Viewing comments for cheyanqui« back to profile

Brian O'Driscoll dumped off the ball by Mauro Bergamasco

I ran my IRB Excel model, and got the following:
IF: NZL>IRE, then WEEKS=0
IF: ITA

1 Year, 11 Hours ago

Amazing end-to-end passage of play results in try for Suburbs vs Grammar-Carlton

Great example of the game.

Goes to show just how deep the skill level is in places like NZ -- from the outside, it looks like some casual, weekend match under / near some power lines with guys standing on the sideline with their dog -- but up close, there is magic.

Also, good bit of sportsmanship from #17 -- realizes how both teams gave it their all, and the other team was just lucky enough to finish the play off.

1 Year, 4 Days ago

Midweek Madness - Ben John scores a bizarre Ospreys try

the other similar application:

when your opponent has kicked the ball into your in-goal and it's approaching the dead ball line.

if you are in touch (with a leg, let's say) and ground it directly, it's a 22m dropout.

if you catch it in the air whilst in touch, it's a 22m dropout or scrum at the kick

I've seen on TV several occasions where a defender stood in touch and grounded the ball, only to find out it was still a 22m.


1 Year, 5 Days ago

Midweek Madness - Ben John scores a bizarre Ospreys try

KJW -- spot on, sorry I duplicated your point below.

1 Year, 6 Days ago

Midweek Madness - Ben John scores a bizarre Ospreys try

Wrong on so many counts:

1st) LAW 19.2 -- QUICK THROW-IN -- (b) For a quick throw-in, the player may be anywhere outside the field of play between the place where the ball went into touch and the player’s GOAL LINE.
<< Quick throw was taken between the goal line and the dead ball line, so not a valid lineout throw. Should be whistled, and then either make Treviso take a proper, set lineout, or ping them under 19.7 (Incorrect throw in), and give Ospreys choice of scrum or lineout>>

2nd) Law 22.4(g) Player in touch or touch-in-goal. If an attacking player is in touch or in touch-in-goal, the player can score a try by grounding the ball in the opponents’ in-goal provided the player is not carrying the ball.
<< The correct interpretation of this Law is that if ball is already on the ground in-goal, the player in touch can simply ground it. But if the ball is in the air, it does not apply, as the player spends some moment of time “carrying” the ball, in touch. As he was already in touch when he played it, you look to the fact Treviso last played the ball. The ball left the goal area, so it should be lineout 5m to Ospreys>>

3rd) Game mgmt. – the referee simply asked the TMO, “Try yes or no”.
<>

1 Year, 6 Days ago

The Force upset the Crusaders with big defence amidst crowd control problems

Unfortunately, nuance is generally lost on youth.

1 Year, 6 Days ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

it's clear at 0:44 that the ball is still in the grip of his hand. and for those that think the strike was ok -- he actually strikes Kearney's head FIRST.
Kearney does not actually release the ball until he was KTFO.

So through either fact pattern, POC arrives at the same sanction:

1. Kearney releases the ball because he was KTFO by POC, and then POC's own follow subsequently makes contact with the ball. because he struck a player first -- PK -- and red card -- against Munster.
OR
2. POC wanted the ball to be presented to him by a player who did not immediately release it to him. PK against Leinster for not releasing the ball. PK reversal -- and red card -- for POC taking the law into his own hands.

1 Year, 1 Week ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

To me, the hit in the air was a little clumsy -- #15 was going for the ball, but then stopped. Could have been penalized, but I could have just as easily seen that as play on.

But I think that was the red herring that distracted Owens and the ARs. Maybe they thought he was knocked out by the hit, and/or the players were yelling about that.

But looking at the PRO12 rules on their website, it seems they cannot go to the TMO for foul play. Is that right?

http://www.rabodirectpro12.com/statzone/competition_rules.php

What a crazy-quilt of rules we have across competitions -- H-Cup has foul play TMO, but Amlin doesn't?

1 Year, 1 Week ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

Facepalm,

I guess my point was that it's one thing for both players trying to gain possession (think of a "50-50 ball" if you will), and one dives for it head first, while another goes to kick it.

If that were the case, I might say “bad luck”.

But in this case, Kearney clearly held the ball, and was placing it down to release it.

He shouldn't expect to get kicked in the head.

1 Year, 1 Week ago

Paul O'Connell knocks out Dave Kearney with clumsy kick to the head

Tom,
Kearney gathered the ball and had control of it.
He was bumped in the air, and fell to ground, and was in the process of placing it.
No tackler held him, so not a tackle.
No players from opposing teams formed around him, so no ruck formed.
No Munster player came over the top and try and strip it, so no obligation for Kearney to release the ball
Per Law 14.1(a) – a player on the ground must immediate do one of three things – get up, pass the ball, release the ball. Kearney was clearly in the process of doing so, so I don’t think he was infringing.

The way I see it,
Kearney was complying with the law.
POC violated 10.4(c) – “A player must not kick an opponent”

So maybe my use of the term “possession” is a little imprecise (it is defined in the IRB Laws of the Game as a player “… carrying the ball”). But I generally have a pretty decent grasp of the law.

As for my “troll” – it was simply a comment about the habits of certain pro players who always get in the ears of the ref on every single play—almost emulating footballers.

My troll was not directed at the comments made by any previous posters.

1 Year, 1 Week ago

 
Site Meter