Viewing comments for cheyanqui« back to profile

Midweek Madness - Ben John scores a bizarre Ospreys try

KJW -- spot on, sorry I duplicated your point below.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Midweek Madness - Ben John scores a bizarre Ospreys try

Wrong on so many counts:

1st) LAW 19.2 -- QUICK THROW-IN -- (b) For a quick throw-in, the player may be anywhere outside the field of play between the place where the ball went into touch and the player’s GOAL LINE.
<< Quick throw was taken between the goal line and the dead ball line, so not a valid lineout throw. Should be whistled, and then either make Treviso take a proper, set lineout, or ping them under 19.7 (Incorrect throw in), and give Ospreys choice of scrum or lineout>>

2nd) Law 22.4(g) Player in touch or touch-in-goal. If an attacking player is in touch or in touch-in-goal, the player can score a try by grounding the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not carrying the ball.
<< The correct interpretation of this Law is that if ball is already on the ground in-goal, the player in touch can simply ground it. But if the ball is in the air, it does not apply, as the player spends some moment of time “carrying” the ball, in touch. As he was already in touch when he played it, you look to the fact Treviso last played the ball. The ball left the goal area, so it should be lineout 5m to Ospreys>>

3rd) Game mgmt. – the referee simply asked the TMO, “Try yes or no”.
<>

1 Year, 4 Months ago

The Force upset the Crusaders with big defence amidst crowd control problems

Unfortunately, nuance is generally lost on youth.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

it's clear at 0:44 that the ball is still in the grip of his hand. and for those that think the strike was ok -- he actually strikes Kearney's head FIRST.
Kearney does not actually release the ball until he was KTFO.

So through either fact pattern, POC arrives at the same sanction:

1. Kearney releases the ball because he was KTFO by POC, and then POC's own follow subsequently makes contact with the ball. because he struck a player first -- PK -- and red card -- against Munster.
OR
2. POC wanted the ball to be presented to him by a player who did not immediately release it to him. PK against Leinster for not releasing the ball. PK reversal -- and red card -- for POC taking the law into his own hands.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

To me, the hit in the air was a little clumsy -- #15 was going for the ball, but then stopped. Could have been penalized, but I could have just as easily seen that as play on.

But I think that was the red herring that distracted Owens and the ARs. Maybe they thought he was knocked out by the hit, and/or the players were yelling about that.

But looking at the PRO12 rules on their website, it seems they cannot go to the TMO for foul play. Is that right?

http://www.rabodirectpro12.com/statzone/competition_rules.php

What a crazy-quilt of rules we have across competitions -- H-Cup has foul play TMO, but Amlin doesn't?

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

Facepalm,

I guess my point was that it's one thing for both players trying to gain possession (think of a "50-50 ball" if you will), and one dives for it head first, while another goes to kick it.

If that were the case, I might say “bad luck”.

But in this case, Kearney clearly held the ball, and was placing it down to release it.

He shouldn't expect to get kicked in the head.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

Tom,
Kearney gathered the ball and had control of it.
He was bumped in the air, and fell to ground, and was in the process of placing it.
No tackler held him, so not a tackle.
No players from opposing teams formed around him, so no ruck formed.
No Munster player came over the top and try and strip it, so no obligation for Kearney to release the ball
Per Law 14.1(a) – a player on the ground must immediate do one of three things – get up, pass the ball, release the ball. Kearney was clearly in the process of doing so, so I don’t think he was infringing.

The way I see it,
Kearney was complying with the law.
POC violated 10.4(c) – “A player must not kick an opponent”

So maybe my use of the term “possession” is a little imprecise (it is defined in the IRB Laws of the Game as a player “… carrying the ball”). But I generally have a pretty decent grasp of the law.

As for my “troll” – it was simply a comment about the habits of certain pro players who always get in the ears of the ref on every single play—almost emulating footballers.

My troll was not directed at the comments made by any previous posters.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

Absolute hor$e$h!t to not get cited.

Making contact with a player's head, "Outcome" should trump "intent". Kicking at a ball that is still CLEARLY IN POSSESSION of the ball carrier (under his arm and placing it) is a questionable act -- and if the outcome results in a head injury -- should have gotten the book.

Now for my troll -- imagine how quickly POC (and all the other Munster loudmouths who don't wear captain's armbands) would have been in the ear of the referee if it happened to his team. At least he did look concerned for the guy.


1 Year, 4 Months ago

Stade Francais' Jerome Fillol spits in Peter Stringer's face

Sure the head of the IRB is calling for 52 weeks..

But "remorse" usually gets a few weeks shaved off.

And in the IRB world, you can show remorse by being sorry you got caught, it doesn't seem that you actually have to be sorry for what you did.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

Stade Francais' Jerome Fillol spits in Peter Stringer's face

I miss the old days, where if this was missed, the two captains and the ref would have huddled together and either the ref or the Bath captain would have said to Parisse:

"Sergio. We know something happened, and something got missed. In the interest of the game, and your players' safety, I strong suggest that #9 may have injured himself (i.e. before tactical subs, you could only sub injuries) at the next stoppage of play.

I would hate to be looking the other way at the next breakdown, and see you #9 come out of it with his back looking like a meat grinder crossed over it. But I only have two eyes to watch 30 players. I just might not see something. After all, I may have just missedd something now.

1 Year, 4 Months ago

 
Site Meter