Viewing comments for katman« back to profile

Wallabies remain unbeaten to reach Rugby World Cup 2015 Final with win over Argentina

When Imhoff and Creevy and Hernandez went off, I knew they were in trouble. Can't lose 3 of your very best and not feel it.

9 Months, 4 Weeks ago

Wallabies remain unbeaten to reach Rugby World Cup 2015 Final with win over Argentina

Great game, spolied somewhat by Wayne Barnes. I suspect it wouldn't have changed the outcome, but the yellow card to the Pumas lock was a stupid decision. Even a penalty would have been a bit harsh. He also allowed the Aussie tacklers to contest just about every ruck without releasing the tackled player. Make no mistake, Pocock was brilliant. But he was helped a fair bit by Barnes.

Still, this Aussie team looks very good indeed. Final is going to be huge.

10 Months, 57 Minutes ago

All Blacks through to another World Cup Final after tense battle with the Springboks

Meyer says they didn't make the country proud, but he's wrong. There's no shame in losing by two points to this All Blacks team. I'd say most South Africans are very proud of the Springboks, despite losing in the semis.

And well done to New Zealand. This team is as good as any I've seen. Their ability to limit mistakes while playing high-risk rugby is phenomenal. The final (against a fired-up, on-form Australia) should be brilliant.

10 Months, 1 Hour ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

If touch judge had spotted something, he would have flagged Joubert. That's normally how is happens. He didn't, so he probably didn't see the Aus hand either.

10 Months, 4 Days ago

World Rugby CEO confirms full investigation into Craig Joubert behaviour will take place

Nonsense. Joubert made a call that, in real time, looked perfectly reasonable and fair. He didn't spot the touch by the Aussie, and neither did the closest touch judge (or else he would have surely intervened). So you're crucifying him on the basis of this decision, but it's the type of call most refs probably would have made. The real reasons for the gripe are that a.) this happened in the last 5 minutes and b.) it's your team that lost.

10 Months, 5 Days ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

You do realise of course that the touch judge could have intervened without the referee asking. This is, in fact, how it normally works - the touch judge spots something the referee didn't and sticks his flag out. The ref saunters over, they have a chat and the ref potentially changes his decision. This didn't happen, and this can only mean the touch judge didn't see it either.

10 Months, 5 Days ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

Definitely goes forward. Only question: is it from Laidlaw's hand or from Denton's foot. Looks like Laidlaw's hand, but there would have been at least two other TV angles available had they wanted to check. Which they didn't, so try stands. Scotland wins. Japan goes home. Scotland plays in QF. The luck of the bounce, rub of the green etc. etc. On another day, this would have been spotted and called as a knock on. You take your lucky breaks when they are on offer. I guess this is what Australia did on the weekend. Not all that different.

10 Months, 5 Days ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

World Rugby seem to be a bunch of spineless cowards. "After watching the incident in slo-mo from several angles for several hours, we can confirm that the referee got it completely wrong in real time on the field."

What kind of boss does this?

10 Months, 6 Days ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

This try put Scotland into the QF and effectively knocked Japan out. And at 7 seconds Laidlaw knocks the ball on while trying to pick it up. No TMO referral. Try stands. Sayonara Japan.

No whingeing about the ref from either Samoa or Japan though.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxU_SjPegag

View Video

10 Months, 6 Days ago

'Penalty was the wrong call' says World Rugby review of Craig Joubert decision

Accidental offside was what happened earlier, when a kick bounced forward off Nell and was then handled by a Scottish player. But in this case, the first Scottish player didn't accidentally handle the ball. So there was no reason to award an "accidental offside" scrum. If Joubert believed the ball had come from Scotsman to Scotsman (as he clearly did) then the only result is a penalty.

10 Months, 6 Days ago