Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Friday Dec 6, 2013

Kieran Read awarded Player of the Year at NZ Steinlager Awards

Kieran Read awarded Player of the Year at NZ Steinlager Awards

Kieran Read capped off his brilliant year by claiming the Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year award. Read was also named IRB Player of the Year for 2013 earlier this week. Here is a clip from the awards evening, including a candid interview with Read himself.

The All Blacks scooped the major honours at the Steinlager Awards after becoming the first Tier One nation to notch up a perfect season in the professional era.

In addition to the adidas Team of the Year award, Head Coach Steve Hansen picked up the coaching prize for the second successive year, heading off World Cup winning coach Sir Gordon Tietjens and Dave Rennie who guided the Chiefs to back-to-back Investec Super Rugby titles.

Dynamic no.8 Kieran Read was named the Kelvin Tremain Memorial Player of the Year.

The awards cap a stellar year for the All Blacks who earlier this week were named IRB Team of the Year, with Hansen and Read also being named world’s best coach and player respectively.

The Steinlager Rugby Awards judging panel was:
•  Former All Blacks captain, NZRU President, and NZRU Life member Andy Leslie
•  Sports broadcaster Grant Nisbett
•  Former All Blacks captain and New Zealand Rugby Board member Graham Mourie
• New Zealand Rugby General Manager Community and Provincial Union Rugby Brent Anderson

All 2013 Steinlager Rugby Awards

New Zealand Rugby Age Grade Player of the Year
•    Ardie Savea (Wellington)

Charles Monro Rugby Volunteer of the Year
•    Rob Jones (Manawatu)

New Zealand Rugby Referee of the Year
•    Chris Pollock

Pink Batts Heartland Championship Player of the Year
•    Jon Dampney

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Sevens Player of the Year
•    Portia Woodman

Richard Crawshaw Memorial Sevens Player of the Year
•    Kurt Baker

Sky Television Fans Try of the Year

•    Selica Winiata/Black Ferns

ITM Cup Player of the Year
•    Andy Ellis

Investec Super Rugby Player of the Year
•    Ben Smith

Tom French Memorial Maori Player of the Year
•    Liam Messam

New Zealand Rugby Women’s Player of the Year
•    Kelly Brazier

New Zealand Rugby Coach of the Year
•    Steven Hansen

adidas Team of the Year
•    All Blacks

Steinlager Salver

•    Graham Mourie

Kelvin R Tremain Player of the Year

•    Kieran Read


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All


View All


View All

Player Features

View All
Kieran Read awarded Player of the Year at NZ Steinlager Awards | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos