Friday Oct 21, 2011 Shane Williams flipped in huge double hit vs the Wallabies

Shane Williams flipped in huge double hit vs the Wallabies
39
Comments

The Wallabies grabbed a bronze medal in the Third Place Playoff at Eden Park earlier as they beat Wales 21-18. The game started out at high intensity, as you can see in the below clip, but a few injuries disrupted it’s rhthym and the spectacle died somewhat. 

Shane Williams had an eventful night in what could possibly have been his final game for Wales, and definitely his final RWC match. He was smashed early on in this double hit from David Pocock and Tatafu Polota-Nau, but as we’ve come to expect from him, soldiered on unfazed. 

He scored a try and set up another, taking his personal world cup tally to 10 tries in 11 games.

“The try was created out of nothing … perhaps the pass might have been a bit forward,” Coach Warren Gatland said. “He’s been an outstanding performer, he always goes looking for the ball. I keep saying to him this week that he hasn’t got many to go… I’m not sure (it’s tonight) or maybe Australia on Dec. 3,” he said.

Paul James, Welsh prop, said that Williams should definitely have a farewell game in Cardiff. 

“That guy has given everything to Welsh rugby over his career, he’s been a great servant on and off the field. I think he deserves a great send off. He’s a world-class player and a great mate.” 

This is just a quick clip of the massive hit he took. You can view full highlights on the RWC website

39 Comments

  •  paimoe
    paimoe

    Looks insane

    Reply
  •  ollie
    ollie

    Guess the question is if they intended to lift him off the deck or not... and as seems to be the general debate at the moment, should we be judging intent or results in contact situation..?

    Reply
  •  ollie
    ollie

    My point is that had it been Pocock that was on the receiving end of the tackle, we would have judged it as the tackle of the tournament as we would not have seen his legs up in the air and his upper back/neck hitting the ground first. So I guess we are saying that players should be adjusting their tackling technique relative to the size of the tackled player. I think mismatches are an inherent part of the sport, so I think it's an interesting debate...

    Reply
  •  diggers
    diggers

    You dont need a wrapped arm its 'without trying to grasp' so the Ref needs to decide if there was any intent to grasp. Its a seperate law for lifting a player and subject to specific IRB guidance. I only know this as my son who plays checked IRB site...does suggest there remains room for different decisions from ref to ref

    Reply
  •  rodofle
    rodofle

    How can you say that this tackle is more dangerous than the one by Warburton on Clerc?? Williams falls on the flank, this is more spectacular than dangerous. Clerc falls on the neck, he could have had his neck broken, he could have spent the rest of his life on a wheeling chair... Definitely tackling someone and letting him fall right on his neck doesn't make a good tackle, even if the tacled player is Pocock. Warburton made an ugly tackle which deserved the red card, that's all.

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    What on earth are you bloody talking about? The 90 degree rule only applies if you lift somebody. Nobody lifted Shane Williams. If you look at the rule book what you find is that you obviously are talking air.

    Reply
  •  cooperkid
    cooperkid

    here here!!! a role model for anybody who looks at a sport and thinks "im too fat/slow/small/big/skinny" A champion!

    Reply
  •  cooperkid
    cooperkid

    it looked like the aussies clashed when trying to block the kick/tackle nothing menacing in it since they clearly go to see if he is ok. if they didnt give a shit they would have simply walked off no malace intended so move on

    Reply
  •  yupyupgup
    yupyupgup

    correct me if i'm wrong, but i'm pretty sure to tackle/charge down a kick, you have to use arms. pretty sure that polota-nau didn't use them for either. penalty and yellow card surely for this instance.

    Reply
  •  ollie
    ollie

    The tackle on Williams is legal, but is arguably far more dangerous than Warburton's red card (which was clearly illegal but probably deserved a yellow). Both incidents are actually the result of mismatches in size of player, but only Warburton's is policable. If Warburton had made the same tackle on Pocock it would have ended differently and probably would have gone down as the best tackle of the RWC.... So should size and mismatches be a factor taken into account by the law-makers to protect the big-guy from punishment as much as the small-guy from injury?

    Reply
  •  guy
    guy

    I can understand when people say the players were allready committed to the tackle. Nevertheless, I don't see anybody trying to wrap arms around the tackled player. As someone allready said: it looks more like footage from an American Football match. Spectacular but dangerous. On the other hand: the ref has to decide allmost immediately and there were a lot of things to watch. Possible knock on, baal being kicked by player in touch or not, simultaneous tackles, where does the ball land, is everybody on site, etc. A lot of things to watch. Anyway, if there was any real indication of dangerous play, I guess we will hear from the citing commissioner soon.

    Reply
  •  eggman
    eggman

    Now you're just making up rules, which is particularly ironic considering they don't even apply here. Williams had the ball when the tackle came through, you can't expect a player to pull out of a tackle when the ball was kicked away a millisecond before the kick. Also a tackle of the ball is not a straight red, depends on the situation. Same goes for "impact with the kicker", which doesn't even exist. You're allowed to tackle the kicker. Also not all "dangerous tackles" are red cards, there are different degrees. The IRB happens to rate spear tackles (such as Wharburton did) as extremely dangerous, and insist that it should always be a red card. This was nothing like it, and not even dangerous.

    Reply
  •  welshosprey
    welshosprey

    Legend of a player, came back and scored a great try. Feel bad for quade cooper though, knee ligament damage is never good.

    Reply
  •  cheyanqui
    cheyanqui

    Spot on about the POC call. He chimes in way too much, particularly when he is not the captain on the day.

    Reply
  •  cheyanqui
    cheyanqui

    Spot on about the POC call. He chimes in way too much, particularly when he is not the captain on the day.

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    22 - Senility is a few decades away, hopefully. How are you coping with it?

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    Even though you are a troll or mentally not all there here is a video I will share on the subject of deaf rugby players. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gKSGiGduZYo A video from American about "Inner-city" Rugby players helping a deaf Rugby team. Worth a watch, I would like to see this sort of thing on RD more often

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    As I said, my opinion on this tackle has nothing to do with Wales as a geographical country, people or rugby team. I have no idea what you're carrying on about. Everything you say, rightly or wrongly, is irrelevant to the fact this tackle was 100% legal.

    Reply
  •  ramrugby10
    ramrugby10

    Haha! Yeah Jonny! Haven't you retired yet?!

    Reply
  •  ramrugby10
    ramrugby10

    Haha! Yeah Jonny! Haven't you retired yet?!

    Reply
  •  ramrugby10
    ramrugby10

    Exaccctttlllyyyy!... Does the "letter of the law" say on a first-offense somewhat dangerous tackle (with no malicious intentions) that the offender must be sent from the field never to return (with 60 minutes left in the game)?... No... That decision is at the discretion of the referee, and in this case, the referee made the right decision!

    Reply
  •  stroudos
    stroudos

    Ehtch, Why are you trying to turn this into some Wales v the rest of the world thing. Your team have been exemplary and the rugby world has warmed to them in a massive way. Don't undo all their hard work mate.

    Reply
  •  stroudos
    stroudos

    Really? Fair play to him. What position does he play?

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    Well it's obvious YOU have a chip on your shoulder, as you're the one bringing up Welsh this and Welsh that. I'm just looking at this as a tackle. You can see from the Warburton tackle that I defended it to the death, going as far as to say it was a penalty at best lol. Go have a look, you'll see. Palota-Nau MADE an effort to wrap. There is no red card here, not even worthy of penalty. You're looking at this with red tinted glasses, I think.

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    The fact is he mad an attempt to wrap. Your mind exists in an alternate universe

    Reply
  •  fettsack
    fettsack

    Shane Williams is such an awesome rugby player. This is in no way a penalty, it's just a tough challenge and neither players could wrap their arms because they ran into each other. The shock was very impressive and Williams is a tough little man. Warburton's red card is a completely different situation and cannot be compared.

    Reply
  • Palota-nau may have performed a dangerous tackle or two in his time, but overwhelmingly, his tackles are just hard and legal. He'll throw his entire body at a guy, almost self-recklessly, but he'll still make sure to go for the arm-wrap. He did that here. Williams was just on one leg and ended up getting flipped over. He was fine, though. Shane has hurdled over tacklers before, and has landed in awkward positions after falling plenty of times. It just looked crazy is all. I wish Shane Williams could keep playing rugby until he was 60. He's always great to watch, and is great at reading the game. It's awesome when the little guy runs at a group of forwards on the line, runs around the first one, ducks under the next tackle, and then sidesteps the third. Doesn't happen every time, but when it does, it's terrific.

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    And what are you people talking about saying there was no arms? I must be watching a different video, the arms are there and he tried to wrap. Short of coming to a stop and putting Williams in a bear-hug I'm not sure what else he could have done!?

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    Exactly right Nick! You are allowed to tackle somebody when they're in the action of kicking. You can hardly blame the Australia for the laws of physics.

    Reply
  •  buzzkillington
    buzzkillington

    Looked legal to me. It was dangerous though, and this is why we cannot tackle people in the air. This tackle looked very NFL-esque in the way he went rotating through the air. I love it. It's dangerous and you don't want to see it again because there is no helmet safeguard to protect neck on landing, but it happened, no body was hurt and I certainly LOL'd. Credit to Shane, he's a tough little nugget

    Reply
  •  yorffeo
    yorffeo

    On this game, a big applause to the supporters in the stadium (NZ most?) Booing a player going out of the field on an injury...how classy and smart this is! Thanks guys for this wonderful world cup...no just kidding! A real applause though to the Welsh defenders stoping immediatly when seing the man injured! On this one, that is fine, the referee did compensate by validating his forward passed try. 5 point rather than 3 you should be happy Wales.

    Reply
  •  medicaluke
    medicaluke

    I can't understand why there are people comparing this to Warburton's tackle?? This was nothing similar. He got flipped completely accidentally. He wasn't lifted and his legs taken above his head. Its a completely different set of rules. I think people, who don't know much about rugby, are trying to apply one set of rules to everything else. There is no letter of the law stating this is a penalty (OR any card). If we started giving penalties and cards for every freak accident in rugby it would be ridiculous

    Reply
  •  stroudos
    stroudos

    Bien dicho amigo. I think rugby fans of all nationalities will miss him, great servant to the game. Luckily for Wales, they've got plenty of talented wings coming through to replace him.

    Reply
  •  stroudos
    stroudos

    Bloody hell! That was pretty spectacular wasn't it!? No foul play involved as far as I'm concerned, just a freak occurrence. Really pleased to see Ickle Shane unhurt from it.

    Reply
  •  patrick
    patrick

    The lifting and returning to the ground tackle rule isnt for this.. its for when you actually lift a player up. im not saying anything about the use of the arms or whatever, but i think youve got the wrong idea with this

    Reply
  •  patrick
    patrick

    The lifting and returning to the ground tackle rule isnt for this.. its for when you actually lift a player up. im not saying anything about the use of the arms or whatever, but i think youve got the wrong idea with this

    Reply
  •  murph
    murph

    Go play soccer Jonny, you moaning bitch

    Reply
  •  colombes
    colombes

    don't say bullshits, it was not a red card. polota-nau didn't aim the legs. it was completly clumsy by both australian players who collided each other just before make contact with williams. result: a pretty akward tackle concerning Barnes, i'm relieved to see that he doesn't just allow "french" forward passes ;)

    Reply
  •  gaspar
    gaspar

    Man! What a player he is! In a rugby where all is about size and power, this man show game after game his class. I'm PUMA (ARG) fan, and I just want to say: "We will miss you Shane!"

    Reply

Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Training Videos

View All

Player Features

View All
Shane Williams flipped in huge double hit vs the Wallabies | RugbyDump