Viewing comments for Pipo« back to profile

South Africa stun Scotland with eight-try romp in Port Elizabeth

I remember at least for RWC 2011 the four group leaders were chosen for being the first 4 in the rankings at some specific point (NZ, RSA, AUS, ARG). It was the same for England 2015 (the same but replace ARG with FRA).

In any case, it is idiotic that the first and second ranked teams don't get a shot at facing each other at the final if they win all their games. To borrow from DrG: the IRB using their brains...

3 Weeks, 3 Days ago

South Africa maintain home record with dramatic last ditch win over Wales

I'm biased 'cause I idolize the magician but to me Hernandez' tackle on Tuilagi (http://www.rugbydump.com/2007/04/95/juan-martin-hernandez-huge-covering-tackle-on-alesana-tuilagi) doesn't look illegal. He seems to attempt (and that is all that is required by the laws if I am not mistaken) to wrap his arms. You can see his left hand in front of Tuilagi and his right one on the back, it's just that the hit was so solid they both bounce off.

Oh, and yes! It was Kearney on Rocky Elsom, thanks for that. Here's the video (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhS1kgZMyzo) that clearly shows he made no attempt to wrap.

1 Month, 9 Hours ago

South Africa maintain home record with dramatic last ditch win over Wales

yes!!! I'm not sure when but Irish fullback Kearney did it to an Aussie some time ago. I also remember Shanklin (Welsh) doing it to yet another Aussie years ago even as a try (Wallaby try that is) was being scored. Both instances went unpunished.

There are plenty more examples, they just don't come to mind right now. I was so glad to see this finally getting penalized, as it should be.

1 Month, 1 Day ago

South Africa maintain home record with dramatic last ditch win over Wales

I was watching the game with Spanish commentary and the Argentines noticed that actually the Welsh 7 (don't know his name, it wasn't Tipuric or Warburton) could also have received a yellow when Biggar was given one.

Anyone that takes an honest look at the video can see it for him/herself. Number 7 ignores the maul and attempts to tackle the ball carrier. Just a couple seconds later Biggar comes in and throws himself to the ground in a very obvious manner.

All this after the referee told the Welsh to stop bringing the maul down illegally twice if my memory doesn't fail me. I love the current Welsh team, North is awesome, Roberts and Davies make one of the greatest centres pairings, power and guile there, Halfpenny converts almost every kick and is the living embodiment that rugby is a game for all sizes, but this was a clear yellow and penalty try.

1 Month, 1 Day ago

Australia complete clean sweep against France with Sydney win

I don't like swan dives, period. Doesn't matter if Hooper or Ashton does it. Difference is Hooper did it this weekend and Ashton does it every time, even when scoring tries that mean nothing as his team is still loosing (like very recently against the ABs, much like Shane Williams who in his final game celebrated his final try like if his team had won the game when in reality the Aussies beat them with ease).

Also, Hooper is a forward and Ashton is a back, worse of all a winger, so... :)

1 Month, 2 Days ago

Scotland snatch win with late penalty against Argentina in Cordoba

3 consecutive losses for the Pumas. I really hope they step up for the Rugby Championship or they are gonna get their asses kicked ; (

1 Month, 3 Days ago

Jebb Sinclair controversially red carded for 'leading with the elbow'

oh, and btw, I have refereed a few times. I don't like it and I suck at it : )

since I've tried it I know it's easy to make mistakes. All I would be happy with is the IRB and the ref coming out and saying the red was wrong and it is erased from records. Like when last year Bismarck du Plessis got a first yellow card just for tackling Dan Carter hard and legally.

Actually, someone here posted that the IRB did just that. Would be nice if someone had link.

1 Month, 1 Week ago

Jebb Sinclair controversially red carded for 'leading with the elbow'

I'm not an expert either. But the picture is not 1/10 before the crash, the picture is right at the moment of impact. Again, scroll up and take a look.

I have been watching the video several times and yes the elbow does go up and forward AFTER impact, since I'm not an expert I don't know if this is still technically "leading", but it sure as hell is not in plain English. To me, his whole arm goes forward after contact because that's what happens when you flatten a smaller guy who sadly tried tackling you with his face. He brushes him off, he does not lead with the elbow.

1 Month, 1 Week ago

Jebb Sinclair controversially red carded for 'leading with the elbow'

Come on, Guy. Just look at the picture at the top of this article, right at the moment of impact. Take a look, I'll wait.

Now, is the elbow LEADING? Is the elbow in front of the ball carrier? Is the elbow in front of his shoulder? Is the elbow, the pointy part, that is the elbow, even directly hitting the Scottish player's face? Just look at the picture on top... No is the answer to all these questions.

1 Month, 1 Week ago

Jebb Sinclair controversially red carded for 'leading with the elbow'

shut up and take my money, Rugbydump! : D

1 Month, 1 Week ago

 
Site Meter