Halfpenny concussion prompts questions


Nigel Owens tells off Chris Robshaw


Honey Badger makes a popular return


Lock Dave Dennis makes two brutal hits


Moldovan prop's funny drop goal attempt


Controversial card for Lowes low tackle


Try Savers & Rib Breakers 13


Ireland thump Scotland & win Six Nations


U15 Tyrese Johnson-Fisher viral video!

Wednesday, April 01, 2015

Midweek Madness - Player throws second ball into ruck to halt promising attack

In the TOP14 match between Bordeaux Begles and LA Rochelle at the weekend, a blatant piece of cheating (or a brilliant piece depending on which way you look at it) occurred when La Rochelle lock Leandro Cedaro used a second ball to stop a Bordeaux attack in its tracks.

Bordeaux had just been awarded a penalty 10 metres out with Begles' Julien Rey running back to collect the ball which had just been kicked away. Another ball is thrown onto the pitch and the home side promptly take a quick tap.

You then see Rey's kicked ball bobble into view a couple of phases later, and when Jefferson Poirot picks and goes from a ruck, Cedaro throws the ball towards him.

The referee immediately blows but whatever excuse Cedaro gives him, he gets away with it as the referee simply tells him it was stupid, and Begles are awarded a scrum.

They score swiftly after but still end up losing the game, 21-22.

What do we think? Was Cedaro's extra ball an attempt at disrupting the attack? Or was he just trying to throw the ball away and it inadvertently looked suspicious? 

credit: boucherie-ovalie.org

Posted by Rugbydump at 2:51 pm | 9 comments

Francois Steyn banned for 5 weeks after rescinded red card is overturned

In a particularly brutal and controversy filled Super Rugby clash between the Sharks and the Chiefs, Francois Steyn was red-carded for an illegal tackle on fly-half Aaron Cruden. The rulings that followed have been quite puzzling to say the least.

Steyn was one of three players to be sent off during the ill-tempered affair, and subsequently also the third to receive a ban – however the circumstances are somewhat bizarre.

His teammate Bismarck du Plessis was dismissed from play having struck an opponent intentionally with his boot, he was cited and the review resulted in a four match suspension.

The process for Steyn's examination and reprimand didn't quite follow the same pattern however.

Having played a significant part in a dangerous tackle on Aaron Cruden, the South African's actions were extensively scrutinised by the TMO and referee during a lengthy stoppage, which included the TMO trying to dissuade the referee from taking too stringent a view. 

Referee Angus Gardner went with his gut though, and Steyn was sent from the field.

As was the case with du Plessis, the body which operates Super Rugby, Sanzar, cited the Sharks player and were presented with a decision over whether his actions deserved a ban.

Officer Jannie Lubbe determined that Steyn, whilst involved with the tackle, was not directly responsible for the result and that the force of two teammates entering the contest resulted in Cruden's awkward landing.

Having been cleared of all wrongdoing, and his red card being rescinded, it appeared Steyn's case was over – however, in a somewhat curious twist, Sanzar appealed against their own ruling.

Following this turnaround, an official statement from SANZAR stated:

“The Appeals Committee unanimously upheld the appeal brought by Sanzar and found that Steyn breached Law 10.4 (j) and that the referee was correct to red card the player.”

Further to re-awarding Steyn with his previously repealed sending off, they also decided that the appropriate sanction would be four weeks, and taking into account the Sharks' bye in Round 11 banned Steyn for five weeks, saying he is unable to compete in any form of the sport up to and including the 3rd of May 2015.

Do you think the incident deserved the red-card and a ban?

credit: lerugbynistere

Posted by Rugbydump at 10:10 am | 20 comments

Highlights feed from around the rugby world




Tuesday, March 31, 2015

The Top 5 Aviva Premiership Tries plus Highlights Wrap - Round 18

The Aviva Premiership was back in action as Six Nations players returned, and there was plenty to talk about. View our highlights wrap on page two of this post, which includes some controversy and a record crowd at Wembley. Above, the Try of the Week contenders.

The five players who scored the best tries of round 18 are Christian Wade (he got a hat-trick), Will Chudley, Adam Powell, Chris Wyles and George North, who was knocked out for his second.

View the full Highlights Wrap (or below if arrived via social media)

Page: 12View All

Posted by Rugbydump at 2:42 pm | 0 comments

The Shortball highlights wrap from Round 7 of Super Rugby

Round 7 of Super Rugby brought with it less controversy than Round 6, which means there weren't three red cards in one half of action, for one. All in all there were more great tries scored, another big upset, and some brutal tackles. Oh, and one of the worst (best?) Falcons you're likely to see.

View more Shortball in our archived Plays of the Week section

Posted by Rugbydump at 9:45 am | 1 comments

Monday, March 30, 2015

Nick Williams cited for dangerous challenge that sent Rhys Patchell to hospital

Ulster number eight Nick Williams has been cited for striking Cardiff Blues back Rhys Patchell during their Guinness Pro12 match in Belfast on Friday. Williams was yellow carded, but many have been angered by the incident, feeling it should have been red.

Flyhalf Patchell spent the night in hospital after being carried off on a stretcher following treatment for 10 minutes from the forearm blow. He was treated amid fears of a bad concussion.

The massive New Zealander has since been cited for Law 10.4 (a) - Punching/striking. A player must not strike an opponent with the fist or arm, including the elbow, shoulder, head or knee.

Cardiff Blues coach Dale McIntosh said after that match that a red card was in order.

"A forearm to the head? It should be a red card. I've done it enough, I should know," he said.

Former Ireland centre Maurice Field said that while the result was severe, "It was not a forearm smash". He went on to tell BBC Northern Ireland that Williams had executed a reckless challenge.

"Patchell is unfortunate - full-backs do not usually find themselves in those ruck situations. Nick Williams is a physical guy, that is the nature of his game," he added.

Ulster went on to win the match 36-17. You can view the incident below in a quick clip from the highlights wrap. We'll have more from the Pro12 soon. 

Should this have been a red card, or was it merely a clumsy effort at cleaning out a player?

Posted by Rugbydump at 3:40 pm | 24 comments

George North knocked out again as Nathan Hughes gets red card for knee

Northampton Saints winger George North received another blow to the head that has resulted in concussion and more concern about his long term playing career. The incident happened as he scored in Saints' 52-30 victory over Wasps on Friday.

Last week that we highlighted the concern about repeated Leigh Halfpenny concussions, but this time it was Wales teammate North that was knocked out, albeit in entirely different circumstances.

He finished down the wing after some excellent play from Samu Manoa, but in the process was struck in the head by Wasps number eight Nathan Hughes. It looked entirely accidental, but the referee felt it was clumsy and could have been avoided, so showed Hughes a red card.

North was struck in the head twice in Wales' recent Six Nations clash with England, causing a controversy over the way that was handled.

On this occasion he was clearly in no state to continue, and left the field on a stretcher. He later tweeted that he was up and about, and according to coach Jim Mallinder, was at the club on Saturday to receive treatment and further monitoring.

World Rugby (IRB) concussion advisor Professor Willie Stewart said that 22-year-old North needs to be given an extended period of rest to figure out if this is something that he has just not recovered from, or whether there are genuine issues.

"I think he personally needs to say, 'No, I'm not playing again this season'. If he does play again too soon it could be the end of his World Cup or even his career," explained Stewart.

"The people looking after him, including Northampton and the Welsh Rugby Union, should be recommending some time out and the experts he is seeing should recommend some time out. No-one should be talking about playing him next week. That's just ridiculous.

"I know at this time of year we're getting into the thick of it for trophies and championships but it's also getting into the sharp end for George's brain. I would be surprised if he makes another appearance," he added.

As for the actual incident, Hughes seemed to ask the referee how he was expected to lift his leg up to avoid North in that situation. Saints coach Mallinder didn't have too much sympathy though. "The opposition have got to then be very careful once the try is scored and it was reckless coming in with the knee. Some serious consequences happened because of it" he said.

Wasps coach Dai Young, who had a miserable night at the office, said that the Hughes dismissal was harsh and that he certainly isn't a malicious player.

"I hope George is okay, Nathan has gone looking for him to make sure he is okay - he is not that type of person [who would injure someone deliberately]."

View a highlights wrap from the match, which includes North's first try

UPDATE 31/03/15:
Hughes has been banned for three weeks. Disciplinary hearing details


photo: tony marshall/getty images europe

Page: 1234View All

Posted by Rugbydump at 10:14 am | 98 comments

Sunday, March 29, 2015

Fiji power to Hong Kong Sevens title while Russia qualify as core team

Fiji cruised to Hong Kong Sevens victory as they beat defending champions New Zealand 33-19 in the Cup Final. They beat overall series leaders South Africa in the Semi Final. Also, Russia have now qualified as a core team for the 2015/2016 season.

Savenaca Rawaca ended the tournament as joint leading try scorer, alongside the USA's Zack Test, as his brace of tries in the final added to the six he scored over the course of the weekend.

It was former England coach Ben Ryan's first taste of victory at the iconic Hong Kong tournament, which was celebrating it's 40th anniversary.

"This victory is certainly up there," said Fiji's coach Ben Ryan "We are now pushing hard for top place, we're moving away from that Olympic qualification and it's great for the people back home as Hong Kong means so much to them. It's perhaps a monkey off my back as well so I am delighted."

Following victory, Fiji are now just two points behind leaders South Africa (110) in the overall series standings, with 108 points, and just one ahead of New Zealand (107), with Australia (84) and England (78) the others in the top five, as the race for Olympic qualification continues.

Russia qualify for 2015-16 World Series - Highlights

While the top teams played out main event in Hong Kong, 12 regional qualifiers battled it out for one ever-present core team place on next season's 2015/16 series, with Russia emerging victorious after beating Zimbabwe in the final thanks to a last-minute winning try from Vladimir Ostrouskho.

"This means a lot, it allows our players to play more valuable games and gain experience and the win will be a motivation for the younger players too," said captain Dmitriy Perov.

View highlights from Day 3 below, with the other two days play shown on the next page, including an upset victory by Portugal over New Zealand on day two!

Page: 123View All

Posted by Rugbydump at 7:51 pm | 0 comments