tackler to lift.

That was an awesome hit - but then again, hospital passes do tend to set up hits like that..

2 Years, 2 Months ago

Jean-Pierre Perez loses the plot against Montpellier

Que? Slow it down. He jumps into him with a hip and shoulder after the kick has been made. He never intended to pull out. Clear late, high, no arms tackle = lucky not to get a red card for mine.

Hate the diving though.

2 Years, 2 Months ago

Wales looking strong after solid win over Scotland

haha. Can't think of any of the top of my head, but yes there have been instances when TMO have made rulings strictly in accordance with the laws and accompanying protocols. Usually leads to a little storm in a tea cup.

2 Years, 2 Months ago

Wales looking strong after solid win over Scotland

If whether a team was up in arms about it was the determinant factor, we wouldn't need referees! Seriously, which player was actually in a position to really know?

2 Years, 2 Months ago

Wales looking strong after solid win over Scotland

What? That try didn't change diddly squat. They scored from the next possession! I don't necessarily disagree that some decisions close to the line should be up for review, but stick to the facts in making your point!

2 Years, 2 Months ago

Wales looking strong after solid win over Scotland

Nope. Remember the furore last year over George Clancy's decision to disallow a try due to a forward pass which the TMO referred to, but shouldn't have? Exactly the same situation.

Here's the relevant IRB law:

6.A.6 REFEREE CONSULTING WITH OTHERS
(a) The referee may consult with assistant referees in regard to matters relating to their duties, the Law relating to foul play or timekeeping and may request assistance related to other aspects of the refereeā€™s duties including the adjudication of offside.

(b) A match organiser may appoint an official who uses technological devices. If the referee is unsure when making a decision in in-goal involving a try being scored or a touch down, that official may be consulted.
The official may be consulted if the referee is unsure when making a decision in in-goal with regard to the scoring of a try or a touch down when foul play in in-goal may have been involved.
The official may be consulted in relation to the success or otherwise of kicks at goal."

The protocols go into it more indepth, but the upshot is that it clearly only allows the referee to refer to the TMO in relation to acts in the in-goal area. Whether it is "in the act of scoring" is not relevant. (Although again, query whether it should be in situations such as this.)

2 Years, 2 Months ago

No date confirmed yet for postponed Six Nations game

Yeah I loved seeing Harryordinary and Heaslip fixing where they were going for a drink later. That would be a big night on the town!

2 Years, 2 Months ago

Wales looking strong after solid win over Scotland

Those of you saying the ref should have gone to the TMO - surely you know by now that the TMO (under current laws and regs) is not entitled to comment on events outside the ingoal area? (Whether they SHOULD be able to is a different question.)

2 Years, 2 Months ago

 
Site Meter