Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Thursday Oct 16, 2014

Rugby's first ever OWN TRY awarded in NRC clash in Sydney

Rugby's first ever OWN TRY awarded in NRC clash in Sydney
17
Comments

Round nine of the National Rugby Championships (NRC) in Australia took place earlier with the first game providing us with what was quite possibly the worst ever decision on a rugby field, and the first ever ‘Own Try’ in rugby.

The Sydney Stars versus North Harbour Rays clash gave Mitch Lewis a chance to bag some meat and get on the scoresheet, but he never would have guessed it would be against his own team.

In football (or soccer) own goals aren’t unsual, as defenders occasionally slot the ball into the back of their own net. In rugby however, no such thing exists, because when a player grounds the ball over his own tryline, it’s a 5m scrum if carried over, or a 22m drop-out if not.

All that changed a few hours ago however, as a bizarre call resulted in the TMO and referee awarding what is quite possibly the first ever own try in rugby! Seriously.

The look on prop Lewis’ face was priceless. At first he was probably concerned that he’d given away a 5m scrum, but when they went upstairs and awarded the try, he was absolutely gobsmacked.

Referee Ian Smith struggled to see who planted the ball, and with both teams having yellow at the top of their jerseys, the Television Match Official made an absolute hash of the decision. Sydney went on to win the match 49-40 against Lewis’ North Harbour Rays.

credit: North Harbour Rays

17 Comments

  • drg
    9:21 PM 19/10/2014

    Pretty sure he stripped the ball whilst on his feet...

    Reply
  • larry
    7:04 PM 19/10/2014

    I doubt that's what happened. I can only come away with the idea that the ball was played off the ground near the goal line by the defense, which should be a penalty. And this wouldn't be the first time two teams played with shirts that shared a color, and in this case the one team has only a bit of yellow on their shirts to the other team.

    Reply
  • larry
    7:00 PM 19/10/2014

    Canadian football has a rouge (one point), and American football has a safety (two points) for doing something similar, in which the score goes against one's one team. Rugby has no such thing.

    Reply
  • larry
    6:58 PM 19/10/2014

    But he played the ball on the ground. He wasn't on his feet, I don't know if he was tackled from the replay. It looks like he pilfered the ball at the base of a ruck and placed in over his own goal line. It should have been a penalty to the attacking team.

    Reply
  • larry
    6:56 PM 19/10/2014

    The player who grounded the ball over the goal line did so while lying on the ground, therefore playing the ball while on the ground. It would be incorrect to award a penalty try in that situation. A penalty should have been awarded five meters out to the attacking side.

    Reply
  • drg
    5:23 PM 17/10/2014

    "I do hope the try gets added to the bloke's season stats though." DEFINITELY HAHAHA :)

    Reply
  • katman
    4:46 PM 17/10/2014

    That'll teach them for playing in those Amazing Technicolour Jumpers. If the poor visiting side has to play in an away kit that doesn't match any of their colours, they'd have to run out in beige. I do hope the try gets added to the bloke's season stats though.

    Reply
  • mattyp
    5:21 AM 17/10/2014

    100% agree mate. Took it well.

    Reply
  • 11:48 PM 16/10/2014

    Some how, some way... This is Richie mccaws fault

    Reply
  • drg
    8:23 PM 16/10/2014

    Prop scored a try... always a winning situation..

    Reply
  • danknapp
    8:04 PM 16/10/2014

    Now who gets the beers in for that? The player for scoring an own try or the TMO for calling it?

    Reply
  • eddie-g
    7:39 PM 16/10/2014

    Ref: "Try or no try?" TMO: "Try. Scored by me. Put it in the book."

    Reply
  • welshosprey
    6:48 PM 16/10/2014

    Ref looks like Michael Fassbender

    Reply
  • facepalm
    4:20 PM 16/10/2014

    It's probably a case where the shot we're seeing is not the shot the official is seeing. Given how close the ball was to North Harbour's line, the Sydney Stars are likely to have just been in a try scoring position. Surely it's more likely that prior to the turnover a Sydney Star player had just dotted the ball down and that's what the TMO was asking about. No one could possibly be that incompentent, could they?

    Reply
  • guy
    3:05 PM 16/10/2014

    Nice one for 'What happens next?'

    Reply
  • finedisregard
    2:38 PM 16/10/2014

    Horrible

    Reply
  • iluvyomumma
    2:33 PM 16/10/2014

    That is absolutely brilliant!! The commentator only makes it better! Haha Well that TMO is officiating his last game for a while

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Rugby's first ever OWN TRY awarded in NRC clash in Sydney | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos