RugbyDump RugbyDump
Friday Nov 3, 2017

Munster's Andrew Conway suspended after red card for reckless late tackle

Munster's Andrew Conway suspended after red card for reckless late tackle
8
Comments

Munster’s Andrew Conway will be free to play against South Africa, should Ireland require his services, after he was red carded and suspended for one week for a late tackle against Connacht. Ireland face the Springboks in Dublin on November 11th.

Conway went up for a high ball but came down and caught opposition flyhalf Jack Carty with the shoulder, in what looked like an unfortunate collission but according to the laws, was a red card.

Referee Nigel Owens had a good look at it before sending Conway off under Law 10.4 (o) Late-charging the kicker: A player must not intentionally charge or obstruct an opponent who has just kicked the ball.

A Disciplinary Panel convened in Edinburgh, Scotland to consider the red card decision.

The Disciplinary Panel, comprising of Roddy MacLeod (Chair), Frank Hadden and Ian Douglas (all Scotland), concluded that Conway’s actions merited a low-end range sanction point of two weeks.

The determining factor for the Panel in making this decision was the presence of a second Munster player, Peter O’Mahony, in the incident. They felt that O’Mahony influenced the positioning of Carty.

Due to these circumstances the Panel came to a majority decision that the offence merited a low-end sanction point. The Panel also took into account that proceedings under Law 10.4 (o) had not previously come before a Disciplinary Panel and therefore they had no precedents to reference.

Once the low-end entry point had been established by the Panel, full mitigation of 50 per cent (one week) was applied due to the player’s previous good record and his acceptance of a red-card offence.

Conway was therefore suspended for one week and can return to play from November 6.

8 Comments

  •  drg
    drg

    Cous cous I say!

    Reply
  •  mise
    mise

    If he's trying to charge the ball down, then he should be using his right arm to go somewhere that could conceivably block the ball - like his other arm is. Instead, his right arm is ben at an angle and drives into the head. Angle at 44-45 seconds shows this clearly. Right call.

    Reply
  •  canafrikaaner
    canafrikaaner

    nigel made the right call

    Reply
  •  craptanker
    craptanker

    Intent is not relevant under the reckless tackle rules.

    Reply
  •  canafrikaaner
    canafrikaaner

    0:43

    Reply
  •  canafrikaaner
    canafrikaaner

    you think it was accindental? in the second angle you can see him looking directly at the kickers head as he leads with the elbow. if he was half committed on the way in he was fully committed with the elbow by the time he got there

    Reply
  •  drg
    drg

    Bloody hell Nigel, this is not soccer..

    Reply
  •  weejockmcplop
    weejockmcplop

    Clumsy from Andrew Conway who turns the shoulder into Jack Carry as he comes down, but there's also the tug on Carty by Pete Mahony that doesn't help the situation.

    Reply

Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Training Videos

View All

Player Features

View All
Munster's Andrew Conway suspended after red card for reckless late tackle | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos