Scores
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
Thursday Nov 23, 2017

Waisake Naholo escapes card after taking Stuart Hogg out in the air

Waisake Naholo escapes card after taking Stuart Hogg out in the air
14
Comments

While this week there has been a fair bit of discussion about Kieran Read’s illegal play, New Zealand winger Waisake Naholo was also lucky not to be yellow carded during his side’s narrow 22-17 victory over Scotland, after he took Stuart Hogg out in the air.

It was a clumsy challenge which could have cost the All Blacks dearly. Naholo clearly caught Hogg before the Scottish full-back returned to the ground.

Referee Matt Carley penalised Naholo on the basis that Scotland scrum-half Ali Price had limited the winger’s vision, and therefore counted as extenuating circumstances.

The common punishment for such tackles is indeed a penalty as stated in Law 10.4(i): (Tackling the jumper in the air. A player must not tackle nor tap, push or pull the foot or feet of an opponent jumping for the ball in a lineout or in open play. Sanction: Penalty kick), but the nature and impact of Naholo’s challenge has certainly created a grey area in the rules.

Naholo appeared to catch Hogg in the upper chest/shoulder region and avoided landing on his head. Carley however, responded calmly under a wave of partisan boos to give Naholo the benefit of the doubt.

The Highlanders player had a somewhat average game against the Scots and looked out of sorts. He had already been penalised for similarly careless contact with Lee Jones in the opening minute of the match.

This one certainly stirred debate though, so feel free to share your opinion with us below.

14 Comments


    Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • It actually happened the very next week. Gabriel Lacroix for France was in the exact same situation and got a yellow. Proof given.

    Reply
  •  weejockmcplop
    weejockmcplop

    Happy to agree to disagree. I am equally frustrated with players going airborne to collect high balls which creates opportunities for serious injury to the jumper as well as players on the ground especially where players are standing to collect a high ball and are charged by players going airborne to collect the kick.

    Reply
  •  breakaway
    breakaway

    However you describe the situation, I'll stick with my view on how this sort of contact should be judged. I can't make it much clearer than in my post, so it looks like we disagree.

    Reply
  •  weejockmcplop
    weejockmcplop

    Sorry, where does Naholo run around Ali Price. Price slows his run back as he sees Hogg coming to collect the Ball, Naholo then pushes price clear and collides with Hogg who has not yet landed after collecting the ball. The call may be harsh but the rule is there to protect player safety. This is a clear yellow card. This was another poor call by the ref in this game littered with poor calls

    Reply
  •  ruckinmaul
    ruckinmaul

    French refs always exaggerate in giving card to players. Top 14 referring is awful sometimes. Another particular incident is the red card to Brice Dulin (ironic) against Toulon. Both collide but Dulin lose the ball and Halfpenny somewhat landed awkwardly, red card to Dulin. What a joke.

    Reply
  •  breakaway
    breakaway

    Naholo had to run around the #9 and once he saw Hogg flying towards him his only hope of avoiding a penalty would have been to disappear completely. Hogg just landed on him. In my opinion, this sort of situation has to be treated differently to one where there is a deliberate tackle or reckless contact made on the player during a contest for a high ball. The new laws covering these things from a safety angle are a good thing, but there needs to be some common sense. I don't want to see matches ruined when a player leaping at speed for the ball, travelling some distance in the air while doing so and landing on an opposition player, always results in a card. Nadolo seemed more concerned about his own safety. The push by the Scotland #5 was silly. He could easily end up in the same situation himself and would, like Nadolo, have no way of avoiding the hit. Apologies for repeating myself from an earlier page.

    Reply
  •  breakaway
    breakaway

    "If this was another team, or the reverse situation, it would have been a card for sure." An assertion for which there is no evidence.

    Reply
  •  nhunter
    nhunter

    Of course it's not a card in reality, but refs for a number of seasons have been carding any situation like this. If this was another team, or the reverse situation, it would have been a card for sure. Rugby needs a level playing field on officiating, otherwise there's no point having a sport.

    Reply

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • Lol. That's not even a card. If anything, it's a penalty against Racing for the pull back on Parisse while he's in the air (freeze frame it at 1:18).

    Reply
  •  anton
    anton

    And what about this one? Parisse is both blocked then held back https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JgNPQZEBisM

    Reply

  • Notice: Trying to get property 'data' of non-object in /var/www/html/php/vo/Comment.php on line 19
  • @stu1616 - Yes. I thought as much at the time. Watson clearly impeded Tuculet. Penalty against Tuculet was a ridiculous call. Card was just insane. I am fine with the idea that the tackler has to take care of the player in the air, but if the player in the air's team mate obstructs the tackler then it is crazy to hold the tackler responsible.

    Reply
  •  stu1616
    stu1616

    I think most would agree that this should never have been a yellow card, but would you not also have penalised Watson using the same logic? https://youtu.be/fUvryU6exnY?t=16 Arguably Tuculet could have beaten Brown to the ball had he not been shepherded by Watson, while Naholo could surely have only succeeded in hitting Hogg earlier if it weren't for Price.

    Reply
  •  reality
    reality

    Personally I would have penalised the Scottish player. If you change your line of running to obstruct a runner (a penalty offence) and the runner then gets in an accident, it's your fault, not his.

    Reply
  •  drg
    drg

    As much as I love supporting the under dogs in big games like this (so a red card or whatever would have been a great help), this was only ever a penalty at best... No need for anything else..

    Reply

Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Training Videos

View All

Player Features

View All
Waisake Naholo escapes card after taking Stuart Hogg out in the air | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos