OK, I'll take the bait. You say that McCaw was at least 2m from the lineout, and the law in fact says that he must be 2m away… so no problem there. The timing thing is very marginal and lineouts cannot be, and never are refereed within such fractional margins. I have no doubt that if SA had scored, then the try would also have been awarded and correctly so, in my opinion. »
The RD video is down at the moment, but it's up elsewhere. It's clear that McCaw is the required distance from the lineout; 2m is not far, just slightly more than his own height. And, according to law 19.9, the lineout begins as soon as the ball leaves the thrower's hand. I see no clear evidence that McCaw jumps the gun. I'm glad you're not a TMO, Steve.
Well that's strange. RD have changed the video since I posted and the new one doesn't even show the second Pumas try. So my time reference means nothing. But whiteafrican's YouTube link tells the story.