Viewing comments for katman« back to profile

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

Definitely goes forward. Only question: is it from Laidlaw's hand or from Denton's foot. Looks like Laidlaw's hand, but there would have been at least two other TV angles available had they wanted to check. Which they didn't, so try stands. Scotland wins. Japan goes home. Scotland plays in QF. The luck of the bounce, rub of the green etc. etc. On another day, this would have been spotted and called as a knock on. You take your lucky breaks when they are on offer. I guess this is what Australia did on the weekend. Not all that different.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

World Rugby seem to be a bunch of spineless cowards. "After watching the incident in slo-mo from several angles for several hours, we can confirm that the referee got it completely wrong in real time on the field."

What kind of boss does this?

7 Months, 1 Week ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

This try put Scotland into the QF and effectively knocked Japan out. And at 7 seconds Laidlaw knocks the ball on while trying to pick it up. No TMO referral. Try stands. Sayonara Japan.

No whingeing about the ref from either Samoa or Japan though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxU_SjPegag

View Video

7 Months, 1 Week ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

Accidental offside was what happened earlier, when a kick bounced forward off Nell and was then handled by a Scottish player. But in this case, the first Scottish player didn't accidentally handle the ball. So there was no reason to award an "accidental offside" scrum. If Joubert believed the ball had come from Scotsman to Scotsman (as he clearly did) then the only result is a penalty.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

World Rugby CEO confirms full investigation into Craig Joubert behaviour will take place

They were only in the quarter final because of a "serious error of judgement" in the dying moments of the Samoa game. Clear knock on not called in the Laidlaw try, and also not referred to the TMO. So pipe down.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

So after getting into the QF thanks to a try that shouldn't have stood, they lose out on the semis thanks to a penalty that shouldn't have been awarded. Forgive me for not commiserating too much. Seems like karma of sorts.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

Argentina knock Ireland out with convincing Quarter Final win

Ha ha. The Argies hate you plenty. Just watch the Top Gear Patagonia special if you need any reminding. I'm not saying it's all right or justified, but there's a fair bit of bitterness still brewing down there.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

World Rugby CEO confirms full investigation into Craig Joubert behaviour will take place

Very disappointing. Didn't expect this reaction.

I was gutted when Bryce Lawrence cost SA a place in the semis last time round, but no amount of disappointment warrants this kind of lynch mob.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

World Rugby CEO confirms full investigation into Craig Joubert behaviour will take place

I know you Jocks don't normally wear anything beneath your kilts, but I really think it's time for some big boy pants.

7 Months, 1 Week ago

World Rugby CEO confirms full investigation into Craig Joubert behaviour will take place

Agree. If it hadn't been for one contentious call (which, at full speed looked correct) none of this would have happened. No one would have said a word about the ref.

It's a pity because it's unbecoming. It is the thing you expect from soccer supporters, but rugby is supposed to be better than that. And particularly when you consider that Scotland only made it to the QF courtesy of a late try by Laidlaw against Samoa which seemed to have a clear knock-on when he tried to pick up from the scrum, and which wasn't referred to the TMO. I don't recall the Samoans (who lost) or the Japanese (who missed out on the QF s a result) kicking up such a stink about the ref.

Tell me that's not a knock on at 7 seconds: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxU_SjPegag

If ever a pot called a kettle black.

View Video

7 Months, 1 Week ago