Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Tuesday Dec 3, 2013

Kieran Read named IRB Player of the Year 2013 as All Blacks get hat-trick

Kieran Read named IRB Player of the Year 2013 as All Blacks get hat-trick

New Zealand won all three big awards for 2013 as Kieran Read was named IRB Player of the Year, the All Blacks named Team of the Year, and coach Steve Hansen named Coach of the Year. Hansen receives the award for the second year running, while the All Blacks got Team of the Year for the fourth year running.

Last year Dan Carter won the award, so it is also the second year running that the Player of the Year has gone to a New Zealand player.

“It’s been an outstanding year for the All Blacks and a great year to be an All Blacks fan, and we are very proud of what skipper Richie (McCaw) and the team has achieved,” said Steve Tew.

“Kieran deserves particular acknowledgement for the remarkable season he has put in both on and off the field. The fact this is Steve’s second straight Coach of the Year award is also significant and deserves our congratulations,” he said.

Coach Hansen himself said: “I’d like to congratulate Kieran on his award as it is well deserved. He has been outstanding and has been a major contributor all season.

“It’s been a big year and I am incredibly proud of what the boys have achieved. I thank them for their commitment and efforts throughout the year.

“It’s certainly special to have the All Blacks named for all three IRB awards, so it’s important that we thank and acknowledge all those behind the team because it wouldn’t happen without them – the players, our management, the other team behind us at New Zealand Rugby, All Blacks fans around the world, but most importantly, thanks to our families for the love and support that allows us to focus on this great Game.”

The panel, chaired by Australia’s RWC 1999 winning captain John Eales, also comprises Will Greenwood, Gavin Hastings, Raphaël Ibanez, Francois Pienaar, Agustín Pichot, Scott Quinnell, Tana Umaga and Paul Wallace. The panel has deliberated on every major Test played in 2013, starting with the opening RBS Six Nations match and culminating with the November internationals.

Previous winners of the IRB Player of the Year Award:

2012 Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2011 Thierry Dusautoir (France)
2010 Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2009 Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2008 Shane Williams (Wales)
2007 Bryan Habana (South Africa)
2006 Richie McCaw (New Zealand)
2005 Dan Carter (New Zealand)
2004 Schalk Burger (South Africa)
2003 Jonny Wilkinson (England)
2002 Fabien Galthié (France)
2001 Keith Wood (Ireland)

Previous Winners of IRB Team of the Year Award:

2012 New Zealand
2011 New Zealand
2010 New Zealand
2009 South Africa
2008 New Zealand
2007 South Africa
2006 New Zealand
2005 New Zealand
2004 South Africa
2003 England
2002 France
2001 Australia

Previous Winners of IRB Coach of the Year Award:

2012 Steve Hansen (New Zealand)
2011 Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2010 Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2009 Declan Kidney (Ireland)
2008 Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2007 Jake White (South Africa)
2006 Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2005 Graham Henry (New Zealand)
2004 Jake White (South Africa)
2003 Clive Woodward (England)
2002 Bernard Laporte (France)
2001 Rod Macqueen (Australia)


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All


View All


View All

Player Features

View All
Kieran Read named IRB Player of the Year 2013 as All Blacks get hat-trick | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos