As you may have seen on the Aviva Premiership highlights post yesterday, George Stowers of London Irish received a straight red card on the weekend after he made a dangerous tackle on Bath fullback Nick Abendanon at the Recreaton Ground.
Stowers was shown a straight red by ref Dave Pearson after his flailing arm looked to have connected with Abendanons chin, stunning him for a few minutes as he flopped to the floor in a heap.
Abendanon stayed on the field and actually helped Bath to the 20-13 win, scoring a try 15 minutes later, despite being a bit dazed by what had happened. He said he didnt even realise that Stowers had been sent off for the swinging arm.
“I felt it and I was pretty dazed,” Abendanon said. “As I was running I tripped a bit and I think he was unlucky to catch me. I don’t think he meant to do it,” he added.
Stowers appeared before RFU disciplinary officer Jeff Blackett earlier this evening, with Blackett ruling that the red card was sufficient punishment.
There was a bit of talk about it on here yesterday, so below is a better quality version for you to watch. Happy with the outcome of the hearing, or do you think red was harsh in the first place?