RugbyDump RugbyDump
Sunday Sep 29, 2019

Wallabies hit out over Kerevi penalty against Wales

Wallabies hit out over Kerevi penalty against Wales
5
Comments

Australia centre Samu Kerevi has hit out at Rugby World Cup officials stating that he “might as well join the NRL” after he was penalised for carrying the ball high into contact against Wales on Sunday.

The Reds centre had possession when Wales fly half Rhys Patchell tackled Kerevi high, causing a collision between forearm and neck.

“The way rugby is going, I might as well join the NRL next, seeing how they police it … if you want to play touch, go play basketball … we’re here to run straight at people,” Kerevi told Sydney Morning Herald.

Wallaby head coach Michael Cheika also attacked the officials, stating: “As a rugby player, a former player, I am embarrassed here. I don’t understand anymore. They (referees) all seem spooked. Everyone seems worried about stuff so much.

“I don’t know why. The players aren’t worried. It affects everything else on the field too, decisions on all sorts of crazy stuff. Administrators are spooking the refs and refs are afraid of making decisions.”

Wales went on to record a famous 25-29 win over Australia in Tokyo on Sunday to take control of Pool D after two rounds of the Rugby World Cup, full match highlights are available below:

5 Comments

  •  katman
    katman
    8:51 AM 01/10/2019

    Stupid, stupid call by the match officials. I can understand Kerevi, Cheika and Hooper's frustration. I still think Wales are deserved winners, and that this was the game of the tournament so far. But a real pity about this daft decision.

    Reply
  •  daveyjake
    daveyjake
    11:24 PM 29/09/2019
    Top Comment

    All Kerevi did was play rugby. He shouldn’t have been penalized. You know what else? Facundo Gattas, URU’s hooker, shouldn’t have received a red. His “incident” was virtually identical to Kerevi’s except he didn’t have the ball.

    Reply
    •  tccalvin
      tccalvin
      9:02 AM 30/09/2019

      It's funny how so much is made of this but not so much made of Tipuric being taken out off the ball (NFL style) in the lead-up to Australia's first try (20mins).  

      Reply
  •  tccalvin
    tccalvin
    6:47 PM 29/09/2019

    Strange how after a great game, all of the focus is on ref decisions with a small summary at the bottom of the article stating "oh and Wales went on record a famous win".Sour grapes by the Aussies as usual, they got away with a lot themselves.  Tipuric was taken out off the ball as shown here: https://twitter.com/CarlPonty/status/1178258804317794304Gareth Davies' try was ONSIDE as you can see when looking across the line at the correct angle.

    Reply
  •  45678
    45678
    6:29 PM 29/09/2019

    The highlight of the game was when AWJ was asked to stop chirping by the ref. About bloody time

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Wallabies hit out over Kerevi penalty against Wales | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos