Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyDump RugbyDump
Sunday Nov 20, 2016

Tevita Kuridrani scores sensational try to seal Aussie win in France

Tevita Kuridrani scores sensational try to seal Aussie win in France
17
Comments

Australia secured their second narrow end-of-year Test victory in as many weeks as they overcame France 25-23 in Paris. Key to the Wallabies’ win was an exceptional try from in form powerhouse centre, Tevita Kuridrani.

While both teams entered the match off the back of wins the previous week, it was France who arguably had more to play for after another below par season.

It was a tight match throughout with the Wallabies leading 13-11 at the break. There were great tries from Virimi Vakatawa, Jean-Marc Doussain and in particular, Wesley Fofana.

But Kuridrani’s incredulous brilliance in scoring the vital try was the killer blow required for Australia to keep their ambitions of a first European grand slam since 1984.

Will Genia played a crucial role in the try being scored, starting the move with a typical dart through the French defence from the ruck before offloading to the on-rushing Sean McMahon.

Genia then threw a long pass to Kuridrani and the centre performed a near miracle to touch down in the corner.

That gave Australia a handy margin heading into the closing stages and Michael Cheika’s men withstood a fightback from France to edge out a two point win.

You can catch Kuridrani’s superb try in the video below plus full match highlights on page two:

17 Comments

  • gonzoman
    8:11 PM 02/12/2016

    alasdairduncan3 is correct. As a referee, I'm shocked that the TMO and the on-field officials didn't know that!

    Reply
  • jonnyenglish
    11:40 AM 23/11/2016

    I can't be the only Englishman worried about Australia now...

    Reply
  • stroudos
    7:37 AM 23/11/2016

    Assuming you've got that right, that is a very helpful translation. Thank you!

    Reply
  • alasdairduncan3
    6:55 PM 21/11/2016

    Simple translation: If it touches the post it's ok. If it's touching the post when it touches the ground, it's out. Simple way to understand it is to pretend the flag doesn't exist. No try.

    Reply
  • stroudos
    3:44 PM 21/11/2016

    Ah, but the first half penalty was committed by French players, so the punishment is rigorously enforced in that case.

    Reply
  • felipeg
    10:34 AM 21/11/2016

    By the way, I m still wondering... Spedding got out (bleeding). Lopez got in. Why not Dulin? Any clue?

    Reply
  • tintin
    10:14 AM 21/11/2016

    Definitely an enjoying game to watch. Congratulations to both team. 10 points missed with the boots is too much to pretend and win a game nowadays. A little bit disappointed than the ref did not penalize Australia on the last scrum...It was so obvious, especially taking into consideration his correct decision during the first half - Penalty try + yellow card against France - No consistency here.

    Reply
  • felipeg
    9:53 AM 21/11/2016

    Yup! Loosing ten points to the boot, that is so frustrating!

    Reply
  • colombes
    9:46 AM 21/11/2016

    Legal or not, this kind of tricks is why we are watching rugby. An entertaining game of rugby with 2 teams fully involved. Foley and Genia proved themselves decisive on the 2 last tries. Forgetting this unlucky result, France finally is enjoyable to watch. But they still miss what Australia has: A true 9-10 link. If France has solid 9 (Machenaud, Parra, Serin, etc...), the 10 are fragile, and often used as scapegoats by management and medias. Lopez, Doussain, Plisson or Trinh-Duc (injured)... This perpetual turn-over doesn't work. As long as France won't impose a fly-half/kicker, some crucial points will be missed. 10pts vs Australia.

    Reply
  • felipeg
    9:41 AM 21/11/2016

    I don't know if the try should be awarded or not. Obviously there's ground for discussion. Still it's weird that nobody seemed to have knowledge of that law. Ref, TMO, TV commentators... Looked fine for everyone. And as stated, it's a remarkable effort anyway. Indeed a thrilling game. At some point I thought the french would collapse and take 50 points. But it the end they desserve to win! Who would have tought, a couple of years ago, that their back line would shine VS Australia?!

    Reply
  • im1
    9:00 AM 21/11/2016

    I started writing a post trying to argue it was a try but realised that I think its impossible. AS there are only about 200 pages of Laws they shouldn't be difficult to memorise for someone whose full time job is to referee them. So my first assumption would be that they know something we don't. So I checked the clarifications for law 22 but none appears to deal with this situation. I believe the law is trying to say that, if a player makes contact with the flag before grounding the ball it is a try, unless they ground it against the flag post. In this situation Kuridrani does not touch the flag before he grounds the ball so I was looking for somewhere in the scoring a try 22.3-22.4 laws or clarifications that explicitly states that if you ground the ball against the corner flag it is a try (like with the goal posts) but could not. Also, as Law 22.12 starts with "if the ball or player... touches a flag" then is does appear that the ball is in touch if it is grounded against the flag post.

    Reply
  • oliver
    8:42 AM 21/11/2016

    7 points missed witt the boot: not counting the drop goal attempt at the very end that could have won it too.....very thrilling game I thought!

    Reply
  • oliver
    8:42 AM 21/11/2016

    7 points missed witt the boot: not counting the drop goal attempt at the very end that could have won it too.....very thrilling game I thought!

    Reply
  • oliver
    8:40 AM 21/11/2016

    "ball is not out of play unless it is first grounded against a flag post" It was grounded againt the post, so it is out of play. Should not have been awarded. Anyways I'd rather focus on the fact that France is pleasing to watch play again. Guy Noves'approach is starting to pay off and offloading game in particular is impressive. That game would have been won if we hadn't missed 7 points with the boot. The 6 nations looks promising this year, wide open!

    Reply
  • stroudos
    7:36 AM 21/11/2016

    That must be one of the most gratuitously over-complicated, rambling laws ever written, isn't it? But is the one crucial word here "not"? "The ball is *not* out of play" So the try is OK?

    Reply
  • drg
    7:26 AM 21/11/2016

    Interesting Francis, I didn't know this. I was aware that touching the flag etc is no longer out, but I wasn't aware that the ball touching the flat or corner post was out. By the looks of things, you're right that the try shouldn't have been awarded. I'm surprised the TMO or referee missed that! I'd have awarded it because I wasn't aware of that law, but you'd think the blokes in charge would know about it. As a given try however it was extremely impressive. Well done to Kuridrani, he did everything he could to get there and finished it off as best as he could!

    Reply
  • francis
    5:29 AM 21/11/2016

    Despite the beauty of Kuridrani's effort, the try should never have been awarded according to IRB rule No. 22.12 "Ball or player touching a flag or flag (corner) post": "If the ball or a player carrying the ball touches a flag or a flag (corner) post at the intersection of the touch-in-goal lines and the goal lines or at the intersection of the touch-in-goal lines and the dead ball lines without otherwise being in touch or touch-in-goal the ball is not out of play unless it is first grounded against a flag post."

    Reply


Great Tries

View All

Big Hits & Dirty Play

View All

See It To Believe It

View All

Funnies

View All

Amateur

View All

Player Features

View All
Tevita Kuridrani scores sensational try to seal Aussie win in France | RugbyDump - Rugby News & Videos