Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Wednesday Jan 23, 2013

Midweek Madness - Toby Flood charges straight into the post

Midweek Madness - Toby Flood charges straight into the post
15
Comments

This is a very quick clip from two weeks ago that some of you with a twisted sense of humour asked to see again. It features Leicester Tigers flyhalf Toby Flood doing himself a bit a damage by charging straight into the upright during the Heineken Cup 5th round game against the Ospreys.

Flood felt it, as you can see by the awkward manner that he fell backwards and writhed in pain, but thankfully he was okay, and got the sponsors a bit more TV time. Cue the Heineken jokes.

Have you ever done this yourself, or seen someone take a bad knock like this? Let us know below!

Time: 0:24
Credit: LasGarzas11
Meta photo credit: Onsideimages.com

15 Comments

  • drg
    7:38 PM 25/01/2013

    I was actually unaware of certain laws when I'd moved into senior rugby, mostly because I'd never been in a similar situation before. I was giving chase to someone who was clear through our lines and as he got close to our try line I caught up enough to give him a hard shove in the back (simply a push) in an attempt to get him to bounce off the posts, and...well...I'm not too sure, drop the ball maybe? I had no way of tackling him (as he would of fallen over the line and scored) so I viewed that as my only option. He bounced off the posts and scored anyway, and I was immediately apprehended by some opposition players who informed me I was not allowed to do that. Perhaps I looked scared enough or young enough for them to realise that it was a genuine misinterpretation of the rules, and they let me go..

    Reply
  • drg
    3:27 AM 25/01/2013

    Red card, and a 4 month ban to that post for a blatant cheap shot! (Did you see any attempt to use the arms when it checked Flood off the ball???)

    Reply
  • brawnybalboa
    2:09 AM 25/01/2013

    I believe I am correct in saying that Neil Jenkins did this against Ireland in one of his first internationals. Although I believe in his case he was retreating to catch a bouncing ball.

    Reply
  • browner
    6:51 PM 24/01/2013

    Ahem, I think you've proved "the need" ....

    Reply
  • browner
    6:50 PM 24/01/2013

    I'm left wondering whether 'Post Pad' production technology has kept abreast with modern safety requirements. design, impact absorbing, density, recoil properties etc ....... I know the piss-takers amongst us will send in their witicisms, LOL , but nevertheless ......

    Reply
  • katman
    3:44 PM 24/01/2013

    The post made no attempt to wrap his arms. Surprised the ref let it slide.

    Reply
  • stroudos
    12:01 PM 24/01/2013

    Saw this on TV live and pissed myself laughing - I think it's the slow-motion style as he just sort of sticks to the post and slides down it Tom&Jerry-style, just looked hilarious. Pretty sure in the few seconds after this clip, Stuart Barnes (commentator) went on to declare that it running straight into the post was somehow "a magnificent sign of commitment".

    Reply
  • stroudos
    11:56 AM 24/01/2013

    Brilliant!

    Reply
  • guy
    11:24 AM 24/01/2013

    I guess Heineken gave him a headache.

    Reply
  • ianbru
    2:03 AM 24/01/2013

    I suspect that Flood is required to put a helmet on when he leaves the pitch...

    Reply
  • cheyanqui
    1:16 AM 24/01/2013

    To me, Ospreys 12 looks to be pushing someone else, but not Flood.

    Reply
  • cheyanqui
    1:12 AM 24/01/2013

    Clear obstruction -- cynical play really by the Dutchman

    Reply
  • k2reaver
    12:50 AM 24/01/2013

    We were having a knock about after training, just smother tackles so no need for post protection... one guy managed to chase a chip over eyes on the ball like a pro and then wrapped himself around the post I'm talking about 3 foot off the floor toes to forehead. He couldn't speak for a good hour... niether could we hahaha!!!

    Reply
  • frenchie
    12:29 AM 24/01/2013

    Hilarious!

    Reply
  • matt
    12:19 AM 24/01/2013

    'Doing himself' damage is a bit of a reach, this clip doesn't show it but the Osprey's 12 checks Flood away from the ball and into the post.

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Midweek Madness - Toby Flood charges straight into the post | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos