Tuesday Oct 10, 2017

Marika Koroibete knocks out Tomas Lezana with brutal tackle

Marika Koroibete knocks out Tomas Lezana with brutal tackle
8
Comments

In what was a slightly alarming moment for the Pumas, Tomas Lezana was on the unfortunate receiving end of a bruising hit from Australian winger Marika Koroibete during Saturday’s Rugby Championship clash. The shot left the number 8 sprawled unconscious on the turf.

Lezana was camped out waiting for the Bernard Foley restart and had just enough time to collect the kick and choose a direction before getting nailed by the incoming former League star Koroibete.

While not the worst hit ever seen, it was certainly bone-jarring in its own rite, being enough to knock Lezana out cold and subsequently off the field by way of a stretcher. 

Of course, based on how it looked, the ref then felt the need to consult the TMO. After review, it was clear that Koroibete did indeed wrap in the tackle, while Lezana unfortunately lowered his chin just enough for Koroibete’s shoulder to cause the knock-out blow. 

One further point of discussion was brought up by Pumas hooker and captain Agustin Creevy. As he pointed out, Koroibete – the tackler – did not get up but played the ball while lying on the ground.

If it had been deemed a violation, a penalty should have been awarded to Argentina.

As it stood, Argentina were held scoreless from that point, losing the match 20-37 and finishing winless in the 2017 Rugby Championship.

Credit: Rugby XV

8 Comments

  •  drg
    drg

    No...because all other referees are perfect...

    Reply
  •  oliver
    oliver

    wasn't it the TMOs' decision? Also can't help but notice how the nationality of the ref is never brought up for other nations. Did you ever read/hear "irish refs this" or "australian refs that"?

    Reply
  •  charly2us
    charly2us

    some referees are a joke.... on the same day AB vs SA, for much less than that a red card and a springbok out of the field, here the guy is knocked down.... a joke

    Reply
  •  drg
    drg

    Echo all the above, seems in this day an age the onus is always on the other person, seems odd that now a players own actions are being deemed the cause of his own injury... Especially as in this circumstance it seems the least likely to be the cause compared to all other factors..

    Reply
  •  xenophile
    xenophile

    Another example of piss pour refereeing by a Frenchman. 2/2 on Saturday.

    Reply
  •  im1
    im1

    Seems a bit of an odd decision based on how strict the laws are now. "After review, it was clear that Koroibete did indeed wrap in the tackle, while Lezana unfortunately lowered his chin just enough for Koroibete's shoulder to cause the knock-out blow." Unless you are the late Jimmy Hill (sorry for wendyball reference) there is no way that lowering your chin is going to make much of a difference to whether the tackle is too high....

    Reply
  •  thedoctor
    thedoctor

    If someone is knocked out in a tackle ---> high tackle/head clash ---> penalty and a card is the correct decision. You don't leave someone unconscious just by hitting on the chest.........

    Reply
  •  peetwindhoek
    peetwindhoek

    Hmmm, is that not high? He hits him on the chin!

    Reply

Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Training Videos

View All

Player Features

View All
Marika Koroibete knocks out Tomas Lezana with brutal tackle | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos