Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Friday Mar 23, 2012

Friday Funnies - Touchdown!

Friday Funnies - Touchdown!
16
Comments

Here is a bizarre passage of play from France’s second division, Pro D2, and a game between Mont De Marsan and Pau. So much happens here that it’s actually pretty difficult to explain, but as with the officials on the day, we’ll give it a shot.

Mont De Marsan were on attack with just minutes left in the game, and the win secure. Pau had desperately been trying to get into the match but couldn’t get their hands on the ball. 

That is until it was robbed from the opposition in what looked like an illegal fashion, so everybody stood still and waited for the referee to make a decision.

As you can see, Pau didn’t wait around and the break down field occurs before someone chases back in cover, and quite possibly attempts to trip the ball carrier with his foot.

Eventually the ball gets to Samoan number eight Marlon Solofuti, who trots casually over the tryline to score what looks like the easiest of tries, but then decides that slamming the ball down Gridiron style is the best way to go.

What happens next is even more bizarre, as after consultation with an assistant referee, the try is awarded, and the game ends with boos from the crowd.

It’s a true hero-to-zero, to hero, moment for Solofuti, and quite possibly one of the strangest tries ever scored, even if it actually wasn’t.

16 Comments

  • ollie
    10:46 AM 11/04/2012

    Disgraceful rugby on all levels...

    Reply
  • darabman
    6:51 PM 03/04/2012

    I thought that was bloody hilarious! Such an absurd passage of play, and to no consequence. I don't think it needs reading into. I laughed at how the ref consulted with the touch judge. Ref: Was it a try? TJ: No *shakes head* Ref: *Walking backwards* A try? *TJ Continues to shake his head* *Ref turns around and awards a try!*

    Reply
  • kadova
    1:26 AM 28/03/2012

    As far as i understand it, the referee asked the assistant what he saw, assistant referee said "there's downward pressure", then the referee asked "so is this a try ?", and the assistant referee said "yes", then the referee blows the whistle. Both commentators were confused and eventually agreed to say it should be no try. As said before, that didn't change the result.

    Reply
  • colombes
    11:23 AM 26/03/2012

    ridiculous decison like many in the pro D2 the ref was too far, the assistant certainly didn't watch the action, thinking the player had grounded it.. we'renot far from amateurism here ;)

    Reply
  • oceansnz
    5:48 AM 25/03/2012

    What.a.shambles.

    Reply
  • 2:37 PM 24/03/2012

    I think it just banged it to the ground, loads of downward pressure just for half a second but I don't think there's a time limit involved...unconventional, yes, illegal no. Good decision on giving the try as far as I'm concerned. Absolute idiot gesture in any case.

    Reply
  • johnnyck
    1:17 PM 24/03/2012

    If you are carrying the ball in your hand, like Strettle or the No8 in this clip, then you don't need downward pressure. You just need to touch the ball off the ground. If the ball is on the ground, and you want to score a try, then you need downward pressure. So in this case, a player picking the ball up wouldn't result in a try. If the ball was already on the ground, then they would have to press down on it to score the try. Gman has actually quoted the law perfectly above (I don't think he applied it property though)

    Reply
  • pretzel
    12:25 PM 24/03/2012

    I have never heard of him so I am not trying to judge or disprove your comment, BUT, if he is one of the best in the league then what was he doing here? This seems like a very amateur thing to do and looks like it is an ex-american footballer thing.. Can you shed any more light onto why he did it? or why you think? or his history... RD did something similar to this happen in the past? I seem to recall a player slamming the ball down in similar fashion before suddenly realising what he did, I'm not sure if Nigel Owens was refereeing the match :/ if that might help narrow it down :/

    Reply
  • pretzel
    12:10 PM 24/03/2012

    No Sankeor, that try was disallowed because the TMO could not see the ball being placed OVER the try line. He ruled it as conclusive. I think if the referee had asked a different question the try might have been awarded. I think it is possible to say that WAS a try using both camera angles and matching up where body parts were etc and different times. But I'm not sure if the TMO is allowed to do that, I think he has to see it actually happening. But then I'm not 100% on that. The law has been like that for a little while I think, but you know the IRB laws are forever being chopped and changed, look at the tackle situations!!!

    Reply
  • sankeor
    5:09 AM 24/03/2012

    When did they modify the rule ??!! I didn't know that ! But for sure referees are not aware of this yet, as well as pretty much anybody in the rugby business (players, coaches, ...). For instance few weeks ago for the 6N game England-Wales, an english try (Strettle) had been refused because there was no downward pressure.... Look at this (1:18 for the slow-mo) http://www.dailymotion.com/video/xp2qfp_l-essai-refuse-a-strettle-contre-le-pays-de-galles_sport

    Reply
  • 4:38 AM 24/03/2012

    If the ball leaves the hand just before hitting the ground then there is no "grounding". But if it leaves the hand and goes straight down then bounces back, there is no knock-on either. Pretty hard to tell from the video whether he slams it straight down or slightly forward .. if anything it looks to go sideways and then bounce backwards, which is no knock-on.

    Reply
  • anarchangel
    3:31 AM 24/03/2012

    I think this was the match: http://aquitaine.france3.fr/info/mont-de-marsan-surclasse-pau-27-16-72995139.html So it ended 27-16 and that balls-up didn't change the result.

    Reply
  • pretzel
    12:10 AM 24/03/2012

    Downward pressure is no longer required.... I suppose you just need to have contact with the ball as it has contact with the ground over the try line... (with your hand/arm etc.)

    Reply
  • pretzel
    11:58 PM 23/03/2012

    I haven't really got any idea of what I just watched... Do we have any idea who the try was actually awarded to? I mean if it was his team mate then I can understand the reasoning.. but if it was the 8 then I have no idea why... Also what was he thinking? Did he think the whistle went? Does he have a history of gridiron? :/

    Reply
  • keenbeen13
    10:47 PM 23/03/2012

    Was this try/touchdown to win the game or not? I'm guessing not as no-one was chasing back.

    Reply
  • fettsack
    10:03 PM 23/03/2012

    This is absolutely ridiculous! How can you be this stupid? Obviously not a try from the n8, maybe afterwards from a team mate but clearly not deserved. Defence should always play to the whistle!

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Friday Funnies - Touchdown! | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos