Wednesday Dec 27, 2017

Jonny May cleared after red card for committing same offence twice

Jonny May cleared after red card for committing same offence twice
4
Comments

Leicester Tigers winger Jonny May is free to play after he received two yellow cards and a sending off during Sunday’s match against Saracens. May was sin-binned twice for the exact same offence. Saracens won the match 29-17.  

May received his first yellow card early on in the match for a deliberate knock on, as ruled by referee Matthew Carley. A penalty try was also given, adding to the pain. 

He returned to the match but 60 minutes later was picked up for the same offence, a deliberate knock on, that time leading to a red card for receiving two yellows. 

The charges against May were heard by an independent judicial officer, who referred to the sanction table set out in Appendix 1 of RFU Regulation 19. That stipulates that when a red card is given for two yellow cards, where both are given for technical offences, a sending off is sufficient.

May is therefore free to play again immediately. You can view both incidents in the clip below.

4 Comments

  •  drg
    drg

    Hahah, I guess not in this situation...

    Reply
  •  danknapp
    danknapp

    InstaBan?

    Reply
  •  drg
    drg

    Twitter? WhatsApp?

    Reply
  •  reality
    reality

    Did May actually have to go to a hearing, taking up a day of his time and and day of the judiciary's time just to have them tell him that the rules say that in his situation there's nothing to be discussed? Could they not have emailed him?

    Reply

Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Training Videos

View All

Player Features

View All
Jonny May cleared after red card for committing same offence twice | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos