RugbyDump RugbyDump
Monday Oct 9, 2017

Damian de Allende apologises but should not have been sent off

Damian de Allende apologises but should not have been sent off
14
Comments

Springbok replacement centre Damian de Allende has been issued a warning after the controversial red card that he was shown in the closing stages of the Springbok vs All Blacks thriller on Saturday. It was effectively ruled that the red card was incorrect.

De Allende attempted to charge down a Lima Sopoaga drop goal attempt with just minutes left in the Rugby Championship clash at Newlands, but caught the replacement flyhalf with his forearm on the follow through, leading to a TMO review by referee Jerome Garces.

Replays were shown that appeared to show De Allende making contact with Sopoaga’s face with his forearm or elbow, which Garces at the time decided was enough to warrant a sending off.

A SANZAAR Foul Play Review Commitee has since found that the offence did not warrant a red card, and therefore have only issued a warning, with no further suspension. They said that the initial contact was with the chest, before sliding up.

In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following:

“Having conducted a detailed review of all the available evidence, including all camera angles, as well as submissions from his legal representative, Attie Heyns, the Foul Play Review Committee found that, on an objective study, and with more time and video angles than the Referee had available to him, the act of foul play committed only came close to warranting a Red Card, and therefore a Warning (equivalent to a Yellow Card) was issued instead.”

“The charge was late and the player had time to pull out before colliding with his opponent.

“However, the collision was not effected with a great deal of force, with the initial contact being made with the player’s forearm on the opponent’s chest, from whence the arm rose up to make contact, again not forceful, onto the opponent’s neck. The opponent was not injured.

“The player is therefore free to play and will serve no suspension”

The two players exchanged tweets post match, showing the respect between the two sides.

The penalty that occurred as part of the red card allowed Sopoaga to have a kick at goal, which he slotted to take New Zealand out to 25-17, leaving South Africa needing to score twice to win. They managed to score a converted try, for a 25-24 loss.

While some felt that this incident was not even worthy of a penalty, with TV replays making it look far more sinister than it actually was, others are adamant it was a red card all day long.

A yellow card and penalty would have, of course, resulted in the same outcome.

14 Comments


    Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • Fair enough.

    Reply
  •  drg
    drg

    I don't have an issue with a penalty or whatever else you guys deem it to be - I'm somewhat beyond caring about the pro game these days... it's just I don't view this as a tackle... 10.4(f) seems far more fitting in this example...but then again, what do I know, I'm just an armchair expert of the old game...which has been replaced for this glitter throwing shower of shite we get spoon fed these days..

    Reply
  •  breakaway
    breakaway

    You don't have to see me do better. Players are deviating at pace within two and a half steps regularly in most games I watch. Especially for a centre/wing like De Allende, it's a basic skill. I don't think it was a particularly bad hit, but as others have said, he made no attempt at all to avoid it.

    Reply

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • Yes, but as others have pointed out, Lleyds deserved a four match ban for that man bun, so it all evens itself out in the end.

    Reply
  •  flanker2712
    flanker2712

    Have to agree with Oui Jerome and breakaway. Maybe "plenty of time" isn't the right expression, but looking at this (especially at normal speed in the original camera shot), it just doesn't look like he tried in any way not to hit him. On the contrary, it looks like he carried on his running line so as to hit him.

    Reply
  •  foxtrot
    foxtrot

    Plenty of time? He had half a second to react after the attempted charge down while running at full pace. I would like to see you do better.

    Reply

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • Deserved a yellow at most and the silly penalty ultimately cost the Boks the match. The biggest problem with this is the inconsistencies in refereeing the past 2 weeks. Last week Folau grabs Lleyds by the hair, no card or citing. This week DDA hits Sopoaga late, straight red. Koroibete knocks out Lezana with a shoulder to the chin, not even a penalty. It's laughable....

    Reply
  •  finedisregard
    finedisregard

    So lame

    Reply
  •  dancarter
    dancarter

    I don't think I agree that it's not a red. I would probably have given a yellow but I don't disagree with Garces' decision. I think that a late hit that is also an elbow to the head/neck is enough to warrant a red card, and I would struggle to justify not giving a red card using the laws of the game.

    Reply

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • Seriously DrG? Had expected better analysis from you. Green 23 takes out Black 10 off the ball. At a minimum, he pushes him to the ground off the ball. If you're arguing that Green 23's decision to thrust his arms into Black 10's chest and neck makes it "not a tackle" then it's still a penalty: "10.4(f) Except in a scrum, ruck or maul, a player who is not in possession of the ball must not hold, push or obstruct an opponent not carrying the ball. Sanction: Penalty kick" Have a look at the first video for this law on the WR site. Blue 2 hits Red 15 with a "body check" that is indistinguishable from what Green 23 did in this case. It's not a tackle (no wrapping of the arms) and it pushes Red 15 to the floor off the ball. Any which way you cut it, it's a penalty.

    Reply
  •  drg
    drg

    10.4(e) is a tackle....this was a body check at the most...not a tackle..

    Reply
  •  breakaway
    breakaway

    I agree with Oui Jerome on this, to say it's not a penalty is silly. De Allende had plenty of time to deviate if he'd wanted to. I understand that he's putting pressure on the kicker, but he did it badly and the hit was late and high. Penalty and a card (pick your colour). If it had been, say, SBW on Jantjies, I'm sure you would have a different point of view.

    Reply

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • I think everyone agrees that it's not a red. As for whether it's a yellow, the problem for DDA is the little jump he puts in at the end of the second step, plus leading with his forearm. He's probably a little unlucky that his elbow rode up and caught Sopoaga under the chin, but that's the risk he took. Involuntary or not, it is his responsibility not to endanger the tackled player. Late hit plus elbow to the neck. Yellow all day long. Obviously the suggestion that it's not a penalty is just silly: "10.4(e) Dangerous tackling. A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Sanction: Penalty kick" Taking out a player that long after the ball has gone is a penalty. Simples.

    Reply
  •  spencah
    spencah

    If you pause and play the video you can see that after the genuine attempted charge down he takes 2 steps, I repeat, 2 steps before coming into contact with LS. Now when you are at near full speed and attempting a charge down you cant just STOP dead after the moment is passed. The time taken to do 2 steps is so short there simply isn't time to deviate your running line. At that speed is reaction speed only, hence why his hands were raised as it is an involuntary reaction to protect his face / absorb the impact. Adjudicators seem to agree but they are still saving Garces' blushes by saying it was a yellow or a pen but for me its not even a penalty. Once again french refs exposed for lack of consistency and composure. But the bigger question has to be why is DD even on the pitch?!?! He is not, and has not been on form for some time.......oh wait AC is in charge, never mind. Move on.

    Reply

Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Training Videos

View All

Player Features

View All
Damian de Allende apologises but should not have been sent off | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos