Viewing comments for Skid986« back to profile

Bryan Habana issues apology for taking a dive in Heineken Cup Final

Was the pen reversed for the dive?

2 Months, 2 Days ago

Chris Ashton shouts 'push it' as Nick Evans attempts conversion kick

It should have been nothing more than a penalty from the restart and a clip round the head from his skipper for putting the team on the back foot.

2 Months, 1 Week ago

Midweek Madness - Marland Yarde recovers from cramp to score a try

I was once given a piece of advice by a very experienced referee assessor: "If it looks right it's probably right, and if it looks wrong it's probably wrong." This looked wrong and, offside laws aside, should probably be pinged under 10.4(m).

10 Months, 1 Day ago

Midweek Madness - Marland Yarde recovers from cramp to score a try

You're referring to open play laws, 4567. Yarde was offside at the breakdown and made no attempt to retire. If he had remained on the deck receiving treatment during the subsequent play it would have been fine to ignore it as not being material. The moment he joined play it became material and should have been penalised.

10 Months, 1 Day ago

Gavin Henson knocked out by punch from new Bath team-mate

Is anybody surprised, I wonder?

1 Year, 2 Weeks ago

Midweek Madness - Richie McCaw's over the top ball steal

Urban myth alert! Urban myth alert! There is no requirement for arriving players to allow a 'grounded' ball gatherer to get to his feet. A player off his feet is out of the game and must either stand or release the ball immediately. Arriving player is permitted to compete for the ball but is not permitted to go off HIS feet. There is no obligation to allow grounded player up off the deck.

1 Year, 1 Month ago

Eben Etzebeth in hot water after making contact with Greig Laidlaw's eyes

Deliberate hand (which obviously includes fingers) to face contact IS permitted in law: ie, hand-off. Dangerous play is not. This was not dangerous play, but citing was right and supported as it allows player to be cleared of any accusations. No issue here. Move along please.

1 Year, 8 Months ago

All Black Adam Thomson's boot on Alasdair Strokosch's head

Laying all over the ball or not, that's no excuse for studs to the back of somebody's head. It was deliberate and Strokosh was in no position to defend or protect himself. Even more shameful for an AB is that he did it to the back of his head, therefore effectively 'in the back', so showed his cowardice as well. 70s tache - 70s play. Retrospective red card and a ban are in order.

1 Year, 8 Months ago

 
Site Meter