Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Wednesday Aug 30, 2017

Tomas Lavanini off the hook after grass cutter tackle and deliberate slap down

Tomas Lavanini off the hook after grass cutter tackle and deliberate slap down
5
Comments

Giant Argentina lock Tomas Lavanini will be free to play in the next round of the Rugby Championship after a SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee accepted his guilty plea after he received two yellow cards against South Africa on Saturday. 

The 2.01m second-rower has a growing reputation as being a physical presence, as seen again in Salta. This time he was first yellow carded for what is often called a grass cutter tackle, when no arms are used and a player dives into the ball carrier’s shins.

Despite Lavanini appearing to make a slight effort with his left arm, the referee and TMO eventually decided that yellow was correct. A deliberate slap down later in the game meant that a second yellow card resulted in a sending off.

The SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee of Nigel Hampton QC (Chairman), Stefan Terblanche and John Langford assessed the case. In his finding, Foul Play Review Committee Chairman Nigel Hampton QC ruled the following:

“With respect to sanction the Foul Play Review Committee ruled, after considering a number of factors, including the fact that the second Yellow Card was not for a foul play offence, the effect of the Red Card both on the match and on the Player’s team, and the Player being off the field for a total of some 35 minutes, that the Player’s ordering off was sufficient in itself and that no further sanction was appropriate in these particular circumstances. The player is therefore free to play and will serve no additional suspension”

The dangerous tackle can be seen here.

With South Africa almost certain to score a try with an overlap out wide, this deliberate slapdown was seen as a professional foul, giving the referee little option but to show yellow, and then red.

credit: sanzaar

5 Comments

  • drg
    9:31 PM 31/08/2017

    So what, the law is (loosely) something like 'attempt to grasp' or something like that. You want to create potentials for interpretation and you'll end up like this. Who is to say he didn't attempt? You clearly.... But why do you get to judge it, his arm moved in a grasping manner, therefore it's an attempt..

    Reply
  • tphillipsstl
    6:44 PM 31/08/2017

    no way. He without a doubt lead with shoulder, launched himself with head down, then threw up an arm after. I have played, coached, reffed, and watched rugby my entire life. There is a very big difference between actually trying to wrap, and shoulder charging with a weak attempt to throw out an arm later. This was certainly the latter.

    Reply
  • eyeovertheball
    11:29 PM 30/08/2017

    IMO the referee obey to the TMO advice about to sent off lavanini at the low-harsh-tackle, so now, the comittee try to avoid say that referee was responsable of a very bad call. if that tackle was made by a 75kg skinny wing, play on, altough a second row over 120kg made it worst. the rule say at least one arm with intention. I can say "the referee is human, can make mistakes" but not if they (referee and TMO) review it a few times in differents angles.

    Reply
  • drg
    9:05 PM 30/08/2017

    Bullshit call IMO. Comment above "threw arm in last second"... A whole tackle takes less than a couple seconds....Doesn't give a player much time to do anything 'last second' unless we're now suggesting players run around with their arms out in front of them.... I swear this game is getting pathetic.... Grass cutter tackles - something I've recently been made aware of...Were designed to target players diving at the knees of players without any effort to actually tackle them... This was thigh height ... The more you police/law constrain a sport, a society, a world, the more loop holes you start to create, the more grey areas you create and the more bullshit calls are made. If a tackle is simply a tackle then no one bats an eyelid!

    Reply
  • tphillipsstl
    5:07 PM 30/08/2017

    yellow card and no sanction. That is the right call. He clearly led with the shoulder, and threw the arm up at the last second to avoid the penalty. I have no problem with the height of the tackle though. He hit him in the hip/thigh area primarily. This is the perfect target area for tackle. The problem was launching and leading with the shoulder.

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Tomas Lavanini off the hook after grass cutter tackle and deliberate slap down | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos