Australia pulled of an emphatic victory to end their run of dire results against England.
Dave Rennie’s charges appeared to be up against it as England got off to a strong start and appeared to be dominating proceedings everywhere but the scoreboard.
On the 33rd minute with the scores finely poised at 6 – 3 in England’s favour, Australian second-row Darcy Swain saw red for a headbutt on his opposite number Johnny Hill.
𝐑𝐄𝐃 𝐂𝐀𝐑𝐃! 🟥 Australia’s Darcy Swain! ❌
After some hair pulling…England’s Jonny Hill is sent to the sin bin, but Australia’s Swain is sent off for a 𝐇𝐄𝐀𝐃𝐁𝐔𝐓𝐓! ⤵️ #AUSvENGpic.twitter.com/OX4lm3nAUf
— Sky Sports (@SkySports) July 2, 2022
Clearly any contact towards the head is rightly being treated seriously by World Rugby, so Swain ultimately sealed his own fate.
Interestingly however Swain had been on the receiving end of a cheap shot from Hill earlier in the contest that went unnoticed by the officials.
So is contact the the head now allowed? No mitigation, and 2 feet from the referee@Pick_DriveRugby#AUSvENG pic.twitter.com/iysJhfjXZv
— Saint Drogo (@liquorbox_) July 2, 2022
Whilst fixtures between the two countries tend to be fiery affairs, with two tests still to play you can bet that both sides will come out swinging next week in Brisbane.