An incredible Bledisloe Cup match has come to a staggering end in Australia with the All Blacks beating the hosts 37-39.
It was an end-to-end match that saw some of the greatest tries of the year so far, with both teams going hammer and tongs throughout the entire match.
New Zealand seemed to be away and out of reach midway through the second half as they took a commanding lead over the Wallabies. A tremendous fight back from the men in gold saw the game balanced on a knife edge come the last few minutes.
With 2 minutes left on the clock, the Wallabies appeared to have the game in the bag with a 3-point lead and a penalty in their favour.
This is where the chaos happened, Foley appeared to slightly delay taking the clearing penalty and in doing so was penalised by the referee, Mathieu Raynal.
— Joe Naughton (@JosephNaughton4) September 15, 2022
World Rugby Law 20.5: “A penalty or free-kick must be taken without delay”
— Jack de Menezes (@JackdeMenezes) September 15, 2022
This bold BOLD call led to a New Zealand scrum, which eventually after plenty of phases and pressure led to Jordie Barrett touching over in the corner to take the victory.
Those on Twitter have been very honest about their thought on the decision…
— Mark Struwig (@MarkStruwig) September 15, 2022
AND THEN HE CALLED A SCRUM IN THE FINAL MINUTE COZ THE AUSSIES WOULDN’T KICK THE BALL AND THE ALL BLACKS SCORED OFF IT pic.twitter.com/dlwVZItAAn
— Kishan (@ShishKebab2k) September 15, 2022
You guys got robbed!
That was a shocking call!
Ruined a great game!
— Ray (@rayms_84) September 15, 2022